Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Osinbajo Says That Prayer And Fasting Is not enough to move Nigeria forward,

Thursday, May 25, 2017

Osinbajo Says That Prayer And Fasting Is not enough to move Nigeria forward,

The Acting President, Yemi Osinbajo, on Wednesday, said no amount of prayer and fast by Nigerians could move the nation forward without hard work.

Osinbajo said as a pastor himself, he understood the law of sowing and reaping and knew the implication of leaving what was supposed to be done undone.

The Acting President spoke in Abuja during an interactive session organised for public and civil servants on the implementation of the three Executive Orders which he signed last week.

He said the prosperity and abundance being enjoyed by great nations today were not created by spirits, but by men.

While saying the executive orders were meant to aid the ease of doing business in Nigeria, he warned that anytime government officials deliberately delayed what they could do immediately, they were holding back the future of the country.

Osinbajo stated, “No matter how much you pray or fast, our country cannot grow without some of us deciding to do the hard work that makes nations work.

“I am a pastor, a spiritual person, and I understand the law of sowing and reaping. It is a spiritual law that has tremendous physical implications. Every time that we delay, or frustrate what we can do today, leaving it till tomorrow, we hold back the future. We too must reap what we have sown by experiencing delays.

“If you help others to achieve, if you help your nation, you have sown good seeds. You will find help and you will prosper too.”

Edited from Punch

20 comments:

1. Even the holy book categorically states that Faith without Works is Dead!

2. Yeah right. Even the Bible says that faith without works is dead

3. Stella you self with your caption.
    What the man said is the gospel truth and every sensible human knows it. We have to be practical and realistic. VP is 101% right.

4. He's right!
    Just like you don't pray and fast to grow,you eat to grow.

5. Gbam...This is man is a phenomenom. Make PMB just remain there so u can do what God has positioned you to do.
    Unlike some bush people that will say an epidemic is a result of our sin

6. I totally agree with him.

We have to match Prayers with hard work. Because Nigeria still has a very long way to go.
    See where the rest of the Developed worlds are and we are still here talking about having regular light and good roads and potable water.

Prayers alone won't take us anywhere.
    It's high time we stopped expecting Miracles.

7. Is it me? I think there's a huge difference in leadership style BTW PYO and PMB. One looks inward, d other looks outward.

8. Absolutely! Is it only prayer and fasting that took Germany to where it is today?

We all need some talking to, abeg.

9. Gbam! How I wish this man could remain there, enough to reactivate my political interests.

10. In such a state where the system is a totally failure we need prayer. In fact it's only prayer that's been making Nigerian and Nigerians work. You to hospital , you must pray that a quack doctor does not butcher you. You drive on the road.., you need prayer for protection . You go to school , you need prayer.. in fact without prayer Nigeria is a totally failure . I wonder how much of a spiritual person you are to say prayer is not enough meanwhile it's been prayer that's helping us since. Even the very poor got to fast n pray for to send help their way.. no social system in place to care for their basic need. U start ice water business u need prayer for constant light.. abeg Osibanjo mind your words.

1. It seems you do not comprehend what he is saying. The key words here are NOT ENOUGH. Yes! Prayer has been helping this country but it is NOT ENOUGH. Imagine a country that backs prayer up with hard work, the sky will be the starting point. Prayer is very important so also is hard work. A man that works very hard but does not pray has the tendency to make it than someone that does not work but prays only (will God come down to help him till the land?).

The best combination is prayer plus hard work.

I like Osibajo and I pray he continues to say the right words.

2. It seems you do not comprehend what he is saying. The key words here are NOT ENOUGH. Yes! Prayer has been helping this country but it is NOT ENOUGH. Imagine a country that backs prayer up with hard work, the sky will be the starting point. Prayer is very important so also is hard work. A man that works very hard but does not pray has the tendency to make it than someone that does not work but prays only (will God come down to help him till the land?).

The best combination is prayer plus hard work.

I like Osibajo and I pray he continues to say the right words.

11. That is the gospel truth. Fast, pray then work towards nation building, simple.

12. Faith without work is dead, they should do the needful jare.

Everything just go up for this country

1. Who are they? The correction of the problem starts from you and not they. If everyone keeps saying 'they' .... who will make nigeria better?

13. I agree with him, Agreeing with him does not belittle the importance of prayers in our lives... We should pray, fast and work hard. God promises to bless and reward us with fruits of our labour.

14. Well said my able VP!!! Almighty God has given us brains, these should be utilised well to develop our country, prayers included though. People will be sitting in their vehicles without fuel and expect their faith to move the vehicle to their destination (LMAO). Hard work and prayer go hand in hand.