Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria Set To Export Yams To Europe....

Tuesday, May 30, 2017

Nigeria Set To Export Yams To Europe....

The Minister of Agriculture and Rural Development, Audu Ogbeh, has said that arrangements had been concluded for the first container of yams to leave the shores of Nigeria for the European continent on the 29th of June this year.

He disclosed this in Abuja during a chat with journalists on the achievements of his Ministry since the President Muhammadu Buhari-led federal government took over power two years ago.

Ogbeh stated that, within the next two years, Nigeria’s agricultural sector will regain its lost glory at the world stage as a major food producer and exporter.

He noted that apart from yam that will soon be added to the list of farm produce Nigeria exports to the rest of the world, the country was doing well in the exportation of vegetables, beans and cowpeas to India, as well as cashew to Vietnam.

The Minister further said that without the support of Nigerians who heeded the call of President Buhari to take agriculture seriously and shift focus away from oil, the giant strides the country was making in the exportation of farm produce would have been impossible.

from dailypost.

DIDNT they do their homework well?Not yams please!!!...Other African Countries are already doing that and it is bad business for the resellers because yams are not always in demand and they are stuck with spoilt yams and capital down the drain...Before the yams get here,they are already bad.
Please not yams!

37 comments:

1. Way to go👍🏽👍🏽👍🏽

1. We don't even have enough yams to go round and they are exporting, the smallest size of yam last I bought was 800 naira... not so tiny though but then 500 couldn't buy any yam amongs the crowd of a aboki I saw.

2. how abt the ladies on this blog going to farm yams instead of every day begging or posing or fighting they should insulin hard work,,,yam they farm will lead to excess and bring the price down in country I'm sure they don't wanna hear this they would rather blame the government etc me I'm going to my farm let me see who will come and beg me to be their angel 😇

2. Lol at 'please not yams 😀😀

Ogbeh is working innit.

3. Hmm... Tomorrow is d deadline..
    How do I go about it now! Been having sleepless night...baba God, pick up my calls ooo

4. Audu Ogbe yaf come again........With his outdated idea.....lol........

5. hahahhaha at please not yams.

Audu Egbe or wetin be your name. I no blame you, i blame the dullard that gave you a post

6. stella no mind them ,yam wey full everywhere here especially yam from Ghana .

1. There's no reason we can't sell naija tam too. If we preserve properly it should bevfine

2. 👂👂👂booty come again oooo I no hear am...

3. Maybe it will help reduce the price of yam when theres competition abi?
      I don't know o jare

4. Abenaa we Nigerians arent as bitter hearted as Ghanians ,you married a Nigeria man ,i beat my life you married him for money not for love ,Because ordinary Ghanians hate Nigerians with a passion yet they cant do without us ,we Nigerians love other nationalities ,we have better yam in Nigeria ,just that we fall back more on oil production than agriculture so dont come here and be dancing azonto on my comment.

5. Booty baibeee😘😘😘 God bless you for this your reply to Abena, she was prolly feeling like she won a lotto😅😅😅 Ghana my foot, kwasia asem! Their hatred for Nigeria is on another level yet they can do without us Smh. Talking about exportation of yam from naija to Europe, I think it's a very good idea because they don't sell good yams over here.... only God knows where they bring their yams from.

6. Please include North America too! It's expensive here !😊

7. The "lost glory" of Nigerian agriculture lay in

Palm oil from the east
    Groundnut and cotton from the North
    cocoa from the west

Audu ogbe is from the middle belt which produces the bulk of the yams and he simply want to play the spoiler. Most Nigerian politicians are greedy and selfish; they only empower their cronies and relatives and that is why they kill to get to power. He knows that for instance if he shifts to any of the above listed products, he will be empowering the "other geopolitical zones. Exporting yam will further increase hunger with the skyrocketing of yam prices. It is a shame that we do not export durable products like dry fish with all the coastline of the Niger delta and south west. Shame on you Agric misser!

8. Now I know why yam is so expensive this days, even in Abj. I bought 1 for 1k another for 70O.

9. This is a welcome development, our yam is the best, be it isu jije or dido. Welldone sir, baba is working.

10. Why should government do this business. Can they not encourage people in the private sector and help develop the agric sector?

11. How much is yam here
    Nigerians can't afford yam
    You wanna export

You export we you have excess
    Mad administration

1. Very correct...this is indeed an insane administration, Nigerians cannot afford to buy yams to eat and u want to export yam...I tire for this 1976 administration

12. Yam is okay, the same way other African countries preserves theirs should be follwed suit. Brown beans would also be really well welcomed

13. Stella You can export yams if you use the right cultivars..This is where IATA comes in to help..Has enough research them done on it? do we have good preservative measure for them?...

14. No wonder yam is expensive mtchewee see how common garri ijebu is now 1k per plastic which was just 250 before yeye pelzinss

15. Lol... This is unbelievable!

16. Nigeria, my beloved country!

17. An average nigerian cannot even afford to buy yam these days

18. It is a good development particularly if they work on its preservation. Nigeria is the largest producer of yam in the world and I see no reason why it should not be exported. Imagine, in Houston one way to know rich Nigerians is if they buy yam at Wazobia market.

19. Na real wa...
    With the hunger ravaging Nigerians, you want to export yam..
    Not your fault at all, you don't know what the average Nigerian is passing through.. Kontinu

20. Is it the yam that we are not seeing to buy that they want to export??? Last time I priced Yam, a tuber was 1k!

21. Yams ke, that means we won't be able to eat yam again. Cos it is already expensive!

22. Audu Ogbeh always sounds as visionless as the government he works with. Was it not this same Ogbeh man that said plans were being made to convey food stuffs via train wagons to mitigate the cost of motor transportation owing to the price of PMS and AGO?
    Now he wants to export yam that is hardly enough to meet local consumption.

23. This one is to make yams vry expensive Now