Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Igbo Language Film Award Jury Inaugurated

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

Igbo Language Film Award Jury Inaugurated

Professor Pita Ejiofor, Founder of Otu Suwakwa Igbo Initiative today, Tuesday, May 16th 2017, inaugurated a Four -Man Jury that will judge Igbo language films submitted for the 2017 Igbo Language Film Awards.

Igbo Language Film Awards Jury L-R: Kelly Ihetu, Prof. Tracie Utoh-Ezeajugh, Prof. Pita Ejiofor, Nze Uche Nworah and Barister Uju Aroh.

The Jury members include Nze Uche Nworah, Managing Director and CEO of Anambra Broadcasting Service, Prof. Tracy Utoh-Ezeajugh, Dean, Faculty of Arts, Nnamdi Azikiwe University, Barrister Uju Aroh of National Film and Video Censors Board and Kelly Ihetu of Silverbird Group.

While inaugurating the Jury, Prof. Ejiofor said that the Igbo language Film Awards is an initiative of the Otu Suwakwa Igbo and is part of their efforts to promote Igbo language and Igbo cultural identity. He charged the Jury to apply their professional experience and judgement in their duty while being guided by the award criteria.

In his response, a member of the panel, Nze Uche Nworah thanked Otu Suwakwa Igbo for finding the Jury worthy to serve and assured that they will do their best to select the best Igbo language Film from the shortlisted 11 entries. He also called on well meaning Ndigbo to endow prizes in future editions of the Igbo language film awards.

The Jury has a month to complete their assignment. Igbo language films submitted for the award will be judged based on originality of script, use of Igbo language, visual and audio quality, role interpretations, costume and make-up, camera work, editing and finally adherence to guidelines.

The 2017 awards is endowed by Godwin Ezeemo. The winner will receive a plaque and one hundred thousand Naira prize money. There are also consolation prizes for 2nd, 3rd and 4th prize winners.

Written by Paschal Osubor

9 comments:

1. Amanda you are supposed to be there na?

1. Sorry I'm dropin this here..
      I gave birthday yeaterday at a specialist hospital..before i left the delivery ward,a woman was wheeled in...you need to see how she was looking..she went to a private hospital to give birth but she could not..the baby had died three days ago according to the doc..the doctors didn't pay attention to her because they blamed her for her carelessness..they gave her injection tp push d dead baby out...
      Why I'm typing al this is..we like to blame doctors for our mistake..they are humans too..why bring problems you have destroyed to them.
      GOD HELP US.
      All the E-idiots will come n marry under here now
      By the way My 'E' is entertainment for that E-Idoit that feels aje coined E'diot

2. MsTilii African Movie Reviews16 May 2017 at 18:58

Its about time. Way over due.
    Excellent news

3. Very beautiful and highly commendable!
    But that ABS man, isn't him the man that was fingered in Chidimma cucumber saga? I'm sorry if he's not the one. But if he is, then I am not comfortable with him handling such a position.
    Well na my view and I am so entitled to it!

Ify Lovie Lovie

4. . The winner will receive a plaque and one hundred thousand Naira prize money. There are also consolation prizes for 2nd, 3rd and 4th prize winners.please how is that suppose to encourage an actor or the writers of igbo movies??.I raise nyash for una like warri woman sha

5. Is this not the same Uche from 'chidinma cucumber' that works with anambra state broadcasting radio station ?