Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Copyright Commission Impounds N880million Pirated Goods, Secures 2 Convictions

Wednesday, May 17, 2017

Copyright Commission Impounds N880million Pirated Goods, Secures 2 Convictions

The Nigerian Copyright Commission (NCC), during the first quarter of Year 2017, secured 2 convictions of pirates of copyright-protected books and films works, broadcast signal and software products.

Director-General of NCC, Mr. Afam Ezekude who disclosed this in Abuja, also revealed that the Commission, during intensified anti-piracy operations within the period, arrested 3 pirates and confiscated 1, 241, 769 million units of pirated goods worth N879, 835, 000. 00 million.

Mr. Ezekude further informed that 3 containers loaded with pirated books, CDs, VCDs and DVDs were also impounded during the period.

He pointed out that 2 of the containers were loaded with pirated books of Nigerian and foreign authors while the remaining one contain pirated musical and film works of local and foreign titles.

These achievements, Mr. Ezekude added, are largely due to the Commission’s enhanced commitment to the actualization of its statutory regulatory, enforcement and copyright promotion and protection mandate.

2 comments:

1. Hmmmmmm......
    Soundcity just finished playing Eric Arubayi's son and i just couldn't stop crying!
    Pls don't blame me, just d thought of what d wife would be going through....
    This life ehn,....hmmmmm
    To think I never listened to his songs until his death!
    God, why am I feeling ds way?....mrs Arubayi, God be with u and baby forever in Jesus name...
    Hmmmm.....This life!

1. You just made me cry with this post. Hmmmm! I can relate to your post,Especially when you have lost a loved one. It's so so painful.