Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EFCC Re-arraigns Femi Fani-Kayode Over N4.9bn Fraud

Monday, May 15, 2017

EFCC Re-arraigns Femi Fani-Kayode Over N4.9bn Fraud

The Economic and Financial Crimes Commission on Monday re-arraigned a former Minister of Aviation, Chief Femi Fani-Kayode, for an alleged fraud of N4.9bn.

He was re-arraigned before a new judge, Justice Rilwan Aikawa, after he objected to being tried before Justice Muslim Hassan of the same court before whom he was earlier arraigned on June 28, 2016.

A former Minister of State for Finance, Senator Nenadi Usman; who was listed as the one defendant in the charge, one Danjuma Yusuf and a company, Joint Trust Dimensions Limited were equally re-arraigned before Justice Aikawa on Monday.

The 17 counts pressed against them border on conspiracy, unlawful retention of proceeds of theft and money laundering.

Fani-Kayode, who was the Director of Publicity of ex-President Goodluck Jonathan’s presidential campaign organisation for the 2015 election, was accused of conspiring with the others to, directly and indirectly, retain various sums, which the EFCC claimed they ought to have reasonably known were proceeds of crime.

In one of the counts, the defendants were accused of conspiring among themselves to “indirectly retain the sum of N1,500, 000,000.00 which sum you reasonably ought to have known forms part of the proceeds of an unlawful act to wit: stealing.”

The four were also accused of indirectly retaining N300m, N400m and N800m, all proceeds of corruption, according to EFCC.

EFCC said they allegedly committed the offence between January 8 and March 25, 2015, ahead of the 2015 general election.

But as they earlier pleaded not guilty before Justice Hassan, the defendants equally pleaded not guilty on Monday.

Following a plea by Usman’s lawyer, Mr. Abiodun Owonikoko (SAN), Justice Aikawa allowed them to continue on the bail earlier granted them by Justice Hassan.

The matter was adjourned till June 6 and 9 for the commencement of trial and for the judge to rule on the defence’s request for the matter to be taken to Abuja.

-Punch

30 comments:

1. Baboon talks too much

1. FFK is intelligent but not a smart man at all. Extremely mannerless and arrogant. Speaks from both sides of his mouth and is definately not a responsible family man.
      Also has a filthy mouth even with all his education and has zero respect for women, you guys haven't got a clue who you are dealing with. Go and ask all his abandoned daughters

2. Ask his daughters what? No be their father? That one concern their blood.
      Also whether arrogant and manner less, no respect for women, there will always be some woman who gets turned on from the above vices.
      So let's talk about matters concerning the country instead.

2. Hahahahahahahaha...
    I saw this coming!,..
    These people are so predictable...
    Lmao

1. Same thought came to my mind immediately I saw the headline. Lool! Fearless FFK. I wonder what baba did to him cos he goes extreme atimes.

2. He will finally learn to caution his tongue now that they are after his ass

3. He will finally learn to caution his tongue now that they are after his ass

3. 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂😂

Keep quiet you ,won't keep quiet.

Lmfao.. See as I dey laff

4. Hehehehe something to keep him quiet for a while.#elenurazor#

5. EFCC again. let them free FFK jor

6. Yes na , we understand where the persecution is coming from but still no peace for the wicked..
    Ogom I trust you're strong, just be rest assured that they will scatter in 7ways. Sicknesses will never depart from them!

7. They should leave this people alone naw
    Its getting to much abeg

8. FFK should be able to TALK out of this.. When a man has brains for mouth, Mtchew

9. This is what happens when you insult the healthy ikpu that VIPs eat...

This government is a joke!

10. And where is GEJ in all these happenings? He is the grand master who engineered and allowed all the looting yet he is chilling in one corner. That man is an evil wolf in sheep's clothing. Behaving as if butter will not melt in his mouth

1. He knows the butter won't melt in his mouth that's why. This country has not gotten to the stage of prosecuting ex presidents...that will be the day! Who will they start from? They have not finished prosecuting ordinary local govt chairman na ex president 😩

11. Haba nau they should free this man nau...what do I know selve shebi na only him Waka come.

12. Abeg dey should leave this man alone. Person wey carry millions put for one house, carry girlfriend put for another them down sweep that one under carpet. Able Effc should pile o down biko.

13. Oko snow white is still in EFcc palava. Nawa

14. I know they will come​ for him again, this country is rubbish

15. Its must be as a result of epic disgrace he gave that full house help in aso rock. FFK ,be prayer flu
    I hope they don't poison you this time around?

16. Hehehe the money would have finished sef. All the litigation he's facing, lawyers will gulp his leftovers. Meanwhile we heard he's already seeking financial assistance from his "friends"😀

Ok bye

17. This man needs to keep quiet and go undercover.
    His mouth has been running too much of late.
    That Loretta woman or what's her name he called house girl will be laughing now.
    If he goes to jail and they slam him 10years now;
    let him know that his snow white won't wait for him.

18. Very soon power will change hands! Ffk! Ffk! Ffk! Don't worry! We will pound them in the mortar tonight!

19. Lmao! From jail they should take him to rehab, then a mental institution.