Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: LAUTECH CMD Says Senator Adeleke’s Died Of An Overdose Of Banned Injections -

Tuesday, May 16, 2017

LAUTECH CMD Says Senator Adeleke’s Died Of An Overdose Of Banned Injections -

Those of you that like to do self medication need to read this!

The Chief Medical Director, Ladoke Akintola University of Technology Teaching Hospital, Osogbo, Prof Akeem Lasisi has revealed the real cause of the death of the Senator representing Osun-West senatorial district, Chief Isiaka Adeleke.
According to Lasisi, Adeleke died of an overdose of banned injections.
Testifying before a coroner, Mr Olusegun Ayilara, in Osogbo, on Monday, Lasisi, who spoke from the witness box, said the Chief Medical Director of Biket Hospital, Osogbo, Dr Adebisi Adenle, called him on the telephone on April 23 to tell him that Adeleke had died.

Lasisi, who said he saw Adeleke’s corpse on a table at LAUTECH’s morgue, added that a pathologist, one Dr Solaja, two resident doctors, who are also pathologists, the Officer in Charge of Homicide, Osun State Police Command, Divisional Police Officer, Dugbe Police Station, Osogbo, and the Consultant Pathologist, LAUTECH, were all present when an autopsy was carried out on Adeleke.

Lasisi said the aide informed him that the person, who treated Adeleke was not a doctor but could not say if he was a nurse.

The CMD stated that he, however, failed to ask for the name of the person who treated Adeleke but he wanted to know what was administered and the competence of the person that administered the drugs.

He said among the injections given to Adeleke was Analgin, which he said was outlawed when the late Prof Dora Akunyili was the Director General of the National Agency for Food and Drug Administration and Control.

He said, “I saw the corpse. Before any process of examination of any diagnosis in medicine, there is what we call history before examination. So, we asked for the person who knew the conditions surrounding the death of the senator.

“So, the family pointed to one of the aides and the aide said he (Adeleke) was active the previous day and he came at midnight and started complaining of leg pain. So, they sent for somebody who came to give him injections.

“I asked clearly the medical status of the person that administered the injections. I asked, ‘Is the person a doctor?’ but he said no. ‘Is he a nurse’?, he said he didn’t know but the person was a face they were used to.

“He mentioned various injections, so at that point I asked him if could lay his hands on the empty ampoules of the injections. The family members went home to get them. The injections were five per cent dextrose. We saw empty sachets; it was like a fluid and with it, we saw an intravenous fluid-giving set and scalp vein needle. We saw that empty. We saw two ampoules of Analgin, four ampoules of valium (diazepam) – 10ml each making 40 milligrammes, one ampoule of pentazocine, one ampoule of gentamicin and two ampoules of hydrocortisone.

“All of these were empty and his aide said these were what he was given. He also added that after he had been given, he (Adeleke) called him that he doesn’t want to entertain any visitor and he went to sleep. He (the aide) said he later went back to check him and saw that the senator’s eyes were wide open but he wasn’t breathing.”

The CMD added that diazepam ‘sedates and tranquilises when given in moderate dosage’ but said it could knock off reflexes if given in the type of dosage Adeleke was given and could eventually lead to death.

He stated that if the injection would be given intravenously at all, it should be given at a facility where the patient could be resuscitated with artificial oxygen in case his breathing stopped.

“Analgin has been outlawed since the days of Dora Akunyili in NAFDAC. So, I don’t know where they got it from. They were given in excess dosage,” he said.

Also the Osun State Deputy Governor, Mrs Titi Laoye-Tomori, in her testimony before the coroner, said Adeleke hesitated before he ate three spoonfuls of rice at a funeral ceremony in Osun State, a day before he died.

from dailypost

17 comments:

1. Well old ijebu gist say the deceased used recreational drugs in his youth I'm not saying he was still using when he died I'm just repeating what I heard on the grapevine

2. So you didn't do an autopsy. You're basing your nonsense on circumstantial evidence

1. Giving four ampoules of diazepam???? Even during surgery,you dont use this much to sedate. Hian. The administrator of these lethal dose drugs was definitely on a mission and he succeeded (if they actually saw these empty ampoules and bag)

3. RIP Adeleke. It has happened and nothing anyone can do about it. It is only to talk and talk, nothing else.

Comfort to your family again

1. IT IS NOT JUST TALK TALK MY MADAM TYPICAL NIGERIAN!
      HIS DEATH NEEDS TO BE INVESTIGATED THROUGHLY AND CAUSE OF DEATH FOUND IF POSSIBLE !
      REASONS:
      ONE AND VERY IMPORTANTLY , SO THAT IGNORANT PERSONS AND THE SOCIETY CAN LEARN FROM IT, DEVISE PLANS TO AVOIDING SIMILAR OCCURENCES AND THUS SAVING THE CITIZENS FROM SIMILAR AVOIDABLE DEATH!
      IF YOU CAN AVOID IT : THEN IT SHOULD HAPPEN AGAIN!
      Two , THAT THE FAMILY AND LOVED ONES OF THE DISEASED FIND SOME CLOSURE AND JUSTICE DONE TO THEM AND TO THE DEAD: A PERSON SHOULD BE RESPECTED EVEN AT DEATH
      THIRDLY, THAT THE CULPRIT CAUGHT, ADEQUATE PUNISHMENT AND JUSTICE METTED!
      :
      WITH THAT OTHER ROGUES /IGNORAMUS WOULD HAVE LEARNT THEIR LESSONS AND DESIST FROM SUCH ACTS.
      AT THE END OF THE DAY: THE COUNTRY WOULD BE SAFER, MORE ENLIGHTENED AND A PLACE WHERE THERE IS A FUNCTIONING JUDICIARY SYSTEM!
      IF WE DONT EXPOSE OUR SHORT COMINGS AND VICES AS A COUNTRY, THEN HOW ARE WE GONNA EVER IMPROVE, HOW CAN WE LEARN AND HOW CAN CRIME AND UNWARRANTED MURDER/MANSLAUGHTER REDUCE !
      SO, PLEASE, IT ISNT ENOUGH TO SAY NOTHING THEY DO OR SAY WOULD WAKE THE DEAD UP !
      THE DEAD IS NEVER GONNA WAKE UP BUT THE LIVING CAN BE PROTECTED AND THE FUTURE BETTER !

PLEASE STOP THIS KILLER MINDSET THAT IS TYPICAL OF NIGERIANS AND HENCE WHY WE STILL SO BACKWARD AS A NATION AND NO JUSTICE!
      OFFENDERS MUST BE MADE TO PAY FOR THEIR CRIMES AND SO OTHERS CAN LEARN AND THE LAW UPHOLDED !
      SMHHH !

2. You just typed outa ma head kk mark. Too many ignorant loud mouthed bitches on this blog. Mschweeeeeeew

4. Chai. It a pity!
    So much money but could not get a qualified doctor to treat himself.

This is an avoidable death.

5. What are these people saying ehn?? Is this an autopsy result ni or am I missing something?? Simple autopsy don turn wahala to conduct. All these yada yada balderdash about empty ampoules and what not found is not what we want. If truly he was administered all these drugs shortly before his death, then the autopsy result will show it. Abi, any pathologist in the house?

6. People abuse drugs a lot in this country. How does one take intravenous injections in the house.
    You cant even buy ordinary antibiotics over the counter in other countries.

7. Replies
    1. If only he had known he will go to the hospital. Abamo oni gbeyin wa Amin.

8. Does autopsy not involve tests of samples of the blood and body fluid for chemicals/drugs to ascertain that his system actually contains those chemicals and also their percentage.

9. with all the money the Adeleke's have, I would like to assume that they would have subjected this man to a properly conducted autopsy to confirm the actual cause of death. I never knew hearsay and he said she said determines cause of death. By the way, one needs to bear in mind that many, many nigerian men are unhealthy. The eating habits alone don't do much to keep illnesses at bay. They know they have diabetes and HBP and other things but instead of seeking proper medical care, they hide it and get help from these quacks. oh well.

10. As a doctor I've never heard of analgin being used before, didn't know people still use that, 4 ampoules of diazepam is madness, when in some cases 1 is too much sef, why would one give IV Diazepam to a person complaining of leg pain, that itself is madness, then the gent (an antibiotic) and hydrocort (a corticosteroid) for a patient with leg pain why, why, why, the guy was obviously not a doctor, no sane doctor would do this.

11. Only God knows what went wrong, some patients will tell you its choloroquine that makes them feel better treating malaria and will not listen when you tell them you do not have such or it is banned .e fit be the man sef that demanded for the analgin but all the same that doctor is a murderer