Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: UK Replies Jonathan - "Nigerians Chose Buhari In 2015"

Saturday, April 29, 2017

UK Replies Jonathan - "Nigerians Chose Buhari In 2015"

The British Government has denied allegation that it conspired with others to ensure the defeat of former President, Goodluck Jonathan, in the 2015 general election, reiterating that President Muhammadu Buari won with the backing of majority of Nigerians.

Jonathan in a book: “Against the Run of Play,” written by the Chairman of the Editorial Board of Thisday newspaper, Olusegun Adeniyi, alleged that former British Prime Minister, David Cameron, connived with former United States President Barack Obama, among other world leaders, to push him out of office.

Reacting on Friday, the British High Commission in Nigeria in a statement signed by its Press and Public Affairs Officer, Joe Abuku, said the outcome of the 2015 elections was totally the decision of Nigerians.

Britain said the only role it played in the election was the engagement with Nigerians and their leaders prior to the elections to make it non-violent, free and fair.

The statement reads: “Prior to the 2015 elections in Nigeria, the UK engaged with Nigerian political parties and their leaders to urge them to run a fair, non violent campaign and allow Nigerian voters to decide who their future political leadership would be.

“We congratulated President Jonathan on having handed over power peacefully in 2015 having lost the Nigerian Presidential elections.

“The elections were a credit to the Nigerian people and a truly historic moment for Nigerian democracy. This process further strengthened Nigeria’s democratic tradition.

“The UK welcomes the assessment of independent observers, including the EU, that Nigeria’s elections were largely peaceful and conducted in accordance with recognised international democratic norms, and that there was no evidence of systemic manipulation of the process.”

--Daily Post

28 comments:

1. Don't mind the conspiracy theorists. That election was absolutely credible. Nigerians voted enmass for Buhari.

If they now think, as an after thought that they made a mistake by voting the man, they should admit it instead of fabricating lies that it was rigged.

2. What has happened has happened abeg... You guys should let it go and just learn from it

3. B4 dem go greee??abeg Jona no mind dem evn dou i wasn't 100%in support of you u were a true leader wif bad aids and frnds..

4. If God didn't intervene and with what we know today, this dummy guy (Jonathan) would have emptied the country reserve with the kind of money that has been recovered so far from her protégés Bihari might not be the Messiah in their eyes because of his fight against corruption now, but years from now, a lit of them will understand that the best thing that happened was Bihari winning the election against this weak Jonathan

1. ChiamakaTheGreat29 April 2017 at 15:11

I concur.

2. Dummy guy just like your father

5. If God didn't intervene and with what we know today, this dummy guy (Jonathan) would have emptied the country reserve with the kind of money that has been recovered so far from her protégés Bihari might not be the Messiah in their eyes because of his fight against corruption now, but years from now, a lit of them will understand that the best thing that happened was Bihari winning the election against this weak Jonathan

1. Truth is bitter anoy 15:01 say it buy know this his supporters want him like that because they of a kind.

2. Buhari that is strong how far, hunger, depression and suffering. Make I hear word.

3. Becky naka, Buhari didn't bring you hunger,depression & suffering. Your dear JONA did.

4. Buhari's legacy has changed a lot in our system. Believe it or not, all the monies they keep uprooting everyday wouldn't have happened in Jonathan's administration

6. So help us God

7. No UK!! You conspired with US and imposed that Vegetable Buhari on Nigerians!! Needless to say the election was greatly rigged!

1. Anon 15:54. I have been trailing you.Are you FFK or Reno Omokri? You have their kind of obsessive hatred.

2. Fresh, how are u able to troll an anonymous?😅

8. No UK!! You conspired with US and imposed that Vegetable Buhari on Nigerians!! Needless to say the election was greatly rigged!

9. Wailing Jonathan. I'm sure this is a preamble to a political comeback. Forget it oh. Even though we are sick and tired of buhari being sick and tired,we still don't like you anymore!

10. We didn't choose bubu. Shut ya up. It is only those ibeciles islamic terrorists apologists that voted for him. Not Nigerians. And we all know that it was a planned deed. Punk assess.

Now go, i mean UK. Go amd fix your soon to be islamic country where Sharia law is superior to your western laws. Mumu dem gang.

1. Yes o, all of us that voted for APC in Rivers State are all Muslims.

Stupidity is your forte.

11. Well God allowed everything that happened oga Jona. It is well.

12. #People will hate you, rate you, shake you, and break you, but how strong you stand is what makes you*

13. Jonathan should realized that he cannot rule forever!.. the two terms he ruled is enough for him to give others space

14. Neither Buhari or jona will help me. I should help my self. Invest in Real Estate by buying a three bedroom Bungalow located at Magboro for #8.5m outrightly or a four year payment plan. Contact Segun on 08052467442 for details.

15. If a man lacks wisdom but always keeps his mouth shut, people will respect him and think he that he has wisdom. But the moment he opens his mouth and starts to utter words that clearly reveal his lack of wisdom, he will immediately lose the respect being accorded to him. Our dear GEJ should endeavour to hold his peace.

16. Every keen student of Nigeria's history knows who the Brits have been and are still in bed with regarding the nation's socio-political emancipation or lack thereof. So who is fooling who? QED@atm

17. Every keen student of Nigeria's history knows who the Brits have been and are still in bed with regarding the nation's socio-political emancipation or lack thereof. So who is fooling who? QED@atm