Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Former Police Commissioner Tsav Says Ojukwu Warned Igbos Against Another War

Tuesday, June 27, 2017

Former Police Commissioner Tsav Says Ojukwu Warned Igbos Against Another War

Former Lagos State Police Commissioner, Alhaji Abubakar Tsav, has recalled how Odumegwu Ojukwu, leader of the breakaway Republic of Biafra from 1967 to 1970, warned people of the South-East against further acts that may lead to war.

He observed that the leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra (IPOB), Nnamdi Kanu, seemed to be rooting for a violent struggle and warned him to stop extreme utterances.

Tsav also said that the eviction notice issued to Igbos by youth groups in the North should be taken seriously as no nation goes into civil war twice and survives.

“Every person who was born before 1960 knows exactly what has happened in this country. We had this problem when there was military coup and only a section of this country was targeted. Their leaders and senior military officers were killed by a section of the society and these people happened to be the Igbo”, he told Sun.

“Aguyi Ironsi was made the President. He came and unified the whole country without consultation with anybody. Then there was this counter coup and that was when the problem started and the Arewa people started agitating that ‘Araba’ ‘Araba’. That was the genesis of the problem.

“As regards asking people to go back to their place of origin, it is not the Arewa people that started it. It was the Igbo that started it. It was the Igbo who invited every Igbo man living in other places to go back to the east. And that was the beginning of the war.

“And that was when I was a young police inspector. That was why we were transferred from Lagos to Kaduna to replace those Igbo that answered to that call. So, the call by the Arewa Youths is reminding us of the sad old days and it is not good.

“They must have done it out of anger and frustration because upon all that these Igbo have gained in this country, everyday they keep insulting and abusing us; calling us all manner of names and we have distinguished Nigerians among the Igbo who ordinarily should call these people to order but they are not calling them to order.

“I remember I saw a video where Ojukwu said he did not regret fighting for Biafra but he also advised the Igbo that nobody should try to do that again because with the number of people who died and the number of those who lost their properties, it was not worth it.

“He said in that video that he was proud to lead the Biafran war but that he wouldn’t advise anybody to go that way again. But when Kanu started, nobody among the prominent Igbo said anything to condemn it. They were allowing Kanu to say whatever he wants.

“I want to appeal to all the leaders in this country, be it Igbo leaders, Arewa leaders, Yoruba leaders and others to try and douse this tension. If the Arewa youths should insist that Igbo should go back to their area, we are creating another avenue for civil war. And no country fights two civil wars and survives it”‎, he stated.-dailypost

22 comments:

1. Fish brain like you. So because no one called him to order u hv to say this trash! Really?

2. God bless u elder statesman... Igbo elders refuse to call this boy to order but when become the thing they will be the one crying foul.

3. God bless u elder statesman... Igbo elders refuse to call this boy to order but when become the thing they will be the one crying foul.

4. They must have done it out of anger and frustration because upon all that these Igbo have gained in this country

That was the point I stopepd reading
    🚶 🚶 🚶 🚶

5. I wonder where these old men are when things are being done unjustly.How many of you have spoken against the unjust leadership of this country
    How many of you have condemned the state governors who not only owe their workers but also pensioners who are barely finding it difficult to survive
    Federal government releases allocation but nearly all the states in Nigeria are owing their workers while it's citizens sit and watch these potifians growing fat each day
    Oga what has your likes done for Nigeria before you start condemning some not so relevant issues
    You guys are really annoying me in this country, don't let me change for una

1. secret admirer 💙💙💙27 June 2017 at 11:20

Calm down sweetie, calm down

6. No body is calling for war! Referendum is entirely different from war. fools.

1. On a free and fair referendum Igbos would vote to remain in Nigeria.

Kanu has barely 15% of Igbos behind him, maybe another 20% not so sure of what they want the other 65% want a better Nigeria and nothing short of it.

7. Seems these people gets more stupid each new day. Nnamdi Kanu is calling for referendum not war, does referendum has any resemblance with war?
    Greece, Britain, Turkey, Italy all had their respective referendum recently, was there any war reported in those places.
    Abubakar Tsav is an example of how much Nigeria's educational system has deteriorated.

8. The truth is always very bitter and hard to swallow. If some of this people shouting Biafra witnessed the war there won't be anyone supporting Kanu. It is easy to start a fight or war but it is very hard to recover and it gets worse when you re fighting a lost battle. Some igbo's have their investments in the north and south so do you expect them to leave their life investments and run like a headless cow following Biafra. I'm not against Biafra breaking away but ve their youths thought of the out come of war or do they think when they get to Enugu one big office is waiting for them to start working. My friends grandma cried talking about the war how she lost her husband and first son, how she straved how they hid in bunkers, how the lost their properties, how most of their girls turn into house maids cos they couldn't feed them. Pls before you insult me think about what you grand parents suffered and read about southern Somalia. Then ask yourself how they intend to employ the youths and ask yourself how many dual citizenship do you have. Thank you

9. #Perseverance is failing nineteen times and succeeding the twentieth*

10. On the 11th February 1961 Nigeria conducted a referendum for southern Cameroonians on whether to fuse with Nigeria or merge with francophone part of Cameroon, this referendum resulted to peaceful secession of the then NCNC controlled Anglophone Cameroon from Nigeria in other words, they voted to leave Nigeria for good.

Again on 13th July 1963 Nigeria conducted another referendum which led to creation of defunct mid-western region from the domineering posture of Awolowo led western region, the old mid-western region comprises of today's Edo and Delta states.

We can achieve Biafra sovereignty through a democratic process, through the instrumentality of referendum.
    Biafra agitation is a struggle for justice and equity which have eluded our people in this British cage called Nigeria. It is a fight against quota system and federal character policy marginalization and deprivation.

Biafra has nothing to do with war, those beating the drums of war are the agents of the status que, the efulefus, the beneficiaries of the fraudulent system and the jihadist in the feudal north.
    They want to scare and frightened us to submission, they want us to accept slavery out of fear of loosing our properties and investments in their abode.
    Shall we give in to their antics and psychological manipulation? NEVER!
    Biafra must be restored.

1. No we shall not give in to them. These northerners and others against Biafra are very trickery. A group of people say they want out you don't want to let them go but rather start reminding them of a war they lost. I never heard Biafra say we are going to war.
      If they know they aren't benefitting anything from Biafrans and other regions then let them go peacefully. Go and eat your groundnut and rubber northerners. Imagine the bigot president speaking in Hausa , we know what he is trying to say.
      If there is a war this time the northerners will be shocked because things will be different, the olden days is not the same as today in the era of social media and awareness all over the world. This time the Igbos will term it as genocide . They best go and ask how dictators have been killed /hung after judgement from international courts.

11. On the 11th February 1961 Nigeria conducted a referendum for southern Cameroonians on whether to fuse with Nigeria or merge with francophone part of Cameroon, this referendum resulted to peaceful secession of the then NCNC controlled Anglophone Cameroon from Nigeria in other words, they voted to leave Nigeria for good.

Again on 13th July 1963 Nigeria conducted another referendum which led to creation of defunct mid-western region from the domineering posture of Awolowo led western region, the old mid-western region comprises of today's Edo and Delta states.

We can achieve Biafra sovereignty through a democratic process, through the instrumentality of referendum.
    Biafra agitation is a struggle for justice and equity which have eluded our people in this British cage called Nigeria. It is a fight against quota system and federal character policy marginalization and deprivation.

Biafra has nothing to do with war, those beating the drums of war are the agents of the status que, the efulefus, the beneficiaries of the fraudulent system and the jihadist in the feudal north.
    They want to scare and frightened us to submission, they want us to accept slavery out of fear of loosing our properties and investments in their abode.
    Shall we give in to their antics and psychological manipulation? NEVER!
    Biafra must be restored.

12. The only reason i will never support biafra is, if this rubbish quota system is wiped out completely from our constitution....

1. This people are Just daft. So peaceful refendum has become the new "war". They should keep diverting attention from the real issues.

13. This people are Just confusionists, referendum is not synonymous with war abeg. So if you advocate for a peaceful resolution of something, it becomes "war". Shame on Nigerians who cannot sit down and advocate for peace without mentioning "war". I thought we've grow past that. Ignoramuses every where.

14. Since Yorubas are okay where they are, peaceful refendum will mean war to them. But when they were fighting for Abiola's mandate, it was not "war" we Igbos sided them, the manner to which people from the east voted Abiola, I doubt if Yorubas can vote an Igbo man like that. I was very much younger then, but I heard my dad and my uncles discuss things. Now whatever we do now, they relate it to "war".