Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: LASPOTECH lecturers Begin Indefinite Strike Today

Friday, April 21, 2017

LASPOTECH lecturers Begin Indefinite Strike Today

Academic Staff Union of Polytechnics (ASUP), Lagos State Polytechnic (LASPOTECH) chapter, will commence an indefinite strike today Firday.

The union rose from its emergency congress on Thursday and resolved to embark on total industrial action. The Chairman of the chapter, Comrade Akinrinlola Ibitoye, said there won’t be any form of academic activities in the full and part time programmes of the institution.

According to him, this strike was based on the institution management’s failure to honour the agreement earlier reached with the Union on the payment of the CONTISS 15 migration arrears which had accumulated to 87 months.

“It should be noted, that the Union has explored all peaceful and legal avenues to ensure that the avoidable strike is averted,” Ibitoye said in a statement signed by the Union Publicity Secretary, Saheed Olatunde Jaji. “The Union has shown understanding enough, given supports where necessary to allow the management have a successful convocation ceremony despite the untold hardship being meted on workers by the management.

“The union resorted into emergency congress when it was obvious that the management was not showing any iota of willingness towards the agreement.

“It should be noted however that, this strike has nothing to do with His Excellency, Mr. Akinwunmi Ambode or Lagos State Government, as the state government has graciously increased LASPOTECH’s subvention by 65 per cent with a caveat that the increase should take care of the arrears. “The union is still opened to negotiation to ensure that industrial harmony is restored to the Polytechnic of Excellence and the academic calendar is not disrupted.”

from the nationonlineng

6 comments:

1. I pity those that will be affected

2. thank God that I've completed my programme. 87 months I.e 7+years thats too long

1. Which "program" took you 7+ years to complete?

3. Na wa. Everywhere is full of problems

4. Oga Shogunro, abeg listen to dem na. When we are about to start exams. Phew.