Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: UBER Driver Killed Because Thieves Wanted To Sell His Vehicle

Wednesday, April 12, 2017

UBER Driver Killed Because Thieves Wanted To Sell His Vehicle

Detectives attached to the Anti-Kidnapping Squad of the Lagos State Police Command have arrested two suspects who posed as passengers and killed an Uber driver, in an attempt to steal his vehicle.

The suspects and one other, who is at large, strangled the driver, Innevosa Emmanuel and disposed him of his KIA RIO salon car marked KTU 594DM.

The suspects always go after uber drivers with the intention of killing them and stealing their cars, to resell them to new buyers.

The suspects boarded the vehicle from Ikeja to take them to Ogba, Oke-Ira during which they suddenly ordered the driver to make a U-turn and take them to Oremeji Street, Obawole area of Ogba, where he was strangled with a belt by the robbers and the vehicle was driven away.

According to one of the suspects, he said they were three that participated in the killing of the driver.

“I and Michael met at Ogba where I went to drink and we became friends. I told him how difficult things were for me that I needed to relocate to Benin to start all over again.

“It was at this point that Michael told me about a deal that could fetch me some money that we could get a car and then sell it to his boss.

“Michael then told me about one Alex (Emmanuel) who had a vehicle and we agreed to meet the following day. Since then we had been meeting and discussing how to buy the vehicle.

“On the fateful day, the Uber driver came, I was with Michael in his office and his friend Destiny was with him but I don’t know if he discussed the vehicle deal with Destiny.

“Around 9:30p.m, we called the Uber driver to come and pick us at Tantalizer eatery at Ogba. I and Destiny were inside the vehicle with the driver, but Michael was outside while I was holding the belt.

“Immediately I put the belt around the driver’s neck, Destiny dragged the belt and we strangled him. When we were satisfied that he was dead, we took his corpse to Oremeji Street and dumped him in front of a church around 10:30 p.m., without anybody noticing us.

“After killing the driver, we took the vehicle to Michael’s boss to sell it. The buyer then inquired from us where we got the vehicle from and Michael told him that we killed the owner.

“The buyer then said we should take the car away and Michael said we should take it to his house and park it outside, before taking it to another buyer in Benin.

“Later we were tracked to Benin, arrested and brought back to Lagos.” the suspect said.

The Lagos State Commissioner of Police, Mr Fatai Owoseni, who paraded the suspects at the Command headquarters, said the command received a report of a missing Uber driver, whose car was stolen and the driver missing.

Owoseni said since then, it has been an issue of concern and detectives through their sustained efforts towards the missing driver, two days ago arrested two suspects in connection with the missing driver.

The Police boss said the suspects would soon be charged to court.

The Nation

37 comments:

1. This is wickedness in the highest order,they would have dump him somewhere nau,rather than killing him. But good thing they were caught. May the uber driver soul rest in peace.

1. So much hunger in Nigeria, someone kill uber driver just to collect car, someone kill jumia delivery guy for phone.. nothing works in Nigeria, in d western world it's a basic necessity

2. This is not about hunger but greed. One of the guys that kill for phone is a lawyer's son and not a poor lawyer. Greed, wickedness, quest for quick money to oppress others around.

3. OMG! How will Nigeria grow amidst all these atrocities? Now people will fear to do Uber, delivery services and the likes! Why are Nigerians this wicked, desperate, heartless, and stupid to think this is the solution to their problems!
    Do we say poverty is turning these people into beast cos I refuse to believe these things have been happening from inception.
    This is pure evil!

MrsBee

1. You just spoke my mind! How will this country ever grow? This is sickening!

2. Wow and to thinking I am planning to be an u uber driver too with my car. I am a lady, now I am scared for my life but I have to hustle legit to pay bills. Location Abuja

3. It has been happening, an uber friend of mine was nearly killed last three years, his saving grace was that he understood their language.

4. If there is one thing i have learned from this country,it is poor people are extremely wicked. They allow poverty twist their thinking. Check and see most terrible snd shocking crimes are committed by poor people

5. Why are nigerians becoming barbarians? This is wickedness of the highest order. You don't even know who to trust anymore.

4. Is it that we're still too primitive to enjoy these innovations? Online shopping first, now Uber drivers. Nawah o. God help us

1. I tire o,this is so disheartening. The other day,a jumia dispatch rider delivered food for my boss,I just remembered that Port Harcourt story and felt bad. Why kill them? That's the question I keep asking

5. So someone cannot hustle in peace again?! This is pure wickedness.

6. Igbos and South south people will do anything for d love of money. Their fathers and forefathers lack moral upbringing and as such can not instill any moral values into the new generation growing up. All they know how to do is drink, fuck and steal. No good home training, no love for human life. Until their so called Biafra is carved out of Nigeria, we will continue to witness horrible acts by people from that region.

1. Michael,Alex, those are Igbo names abi?ur just plain silly

2. Nowhere in this report were their surnames written, yet you with your very small mind have concluded that they are Igbos or southerners. People like you are the problem we have in this country. Do yorubas have home training? You think its by prostrating to greet like lizards or by kneeling down to greet? What are your people known for? A very lazy and irresponsible set of people who breed like bed bugs and are incapabLe of caring for their families, and who also engage in ritual killings, stealing, cyber-crimes and all what-nots as well. No tribe is clean..none! So shut that ignorant mouth of yours and find yourself work to do!

3. All we know how to do is fuck,drink n steal? Youve got the wrong tribe there fish brain

4. @falz' wife is Benin not south south again today? Abi did u not read where it was clearly stated that they are from Benin? In a million years to come, yoruba people are far far better than southerners and will always be better in ALL ramifications!!! U people lack morals and are the cause of the rot in our society.

5. But falz wife, what exactly is wrong with you? Of all d people who visit this blog how can you deduce that comment is from a Yoruba person? You better receive sense

6. There are bad people in every society so generalising is wrong I would say.

7. @Falz's wife;just so you know,you are not different from the above anon.

7. Anonymous7.54, if you can not make a valid point then don't say anything at all. It not compulsory that you leave a comment. Crime is not peculiar with only a selected group of pple, anyone could let the devil use them so get ur facts right.

1. Give me an example of a hideous crime, esp one involving murder, that a southerner is not involved in and I will rest my case. Just one!

2. I will give you two and not one example

1. Mass murder in the Name of religion by northerners
      2. Criminal silence by northerners when number one happens.

At least the igbos and southerners you hate so much are here condemning any heinous act while you guys egg on your own perpetrator. FOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOOL

3. The killings by fulani herdsmen

8. This is pure wickedness, May the UBER driver soul rest in peace.

9. How much would they have made from selling a second hand Kia Rio? Is that enough to kill a man for nothing???

10. OMG. What is this.

I pity victims who don't know they have been marked for death

May God comfort the man's family Amen

11. God have mercy...

12. God punish Micheal and the other two killers. Rest in peace Emmanuel

13. Vampires in human skin. O Lord protect our legitimate hustle from evil plans of some desperate lazy animals.

14. Just for car. Why did he have to die. They could have kidnapped him tell they successfully sold d car na.

15. 😢😢😢😢😢

Rest in peace Emmanuel!😢😢😢
    May your killers know NO peace.

16. I felt so sad about this news and reading the comments only made it worse. To hear these comments spewing from the lips of peeps that claim to be educated is downright irritating. Nigerians have got no love. Why do we always have to go tribalistic? We hate one another. These comments shading tribes nurture hate. We've got nothing good to say about our differences. Infidelity, irresponsibility,crimes against humanity occur in all ethnicities. it baffles me how we just can't be united. Someone told me it's because of the language barrier and Nigeria is best divided. Whatever God wills. Even if we are divided, let's learn to love. That's the cure for all these madness.