Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Customs Destroy Frozen Poultry Product Worth Millions -Photos

Thursday, June 22, 2017

Customs Destroy Frozen Poultry Product Worth Millions -Photos

The Owerri Zone of the Nigeria Customs Service (NCS) has destroyed 4118 cartons of frozen poultry products with duty paid value of N83,389,500 yesterday.

According to the Controller Federal Operations Unit Zone C Owerri, Amajam Bukar, the seizure of the poultry products was achieved through a tip off from an informant to operatives of the Nigeria Customs Service Federal Operations Unit Zone C Owerri.

He said: “the Unit with the aid of partner security agencies including the National Agency for Food Drugs Administration and Control (NAFDAC) and the Nigeria Police Force, was able to secure the container and its contents and destroy it in line with government directives.

“Importation of frozen poultry products is illegal and it still remains on Nigeria’s import prohibition list.

“I call on the public not to buy such products because they are harmful to human health.

“I also call on intending frozen poultry importers to desist and instead channel their resources to legal imports will be of benefit to the nation and to avoid loss of their scarce resources.”.

According to Dailypost,He reiterated the commitment of the Service to work tirelessly to protect the economy as well as the local agriculture industry from unhealthy competition.

On hand to witness the destruction were representatives of the Nigeria Police Force, the National Agency for Food Drugs Administration and Control (NAFDAC), the Department of State Security, National Security and Civil Defence Corps (NSCDC), amongst others.

*Hmmmm.....How do they know it is not healthy?Did they check or just destroyed because it is illegal to import?

24 comments:

1. Custom officers are thieves. Where the ones they hide. I pity the man that lost. I will make sure i deal with them spiritually.

Stupid officers. Thieves everywhere

2. If they burnt this because it is illegal and not because it is harmful, their shame and disgrace will not be far fetched

3. Of course they will quickly destroy without proper verification and confirmation, after all na Igbo man business. Nonsense.

1. Plus the person involved may have refused to play ball or play the ball well enough. Smh

2. Lol!
      I sure say Na Igbo man destroy am.... Forever victim syndrome

4. They just destroyed it without checking.
    Foolish ignorant wicked Nigerian officials. Someone's hard earned money gone down the drain.

5. This is wickedness, This is not about illegal importation, we know what happened,

Moreover why allow some people to go and pick the chicken for personal use. SMH

6. The ones i see in the market where did they com from?

7. Frozen chicken or turkey is harmful to our health due to the chemical they use in preserving them. Good luck to those who still consume it

8. Chaii! This is someone's sweat oo.
    Maybe because money did not exchange hands..
    We know what happened.

9. And the ones they keep in their homes arent illegal and harmful ,i weep for my country Nigeria

1. They would have given the poor to eat, Haba what is this, even if they wanted to purnish the owner, they would have given hungry people to eat. People are dying of hunger everyday

10. I can't say whether it's wicked or not because the importer may not even be eating out of those frozen chickens, and may as well ban his family from eating them. They will say they prefer live chicken but that's because they know about the said carcinogenic chemicals used for preservation and methods they adopt in bringing it in. Someone with N83m+ can very well buy land, and set up a good mechanized poultry business. But no, they prefer the sharp sharp money that are against d law..just like those ones back then that kept flooding fake drugs into the market, Dora Akunyili kept burning them and they kept calling her all sorts of names. Nigeria is not a dumping ground,

11. Stupid and wasteful animals. We have people starving on the streets and at IDPs. Why did they not keep them to feed these people? What point have they proven for destroying such a huge quantity of protein? Unless those birds were infected with some disease this is just a failed attempt at eye service. Useless and daft idiots. Many are mad, some are uniformed.

12. I hate food wastage

13. Well, this actually looks wicked, but it is what it is. Its illegal to carry drugs abi.... Reason why people are hung in Malaysia. If its illegal to import frozen food, then stop importing it.

14. i have never seen where its proof that they are harmful, this things are in the market everywhere people are still consuming it... OBJ we are watching you shebi is because you want to grow your farm that is why you put this kind of law abi...

15. What have they done to those coca cola products that have been officially confirmed to be harmful? What about cartons of cigarette. Being distributed all over d nation. This is unfair. Nigerians have vowed to frustrate the Igbos and their businesses. Will that solve the numerous problems confronting this country?