Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Hairdresser Reportedly Kills Self Over Loan She Could Not Pay Back

Monday, May 15, 2017

Hairdresser Reportedly Kills Self Over Loan She Could Not Pay Back

A hairdresser, Yetunde Oladipupo, aka Iyabo, has committed suicide on Onabola Street, Owotutu, in the Somolu area of Lagos State.

PUNCH Metro learnt that Oladipupo took an insecticide, Sniper, on Friday shortly after seeing off some friends who had visited her.

Although the cause of the visit could not be ascertained by punch it was gathered that the mother of four went to a shop afterwards and bought the insecticide.

She was alleged to have taken it and was later rushed to the General Hospital, Gbagada, where she died.

The Ijebu-Igbo, Ogun State indigene, had taken a loan of about N150,000 from a microfinance bank and the creditor had been pestering her to pay.

A resident, who did not want to be identified, said the victim was always depressed because she had no means of repaying the debt.

He said, “Iyabo (Oladipupo) has four children and her husband is based in Abuja. He comes home once in a while. She was a hairdresser and had a small shop where she sold some things.

“She borrowed N150,000 from a microfinance bank. When the pressure became too much for her and she could not pay, she became desperate, drank the insecticide and died.”

Another resident said two friends had visited her a few minutes before the incident, adding that it was after the visit that she decided to take her life.

She said, “Around 7pm, two friends visited her and she saw them off. As she was returning, she went to a shop opposite her house where they sell provisions.

“After picking the insecticide, she asked the shopkeeper for a nylon wrapper, but the shopkeeper declined her request and said she should return the insecticide. She kept it somewhere around her dress and left.

“As she was ascending the stairs to the first floor where she lived, she drank the insecticide. Within seconds, she started feeling uncomfortable and called her five-year-old child to go and get help. She was rolling on the floor and groaning with pain.

“Everybody was alarmed upon seeing the empty container of the insecticide. She was taken to a private hospital on the street, but she was rejected. She was then rushed to the General Hospital, Gbagada, where about five doctors struggled to save her life. She, however, died.”

A top official of the general hospital confirmed that the victim was brought to the hospital around 7pm, adding that she died in the early hours of Saturday.

He said, “The woman was brought to the hospital around 7pm on Friday and her people said she collected a loan which she could not repay. We don’t know the details. Doctors tried to save her life, but she could not make it.”

The Lagos State Deputy Police Public Relations Officer said he would call back after speaking with the Somolu Divisional Police Officer.

He had yet to do so as of press time.

Punch

*JESUS..Because of loan?This Sniper should be banned and anyone seen selling it should be jailed!!!..It is getting too much now and all the cases of suicide is as a result of this sniper.

67 comments:

1. May her gentle soul rest in peace.

Google Radiance Andre

1. Stella i agree with you. Its about time the sales of that chemical is controlled.

2. All sin na sin o! U for find pple or person 4k collect that money o! Hmmm Noway snipper killing insects and mosques like no man biz. Have dey banned acid? Abi acid no dey kill? If u choose to take ur life , ur BIZ biko

1. I open this story to see the amount involved, I know it's gonna be a ridiculous amount.

I bind every thought and act of suicide in this country in Jesus name

God deliver us,it has never been these bad

3. This is a sad thing to hear and also a very stupid thing to do.
    She didn't even think of her kids before committing suicide.
    May God come to the children's aid.

1. Don't say things you don't know.
      Life isn't white and black ,comes in different shades.
      May she rest in peace and find solitude in the Lord.

2. @nosike there are alot of suicidal comments down. Don't you think it's better you encourage them instead of attacking my comment.

4. This is beyond sad I swear. Mother of four children! What happens to them now? Who can possibly care for four children better than their own mother? God have mercy

5. Yet the roaches in my room have refused to die since I began using Sniper.

RIP to the deceased
    Being indebted and unable to pay up is the worst feeling on earth.
    I do not wish it on anyone

6. People are going through a lot.these financial institutions doesn't joke with their money.

7. So sad!
    I pity those little kids she left behind.
    Suicide is NEVER an option.

May her soul rest where the creator pleases.

8. Jeez! Someone was telling me to take a loan of 20million recently to start a bizz. I just knew the devil sent him to destroy me.
    Haba!!!
    May her soul rip
    Suicide is not an option at all. Its better to run to ur village than commit suicide

1. 20mil loan?? My dear, runnnnn.

2. 20million, the devil really sent that person to you. Thank God you didnt listen to him.

9. Why torturing yourself to die in such manner? Nawa o! Sdk, even though they ban sniper, 'suiciders' will always look for another means. Rat poison was in vogue na before sniper. Ok oo me cant say rip to suiciders. God dey!

1. Gbam Sandy!...

Where is her yaraba demon husband?...
      I'm sure the idiot don't contribute financially in the home!...
      Who knows,he might have married another woman in Abuja...
      Nonsense!...

2. You are without brain Linda eze
      Your comments must always go south.
      I don't blame you it's the poor upbringing in face me I slap you house that I blame.
      They spent no time training you. When your type gives birth like rats.

10. Not worth it.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

11. Hmmmmn,this could have be me last year with mairo loan and other debt of about 1m but God saw me through. Today d balance is about 300k. she should have hold don but...

12. Please they should not ban sniper now yet,
    I'm still gathering liver to buy it and drink and go rest.
    things are so bad with me,debt here and there,though not up to 150k,no tangible job,nothing,hunger and depression live with me.
    if only I can gather money and leave this country maybe I will be better.
    Stella u don't know how bad things are in this country
    wenever I fall sick I deliberately refuse to take drugs maybe the sickness will kill me but the useless sickness will just go on its own mstcheeeeeew

1. Pls don't give up on urself. God hasn't given up on you yet OK. Remember you will go to hell if you commit sucide so just be chill alil and see God turn things around.

2. You dont die when you fall sick even without medication cause God still wants you here for a purpose,cant you see the signs. Get in-touch with your brain pls. NEXT!

3. No more Sai Vuharia!...
      I warned you people...
      E don set!...

4. Your case isn't the worst. You can still talk about it with a phone on Stella's blog. Nobody is problem free in this world even the richest of them all. That's what I tell myself when anything rears it's ugly head. When there's life, there's hope.

5. My dear, you can never tell. The sniper sef may not kill you. What may kill someone, may just leave you with swollen stomach. Life can have a cruel sense of humor and imagine if you borrowed money to buy the sniper???

6. Easy o, things will get better.

13. Hmmmmn,this could have be me last year with mairo loan and other debt of about 1m but God saw me through. Today d balance is about 300k. she should have hold don but...

14. Sniper is bae. u just download it in your throat and that is it. going to get one at night.

1. Hahahahahaha...
      Enjoy!,..
      Take 3 for quick action!...

2. 2wks ago i took sniper after a while it look i was dieing but nothing happened how i wish i died that night , my landlord would't have met me yesterday to ask for his money....side eye at d remaining sniper i have with me here

15. Depression is no joke. RIP to the deceased.

16. A lot of suicidal comments here. Suicide is never ever an option. She just left her little kids for who to take care of? 😢😢 she didn't even think of them?
    So her life is worth 150k? There's always an option, even if the microfinance takes over the business. This is just soooo sad.

17. Please they should not ban sniper now yet,
    I'm still gathering liver to buy it and drink and go rest.
    things are so bad with me,debt here and there,though not up to 150k,no tangible job,nothing,hunger and depression live with me.
    if only I can gather money and leave this country maybe I will be better.
    Stella u don't know how bad things are in this country
    wenever I fall sick I deliberately refuse to take drugs maybe the sickness will kill me but the useless sickness will just go on its own mstcheeeeeew

1. Dear Affy,

You wont go and rest o if you commit suicide, you go into worst terror in hell.

So just face each day has it comes give your life to Jesus Christ and be prayerful

2. Even if they ban it,rat poison ti take over!...
      Are you not one of those people shouting Sai Vuharia?,..
      Your market don land!...

3. Iya Oshoronga of Blogosphere15 May 2017 at 12:12

Affy pls speak for yourself. Nothing is bad in Nigeria to warrant suicide. Overblessing is worrying my own life sef. It's not bad for everyone pls.

4. Please don't hurt urself Affy!
      Pls don't do it!
      Tough people last but tough conditions don't!
      Whatever u are going through wil end one day. But how wil you see the end of your challenges when you aren't here? See?

Pls remember this day: That This Too Shall Pass!

Sending u warm hugs dear and praying help comes your way. Pls never forget God loves you.ok?

5. Chai,this my sister Uye G can hug for Africa...
      Hahahahahahaha...

18. For every dime I have lost one way or another,I move on with the mind that I made it alive,and if I'm still alive I will make more,#suicide never an option.

19. Abeg ban which sniper? Knife, rope, rat poisin etc nko? What of third mainland bridge? Should it be closed up too? The hard times we are in is the culprit here not sniper. May God send help to the poor kids left behind

1. Hard times are not the culprit. Hard times affect most people. Is everyone committing suicide? People just address their problems differently which is normal.

Abeg if you wan die,die. Coming to a blog to announce it just makes you look like you are seeking attention. Like someone said up there you ban sniper, third mainland bridge nko, fertilizer nko, how many you want ban?

20. So sad, where we are poor kids now start from. May her soul Rip

21. Whoever Has Had An Encounter With Lapo And Grooming Microfinance Would Know Its The Worst Thing To Be Involved In... If You Cant Meet Up For Just A Week, They'll Nearly Provoke And Disgrace To The Point Of Death... My Mom Was Forced To Borrow From Them After Dad's Death So I Know What I'm Saying... Thanks To God For Faith. Anytime She Remembers That Period, She Still Does Thanksgiving...

1. My dear, my mum also borrowed from lapo, her saving grace was that I had a better job, I gave her 7k every week, her BP would have sky_rocted, she keep thanking me each time she remembers that period. Debt is from hell.

22. Why kill your self because of debt? Just make up your mind to serve jail term, is not the end of the World. The highest thing na to go court. Some people sef.
    Who suicide epp?

23. A lot of suicidal comments here ooooo. Pls and pls, ur life is very precious. Things may seem rough and hard now, but it will definitely get better. Always remember everyone has a story to tell.....so u're not the first person to pass thru whatever it is u're passing thru now and u wont be the last.

RIP to d deceased!

24. WHY KILL YOURSELF OVER DEBT WHEN NIGERIA IS OWING?

25. Nna mehnnn that sniper na real direct ticket o. #HopeIgottheSpelling

26. Madam why???

Who will look after those kids you left behind.
    Suicide is not the best..

Rip.

27. It really breaks my heart to see people waste their own lives over such paltry sums of money. Well, since she has solve her problem her own way all I can do is wish her eternal rest.

28. This money is not even money. It's less than $500 US. Imagine not one person in her circle of family and friends could help? No church, nothing. But four children are left motherless in this wretched world. Why has African nations take the joy out of life. She tried, she learned a skill and tried doing something for herself, but still couldn't win at life. One person​ siphoned 43 million US sitting in an apartment and another can't find $500 US to pay back a loan. African leaders have created a hellish existence for their ppl to live under. They have sucked the joy of life out of their ppl, when a mother to four would prefer to die than continue living you know the life has become a burden to the soul. With all the resources available on the continent and the majority of the ppl still strained under the yoke of poverty it is a living miracle when you prosper. The continent should be thriving with healthy trade and prosperity among the nations, with all citizens aving access to a good life. Leaders feeling proud to go sit at a table for leaders when those countries are developed and theirs is a dump. Do African leaders not feel shame when they are always the beggars at the table? Always the tail never the head.

29. Suicide is never an option, after the darkness comes light. Joy will definately come in the morning, never ever give up. Your miracle is just around the corner.

30. Suicide is never an option.. she didn't think of her kids

31. Im looking for assistance to raise 58,000 to start up a trade of egg supplying. Life has been very hard for me and how I survive each day is by the grace of God.please help me Nnenne.nnenne@yahoo.com