Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saraki Says Nigerians Deserve To Know The Owner Of Monies Seized in Ikoyi

Wednesday, April 19, 2017

Saraki Says Nigerians Deserve To Know The Owner Of Monies Seized in Ikoyi

Senate President Bukola Saraki has asked the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) to reveal the identity of the owner of the monies – $43m, £27,000 and N23m – that it discovered in a flat at a luxury building in Lagos.

Operatives of the anti-graft discovered the monies at flat 7B, on 16 Osborne road, Ikoyi, Lagos, on April 12. But the identity of the owner was not revealed.

The National Intelligence Agency (NIA) claimed ownership of the funds, just as the Rivers state government did.

This has caused a controversy to ripple without the EFCC disclosing any owner, 13 days after its discovery.

However, a federal high court in Lagos gave an interim order for the forfeiture of the funds, and scheduled May 5 for the owner to appear before it.

In an interview with Arise TV, Saraki described the issue as a “circus” which must stop.

“I believe this is something simple that the organisation (EFCC) should manage, even before the speculation started coming out. The circus has to come to end as to whether it belongs to individuals, companies, agencies or a state government,” he said.

“We, however, believe they will sort it out and eventually tell Nigerians who owns the money. Nigerians deserve to know. The circus must stop.”‎

He also urged Nigerians to take the fight against corruption personally.

“I believe progress will be made faster if the process is transparent. Those are ways to strengthen institutions. When the process is transparent up to the investigative stage, people will not believe that it is because of this person that so, so, person is being prosecuted,” he said.

“Corrupt people are very patient, but with a transparent process, the fight against corruption will be won.

“On our part, we are doing all it takes to strengthen institutions. We have four bills before us, one is with the constitution amendment committee, and one has been taken back by the executive.”

The Cable

16 comments:

1. Hnmmm he could even be the owner, is it not naija politicians again!

2. Someone in this present administration owns those monies that is why they are running around. Is this not Nigeria again?

3. Gbam... correct talk. EFCC has suddenly gone kwayet..

4. Its mine. I gathered it in the spirit realm. Pls give it back to me FG. Somehow the money left the spiritual and entered the physical and i had been looking for it sinceeee

5. kettle calling the pot black. How do politicians do all their lying without conscience ? So senate president who's being prosecuted can also talk for Nigerians. Na wa..please oga senator ask ur friends to release us (Nigerians).from bondage. By the time Nigerians won't have anything to eat, we shall surely be eating the elites. What happened in Liberia years ago will be child's play. Believe me. People are hungry, Nigerians are angry.

1. Thank you so much! Bukola Saraki should not be talking. He and his late father are TOTALLY corrupt and useless. They are owing Nigerians millions of naira, they were duped through their 419 bank called Societe Generale Bank and two of them(the late father and son will never know peace because they are evil.

6. Sarahi should Berra not talk abeg,am sure he has double the amount stashed under the rugs somewhere.what happened to the monies found in the accounts of their workers?him and his wife?

7. The kind of lies men tell is out of this world. Imagine a husband giving spiritual talk on Effect of cheating in marriage, but he just came from his mistress hotel room. Preaching loving your wife but have 5 girls only him is sleeping with. Begging one to even leave her marriage for him.
    At the same time drooling while making love with the wife, telling her how sweet she is and how he can't get enough of her, having her more than 4X every night still in the morning rushes to the other woman's house and begs for pussy.
    I have a recorded voice call of him begging, crying and begging telling her that her pussy is the best.

I don't know what to believe anymore. I am giving up this institution called marriage.

8. He should clear himself at the CCT first.