Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EvansGATE: Meet Ogungbeje The Lawyer Who Wants To Defend Notorious Kidnapper Evans

Thursday, June 29, 2017

EvansGATE: Meet Ogungbeje The Lawyer Who Wants To Defend Notorious Kidnapper Evans

Just when Nigerians thought no lawyer would step out to defend notorious billionaire kidnapper, Chukwudumeme Onwuamadike a.k.a. Evans, Voice Olukoya Ogungbeje has proven an exception.

Ogungbeje who heads Lawflex Chambers and is the Chairman of Voice Vanguard, stepped out Wednesday.

He grabbed the headlines as he filed a fundamental rights suit on behalf of Evans, by dragging the Inspector General of Police, and three others before a Federal High Court in Lagos over Evans alleged illegal detention .

Joined as respondents are the Nigeria Police Force, Commissioner of Police Lagos State, and the Special Anti-Robbery Squad, Lagos State Police Command.

In his fundamental rights the confessed kidnapper is seeking a court order directing the respondents to immediately charge him to court if there is any case against him.

He is in the alternative, seeking an order, compelling the respondents to immediately release him unconditionally in the absence of any offence warranting a charged.

In the suit marked, FHC/L/CS/1012/2017, Evans is contending that his continued detention by the respondents since June 10, without a charge, or release on bail is an infringement on his fundamental rights.

He argued that the respondents ought to have charged him to court in accordance with the provisions of Sections 35 and 36 of the Constitution.

It was further argued that the alleged offence committed by the applicant (Evans) are correspondingly intertwined with the constitutional safeguards as provided under Sections 35 and 36 of the Constitution.

In a 27-paragraph affidavit in support of the motion deposed to by Evan’s father, Stephen Onwuamadike, it was averred that the applicant has been subjected to media trial without any court’s order by the respondents.

Onwuamadike further averred that the media trial and news orchestrated by the respondents have continued to generate reactions in both print and electronic media without his son being afforded fair hearing before a court of law.

The deponent also averred that since his son’s arrest, all his family members have been denied access to him while media practitioners have been granted unfettered access to him.

The new suit has not been assigned to any judge and no date has been fixed for the hearing.

Evans lawyer, who identified himself on Facebook as Voice Olukoya Ogungbeje had been involved in controversial cases in recent times.

In April, he filed a suit asking the Federal High Court to stay proceedings on the forfeiture of $43,449,947 (about N13billion), N23,218,000 and £27,800 (about N10.6 million) found in a flat in Ikoyi, Lagos.

He also sought an order directing the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission (EFCC) to furnish the court with a report of its preliminary or final investigation on the source of the money, its owner, and how the currencies got into the building.

Ogungbeje, in a motion on notice asked the court not to order a permanent forfeiture of the money since there are claims and counter claims as to its ownership by the Rivers State government and the National Intelligence Agency (NIA)and since the Federal Government had set up the Osinbajo panel to find the truth about the ownership of the money.

“This honourable court has the inherent jurisdiction under Section 6 (6)(b) of the Constitution to order and direct thorough investigation on the sources of the monies, their owners, the owners of the Osborne Towers where the monies were found and how they got into the building.

The case did not get anywhere as the money was later permanently forfeited to the Federal Government.

Ogungbeje also once filed a suit in Lagos in 2014 asking for the reinstatement of Murtala Nyako as governor of Adamawa state. This was after Nyako was impeached by the state assembly in July of the same year and the speaker of the state assembly had taken over.

Again, the case hit the rocks.

Ogungbeje claimed the Assembly’s alleged failure to serve Nyako personally with the impeachment notice violated his fundamental right to fair hearing as enshrined under Section 36 of the 1999 Constitution.

After the court heard arguments from parties and judgment date fixed, Fintiri, through his lawyer, Chief Wole Olanipekun (SAN) urged the judge not to deliver the verdict.

The former Nigerian Bar Association (NBA) president prayed the court to set aside all the proceedings conducted in the suit so far because his clients were not served with the suit in accordance with the law.

According to him, the court should strike out the entire action since the due process of law was not followed.

Olanipekun, who was also representing Mammadi and the House of Assembly, argued that the originating processes were not properly served on his clients.

From thenews

71 comments:

1. This lawyer is OJUKOKORO. he wants to eat part of the billion from Evans.

Yeye

1. Ojukokoro Ke? A lawyer must surely represent him in the court of law. Remember he is innocent until proven guilty.

2. End time defense lawyer. He will kidnap the lawyer one he pays him.

3. End time defense lawyer. He will kidnap the lawyer after he pays him.

4. The lawyer is looking for cheap popularity. Ole alai ni ti ju,omo ale oloju kokoro.

5. Evans has a right to fair trial. Even that death penalty cannot b enforced without a trial

2. Who is giving Evans a new shirt like every freaking day, huh? ..

1. Hmm true question, probably he was allowed to pack some clothes along, he's on vacation

2. Trust our police officers to turn to errand boy for a billionaire.They will even do his laundry happily.
      natheworkweydemdeydo#.

3. Iya Oshoronga of Blogosphere29 June 2017 at 15:36

Na stomach infrastructure dey worry dis lawyer. Evans will pay him millions. Lawyers are not honourable people, if lucifer needs a lawyer, they will scramble to defend him, as long as money is involved. I hate lawyers.

1. Stupid idiot !! I must be famous or die trying, hungry lawyer.

4. Why won't he defend Evans when he has eaten plenty of his money? Ifuro ka o debere isi ka oke😡

1. Please, we will rest on this matter concerning Evans. The real Court trial should kick off..not all these episodes released everyday.

1. This lawyer is hungry for fame..... And media attention.

6. This is so wrong in all levels, why share his pics online , if our notorious armless rubbers (our politicians ) can get themselves a good lawyer to defend them after stealing us blind, what stop Evans from getting one for himself? What's wrong with some people? I am not in support of Evans BUT let the judges have the final say!

1. In Law,Every accused is entiltled to a lawyer.
      So it's nothing new.
      The pictures of his lawyer Bn made public though.

2. Hey 👋 Keep making sense.

MrsBee

3. He most likely supplied his own pic and history. Attention seeker.

4. If our politicians can take 120 lawyers to court,Evans can as well get one cos they are all criminals.

7. Yes he's entitled to it

8. No comment.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

9. This man no go die well... Useless lawyer ole efon

1. Haba!! U are entitled to a lawyer whether guilty or not, happens in every country, it's not a crime.. pls let's apply wisdom when commenting

10. Yay he is putting to practice everything the NBA thought him 👍🏾 It's up to the magistrate to put into practice everything he/she has also been thought, through books and years of experience.

Ti omo 'de ba gbogbon kiku, iya e a gbogbon sinsin.......my yoruba writing sucks😂

MrsBee

11. This lawyer is a thief

1. He is not a thief but a lawyer and Evans is entitled to one.

2. Most Nigerians are illiterate, This is a country with laws, everyone is entitle to a lawyer in the court of law. Even if nobody want to represent him, Government must provide one. Leave the lawyer alone, he is only doing his job. Only in Nigeria is that people don't reason, all they know is throw insult and grammar.

12. Replies
    1. secret admirer 💙💙💙29 June 2017 at 22:06

American movies have taught me that after every arrest made by the police, they say and I quote, 'you are under arrest, you have the right to remain silent. anything you say or do will be used against you in the court of law.' "You have the right to an attorney present during questioning. If you cannot afford an attorney, one will be appointed for you. Do you understand these rights?" I guess that's what's happening in this case

13. What did I read bikonu? Evans going scott free?
    that "the court should strike out the entire action since the due process of law was not followed". I know that once prominent personnels don dey involve, tone of the music go change.

14. Oh well everyone has a right to a lawyer. Even when the police come to arrest you, they always read your right which also includes your right to an attorney.

And they are actually right. You either charge him to court or he sues you. Nigerian law stipulates that a criminal should not be held in the police station for more than 48hrs. After this time, if you are not charging them to court , then release them. Alot of people in police custody after 48hrs don't actually know their right. Or don't have money to get hold lawyer's to bring them out. Charge him to courts so that they will ask him to bring a bail he won't be able to afford. With sureties. Then his case will go on. Bail like 1 billion naira and 2 sureties in like sum. How will he come out of jail? He won't na. Until after the case and then he will serve his life imprisonment or death sentence

15. BVS stop being sentimental..Any accused person has a right to a lawyer..Haba when will we grow up as a people...He is not guilty until proven so..Please I dont know when our media will learn their job..how can you put the picture of the said lawyer representing Evans..Na wa o

16. Evans, your 'Dibia' strong sha.

#WhichWayNigeria #ThirdWorldProblems

17. Let be factual here this evans guy has been detain for so long,it's time for them to charge him to court or better still kill him if proven guilty of all the wrongly charged against him.

1. Yes he is entitled to a lawyer but you cannot rush an ongoing investigation. That's where I have issues. The police have a right to complete their investigation and with the way they keep opening up Evans past. We need to be careful. He said he was only involved in only kidnapping only for investigation to reveal he is into armed robbery and oil theft. And he claim he has never killed anyone and it was later discovered he has killed many. Why aid he in a hurry so that he can also mess up all the charges against him like Saraki did. Anyway he kidnapped people for more than six months and it's his turn to feel the heat. Let him remain there till investigation is done properly.

18. Oga na that ogun go judge your matter o. Nothing else to tell youm

19. Na here we go dae, dem go release this guy. He kidnaps he get paid u kidnap him he gets paid too. His ogas at the top are really working.

20. Yea we know Evans is like an osu quite alright buy he is still entitled to a lawyer.

Now, why parade the lawyer?
    Is he a criminal?
    Even the worst criminal on earth is entitled to a lawyer.
    It is his job to defend his client regardless of his or her crime.

Infact, where he can argue his way to victory in the court of law marks him as very successful in his profession thus attracting him more cases.

Na wa sef

21. He has a right to a lawyer. Until the law court proves him guilty, he is innocent. So, he should either be charged or released. That is the law.

22. Several attempts to kill dis guy BT they failed all cuz dia are so many individuals, public figures that are involved in his business.

So wat do u xpect

MC pinky

23. If notorious Evans does not have access to a lawyer how will they try him and have justice. Yes someone has to represent him. Eventually he will be found guilty and sentenced.

24. He will soon die. People like this no dey last.

25. The police, just like their elder bros EFCC want to be the one to recover his loot, so it can be shared.
    Charge him to court with a bond of 1 billion pounds and 2 rabbi's as sureties.

26. hexcuse me lawyer, may banana, Fire and brimstone, thunder,karashika fall on you. Ibu onye ala?

1. Every worst criminal is entitled to a lawyer, someone has to represent him, no need insulting the lawyer, pls let's be educated

27. That's the right way to go. He has the right to a lawyer who will represent him in court and if proven guilty, he will be sentenced. Sentiments aside, that's how things are done.

This needs to happens else we'll just keep having useless episode of this guy's confessions which may end up putting ideas into the heads of the young ones.

But this profession called law hennn, na wa! Can't deal jare.

28. Evans and the lawyer are actually right from the angle they are coming from according to the Nigerian constituti

29. A very good criminal lawyer will free evans , a good one like the one i read in The other side of midnight and if tomorrow comes (sidney sheldon) .Evans is saying he has colon cancer which he got when he was a drug dealer using a south american passport ,he could as well say he bought all his houses with drug money ,he could as well say torture made him confess to crime he was never into .,too many things at stake here ,lets see how it goes ,Nigerian police never fuck with them ,Evans must have bought some and they tell him man get a lawyer you are not guilty until proven by court of law .

1. Someone like jessica Pearson or Steve Harvey can set him free na. Kikikikikiki

2. Jasmine darling just pay them millions of dollars and watch clear murder case turn into magic .OJ simpson example

30. Stellz, you ain't seen nothing yet! The drama is yet to begin. This is why I have been saying, less media publication, more in-house prosecutoral strategies. The police have shown too much of their hand. Just watch and see how this lawyer will have Evans confession thrown out in court.

Pictures of his swollen eye and blood stained shirt is a defence counsel's dream come true! His lawyer with challenge the voluntariness of said confession. He will say Evans was manhandled and beaten up and threatened to confess. In law, once a confessional statement seems obtained by any form of duress or inducement, it becomes inadmissible. ‎Just watch and see how this will play out. 

The police were waaaaay too carried away! They were just dishing out information, unnecessarily. My fear is, his victims may be too scared to testify, especially with how indifferent the police has been with their protection so far. I just pray this case gets the justice it deserves, because unfortunately, you don't necessarily get justice in a court of law.‎ In Court, perception trumps the truth.

31. Evans like big money oh!,,.
    I read somewhere he is suing them for 300millon!!...

1. chief 300million never reach him ransome money na ,we talking about from 1m usd .how much is usd now

32. Yes Evans Is still a citizen of Nigeria and so has right to a lawyer

33. He has a right to a lawyer, he is innocent in the eyes of the law until proven guilty. My worry is that it will now drag on for years, trust our judicial system

34. Everyone is entitled to a lawyer, guilty or not guilty. There isba field of study in Law called Criminal Law.
    This mentality that because he is evil is one of the reasons we are tagged a '3rd world country'. Even prisoners are being treated by doctors. This is a professional ish not matter of emotions. He should have been lynched at his house if they wanted a so-called justice to him.

35. Yes he is entitled to a lawyer and he is still a Nigerian who is entitled to an attorney. If he does not have money to get a lawyer the state is mandated to get him one and the lawyer must prosecute the matter diligently else it becomes an issue for the defense Counsel personally.The accused person (Evans) has a right to be tried, right to trial in a timely manner,right to be informed of the nature and cause of all accusations against him and right to confront witnesses against him by way of cross examination by the defense lawyer. He equally has a right to reject counsel appointed for him by the state. Lets not be sentimental and get carried away. The police knows what to do hence they approached the High Court for extension of time to keep him in custody. The law is an ass.