Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria ON ALERT After Congo Ebola Outbreak

Sunday, May 14, 2017

Nigeria ON ALERT After Congo Ebola Outbreak

The Minister of Health, Prof. Isaac Adewole has called for heightened vigilance and intensified awareness efforts over the latest outbreak of Ebola virus in the Democratic Republic of Congo.

The Minister noted that health care providers and the general public must report any sign of illness to public health officials immediately.

This is coming as the Federal Airports Authority of Nigeria (FAAN) has assured of adequate surveillance at the nation’s airports. Henrietta Yakubu, FAAN’s Acting General Manager, Corporate Affairs, told the News Agency of Nigeria (NAN) that there was no direct flight from Congo to Nigeria and that all the preventive measures being put in place at the airports were still in place.

The federal government in response to the announcement by the World Health Organisation (WHO) which confirmed cases of Ebola in the DRC has directed port health officials to step up inspection activities and to report any sick person or suspects to ensure that epidemiologists in the states where they are present are immediately alerted and relevant tests conducted.

The symptoms to look out for include; fever, fatigue, weakness dizziness and muscle aches. Patients with more severe cases show bleeding under the skin, internal organs or even from bodily orifices like mouth, eyes, and the ears.

Nigerians are urged not to panic as the Centre for Disease Control is on ground and equipped to secure the health of citizens. The agency has for a while now, been strengthening states capacities to detect, manage and respond to hemorrhagic fevers including Lassa fever.

The minister called on states to begin social mobilisation and media awareness efforts via TV, radio, print and social media and charged state health ministries to strengthen their supervision services and escalate any incident appropriately.
Yakubu FAAN’s spokesperson, said that port health officials were at alert at all airports, adding that the authority had also informed them of the need to increase surveillance.

“We don’t have direct flights from Congo, we only have from Rwanda but I want to assure members of the public that we still have all preventive measures in place at our airports.
“There are sanitisers at our arrivals with the scanning apparatus called thermal scanners being installed by the Port Health Services. “The scanners have camera monitors that display pictures aside the capturing of temperature.

“Passengers still fill that form to ensure that people arriving the country through our airports are not potential carriers of deadly diseases.
“The port health officials are always at alert and we will also inform them of the need to increase their surveillance.
“So, there is no cause for alarm,” she said.

Nigeria experienced the Ebola virus in July, 2014 when a Liberian-American, Patrick Sawyer, who had the virus flew from Liberia to the Murtala Mohammed International Airport, Lagos and died five days later.

*Nigeri should better be on alert .....NOBODY SHOULD JOKE WITH THIS AT ALL OOOOOH

4 comments:

1. Ok ooo, shebi all the people you people honoured at Lagos at 50 are ready to fight this Ebola? Please kindly inform them o. We the association of new generation health workers ain't gonna die for people that don't even recognize our fallen heroes. If lagos state got will be forced to recognize Dr adaeevoh them who are we? Na to die like chicken and tomorrow Rikaoto by ME will be given special recognition.
    If Adadevoh had allowed atleast 10k people to die, then the govt would have probably recognize her. Dear Ebola, if you must enter naija , abeg start from govt houses.

2. If they like they should take quick preventive measures, if they like ooo... Ebola no dey look face.

3. God help us. Seems they have injected another man with the virus and pushed back to Africa to reduce the population. Meanwhile Lagos could not even honour Dr Adadevoh and put up faces of people that are unknown as their faces of Lagos @ 50. I hope Ambode is ready cos this one does not know small or big man. God protect your children.

4. hazmat suit should be on stand by for officials working at strategic entry points. I no wan hear story oh, is not only sharing money you people should be good at biko