Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Minister Says Nigeria Needs $1bn to Fight Meningitis

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

Minister Says Nigeria Needs $1bn to Fight Meningitis

THE Minister of Health, Professor Isaac Adewole, yesterday, said Nigeria needed $1 billion to vaccinate about 21 million persons in northern states susceptible to Cerebro-spinal Meningitis, CSM.

Speaking during an emergency meeting of Northern governors and Northern Traditional Leaders Committee on Primary Healthcare delivery in Kaduna, Professor Adewole said the amount involved was way out of what the country could afford and suggested the setting up of Epidemics Funds to address such challenges.

His words: “The vaccine is scarce and very expensive. If we are to vaccinate people in the affected states, we will need to vaccinate about 21 million people. That will cost us about $1 billion dollars. That is a huge amount of money.

“If we want to vaccinate in local governments that are most affected, it will cost about $6.5 million. We must re-strategise. Part of the suggestion is to have an immunisation trust fund.”

Edited from Vanguard

*That amount is small compared to all the monies recovered by the EFCC.they should dip their hands into the account and use it since we are in an SOS situation ...Mscheew!

12 comments:

1. Exactly my point of view.we don't ever get to hear what those refunded looted money are ever used for.

2. Stealing again..meningitis shall be the portion of any thief...🖓🖓🖓

3. They want to use this opportunity to embezzle. 1 million dollars fa! 😕😕😕

4. Totally agree. This is the time for EFCC to show how credible it is.

Stella come close.....mmuuahhhh. That is for being you. Though a bi*$t sometimes but U be person.
    Oiii guys!!! Back off. I'm no arse licker. I stay in 'the abroad' myself and very comfortable. Stella is just bea

5. $1b
    Dr Minister, ole ni yin sir.. Antibiotics/glucocorticoids ati vaccines ati manpower lasan
    Oga o!

6. 1 billion dollars ke, Ole!!!! Woooooo Onuoji

7. Hahahaha! This minister wan hammer! Ole! Ole!

8. The one he stole frm lasser fever is not enough its now meningitis....be giving us false death rate..criminals everywhere