Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Notorious Kidnapper Evans Drags IGP And 3 Others To Court Over Detention

Thursday, June 29, 2017

Notorious Kidnapper Evans Drags IGP And 3 Others To Court Over Detention

This must be a Joke of some sort!!!

Chukwudumeme Onwuamadike a.k.a. Evans, the suspected billionaire kidnapper, has dragged the Inspector General of Police, Ibrahim Idris and three others before the Federal High Court in Lagos over alleged illegal detention.

Joined as respondents in the motion he filed by his lawyers are the Nigeria Police Force, Commissioner of Police, Lagos State and the Special Anti-Robbery Squad, Lagos State Police Command.

In a fundamental rights enforcement suit filed on his behalf by a Lagos-based lawyer, Olukoya Ogungbeje, the suspected kidnapper is praying for the order of court to direct the respondents to immediately charge him to court if there is any case against him in accordance with Sections 35 (1) (c) (3) (4) (5) (a) (b) and 36 of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria.

In the alternative, he prayed the court for an order compelling the respondents to immediately release him unconditionally in the absence of any offence that will warrant his being charged to court.

from Vanguard.

*I am Gobsmacked....WHAT!!!

59 comments:

1. What joke Stella? He's still a suspect until proven guilty or is that not how it works in the part of country you live?

1. I'm not surprised.
      Why is it taking the police this long to arraign him in court?
      Detaining him this long is illegal.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

2. Thank u. Either u charge him or release him. It's the law!

3. Those he kidnapped better come forward o

1. The funny thing is, he was able to be unlawfully detained this long because it is "Nigeria my Country". If it were in other civilised Countries, the State would have charged Evans to court, probably within the same week he was arrested. Remember, they claim he had been a wanted criminal for years. They ought to have been gathering intelligence and information way before his arrest.

Ordinarily, it shouldn't take more than three days to "extract" more information from him, since they claimed he gave his confession the same day he was apprehended.‎ 

3. After all he has done? He has the boldness to sue? OK

4. The first time I commented concerning Evans.. I played out this scenario and an anonymous reacted violently under my comment...

You see??? Some dare devil lawyers have advised him. Like I typed that day.. Hope they followed due process to nail this criminal.. Search warrants,etc.

All the parading just gave Evans the guts to do this. This man is an evil genius!
    😳😳😳😳😳
    I knew this was coming, but I'm shocked at the effontery!

1. You are right my dear BT d issue here is,he has backup..

I knew it will turn to dis cuz he should Ave bin charged to court for long..

Delay defeat

MC pinky

2. I keep on saying it, Nigeria police system is a joke. Do they want to tell us that they didn't know better than to have him sued? If it was a petty thief now, they'll just organise an immediate court session for them. Are these not evidences to be discussed between the lawyers? Why are they the ones asking the questions?
      MTcheeeeeew

3. @Iphie, no, my Buttercup, it's not an affront. He is merely exercising his fundamental human rights. I know it's annoying, my darling, but it is what it is. The Nigerian Constitution as well as the entire Nigeria criminal jurisprudence and other civilised nations seem to favour suspected criminals. It is the rationale behind the principle of innocent until proven guilty and  placing the burden of proof on the prosecution and the standard of proof being beyond reasonable doubt. Once the court has any reasonable doubt, the law is, it enures in favour of the accused.

This is also based on the principle of Sir William Blackstone, which states that "it is far better that 10 guilty persons escape than 1 innocent suffer." Criminal law can be very frustrating, especially for the prosecution who has to dot every 'i' and cross every "t". A person convicted in the court of public opinion can be acquitted in a court of law.

I remember the case of a guy who killed his mother. It caused such an outrage that no lawyer was willing to represent him, even the public defender assigned to him by the state. This was in the 60s. So at the High Court, the public defender didn't bother defending the accused because it was very clear that he killed his own mother. The High court found him guilty and sentenced him to death but the convict appealed to the Court of Appeal. The Court of Appeal upheld the High court's judgment. He appealed yet again to the Supreme Court. Honey, guess what the supreme Court held? It set aside the judgment of the High Court and Court of Appeal and remitted the case back to the High court to be retried! The Supreme Court held that everybody is entitled to be defended by a lawyer and the courts must consider every defence no matter how stupid it sounds. Yes, even a "cursed" child who killed his mother deserves to be represented by a lawyer as well as a defence! Isn't that ridiculous? But that's the law.

Even in a case of murder which carries a capital punishment, if the accused plead 'guilty', the court enters a 'not guilty' plea and the prosecution is called to prove its case against the accused. ‎

5. See guts of a hardened criminal. Ok na, siddon look kawai.

6. Exactly what I've been saying, he is well in his right to sue them since they won't charge him to court. Nigerians like media trials that bring no results. Celebrating when the battle isn't won.
    Everyday story of Evans but he hasn't been charged to court because charging him will expose more secrets that people at the top don't want out. This man will walk free or die trying. Mschewwww

7. It's not his fault na when ppl including Nigerian police is still allowing him wear pressed Italian shirt and fine slippers. Feeling like a celebrity.
    Perhaps if they have treated him like the animal that he is;he won't have the audacity to do this.
    Please it's remaining Nigerians that you will sue.
    Someone that jungle justice should have wasted since.

8. Na so, like play like play this man will go unpunished...

1. This guy no fit go unpunished I swear because everything from his DNA na pure evil.

9. Why are you godsmacked. Yes right now.why hasn't this guy be charged to court since all this days. All we keep hearing is alleged statements made by him. Are we the court of law

10. Ennh na! Why are you shocked Stella? This is what happens when the people that arrested him has refused to prosecute and charge this guy to court, all they do is turn him to a singing bird releasing episodes daily.

They should charge him to court and do whatever they want with him please.

11. He should be charged to court asap

Why are they wasting time?
    Charge him to court let the judge decide.
    Enough of the media trial.

1. I totally agree with him suing them. You are supposedly innocent till proven guilty according to the law. Yes we know he did all those things but they should charge him to court. All those things he said should have been said in court not to the media. Everyday one story about him. I hate nigerian police with a passion. Charge the man to court they should allow tv crew into the court lets watch the trial instead of what they are doing now.

2. I totally agree with him suing them. You are supposedly innocent till proven guilty according to the law. Yes we know he did all those things but they should charge him to court. All those things he said should have been said in court not to the media. Everyday one story about him. I hate nigerian police with a passion. Charge the man to court they should allow tv crew into the court lets watch the trial instead of what they are doing now.

3. Dear,he is right.....wrongful detention..

Check the above section,then u will know better dear.....heebhas d right to sue dem all

MC pinky

4. Shebi that's what everyone has been clamouring for since?
      Charge him to court, no!

They are busy snapping different "Pose with 'Nigeria's Billonaire Kidnapper Evans' for the day photo" . Acting like they must keep their latest reality star with them for as long as...

I say with the way this people are going...hmmnnnn.

12. Hahahahaha..
    This is an early morning laugh!...

Who is this Olukoya lawyer deceiving him?...
    Evans lawyer ndi ofe has added another injury to your case!!...
    Chai!...
    The main drama has started!...
    I see them twisting this guy's case!...
    OMG!...Nigeria is rotten!...
    Tueh!...

13. He may win ooooo, after all I don't think he was caught red-handed and he didn't resist arrest. All these his confessions are plausibly deniable. And if the police really have something on him, they should have charged him to court. Mind you he can claim that all those confessions was done under heavy torture. And his victims can't really proof it's him because there were no facial encounter with them. The guy is a very clever kidnapper. Anyway shaa, let's watch as things unfolds.

14. Very sure right from time that,his case wl just go Like dat.

No problem, I know dis wl happen.

Wetin I know sef?

MC pinky

15. Stella it is not a joke and I love what he did. this will serve as a big lesson to NPF. they can detain a person for One year over something as trivial as a missing "boxer" , they should charge him to court Na, After all he already pleaded guilty, the time they should spend gathering evidence they were busy taking selfie with him and letting him grant interviews. 😂

16. They have to charge him to Court, why are they still keeping him in Police Custody

17. Stella he is right

18. You see, I talk am! Na so this SOB will walk away!

... Jesus is my worth!

19. All I see is
    "he prayed the court for an order compelling the respondents to immediately release him unconditionally in the absence of any offence that will warrant his being charged to court."

Wetin happen for 2006 wan happen again ooo

Heoooow!😭😭😭😭😭

1. Hahahaha Bloggie😃😄😁😃this your comment really got me laughing out loud in public like a lunatic.
      But Evans is presumed innocent until a competent court pronounces him guilty nau or?
      Apart from Evans and his wahala, how do you do darling?

2. But it's true now...
      With the way the whole thing is going, hmnnn....

Am fine sweetheart. Been a while I saw you around here or probably I haven't really been looking,due to my zip-zapping perhaps.
      Trust you are good to dear?😗😗😗

3. If this man ever taste freedom. He is gone for good.
      Have they even frozen his assets? The wife will be busy liquidating their assets right now and stashing the money in unknown places.
      Before you say jake Robinson they are out of naija and Ghana and fade into obscruity. People that will have various fake passports and identities.

4. Exactly Beds and Roses, exactly.
      He is already denying having any cash.hmnn...

20. He has not been proven guilty until them he is exercising his human rights.

When our Nija police are not serious in taking this idiot to court, why wont he ask for his rights of freedom.

Na dem sabi

21. I also hear he has very good lawyers, as in, very good.

Evans the intelligent thief, even if you are set free, God will still punish you

1. He can afford the best of lawyers.It's gonna be a long walk.

22. Thank God some people at least have sense. Why hasn't he been charged to court ? They have been using him to do tour. Since they have refused to charge him to court he has a right to charge them to court. Abi Stella if it is your country won't he have been charged to court ? So what is gobsmacking you ? You are funny o. You don't know the law but you are gobsmacked about what exactly? Him exercising his right as a person and citizen of Nigeria?

1. When I saw that her comment, I immediately opened the post so I could ask her why she's shocked as if in Germany they wouldn't have charged him since

23. Stella he's right. He's supposed to be charged to court after 2days in detention or they release him.

Nigeria police goofed. They forgot has backing from people in high places. Them don go read constitution.

He should be charged or release ASAP.

#WhenYouKnowYourRight

1. From the writeup, you'll notice he didn't say anything about being innocent but that they should charge him or free him if they have nothing to charge him with.

24. What the heck! C'mon people do the needful...

25. They are detaining him for his own safety. If he comot there..d committee of his victims' families go make sure he no go see the next 24 hours..

1. Charging him to court doesn't mean he'll be released

26. The Nigerian police force mess up, according to law they supposes to charge him to court after 24hrs of detention.

27. They should have charged him to court but they were busy doing photo shoot with him ,mtcheee

28. They don't have anything on him because Evans did not release any useful information about his gang and mode of operation.

29. Hmmmmmmm am I surprise mbanu, noo, the Nigerian police should keep taking pictures and realising words, instead of doing the needful

30. Evans drama keeps unfolding. Na wa oh.

31. Stellz, what are you gobsmacked about? Do you think it's legal to keep detaining a suspect, even if he is the vilest of all creatures, indefinitely because the police can't seem to conclude investigations? This chap ought to have been charged to court by now. That's what the Nigerian constitution prescribes, particularly @ section 35(4). Legally, he still has rights until a competent court finds him guilty. The German criminal justice system forbids illegal detention as well.

Did the police really think they would have their "circus monkey" kept indefinitely to give the impression they are working tirelessly in gathering information, especially such a high profile case? ‎The law is clear, once a suspect is apprehended and detained, the clock starts ticking. The police are expected to conclude their investigations and either charge the suspect to court or release him if there aren't sufficient evidence to support a charge. I believe they have enough to charge him with. They mustn't wait until he reveals all he knows. Charge him to court, the charge can always be amended as new information comes to light.

He is even safer in prison custody awaiting trial than in some dingy police cell. That's the thing about law and why it's sometimes referred to as "an ass", it is devoid of sentiments. It may seem oppressive at times, but the law is the law and it doesn't need "likes" to be effective.‎

1. Exactly! Let's flip this a little. If your sister is wrongfully arrested, wouldn't you want her either charged or released within 48hrs? I'm surprised at people's reaction to this story

32. Our Nigeria police should not allow same thing that happened 2006 to happen again, Evans should have been charged to court earlier

33. Stella, I'm surprised you're saying that seeing as you're living in a country where the rule of law is everything. How can you say he has guts? The problem we have in this country is blaming everything and everyone except those on the wrong. Didn't the police and the others gather evidence against him? He has allegedly confessed, weren't they supposed to follow up? They had 48hrs before they absolutely had to charge him. What did they do at that time? Get his confessions, go home and sleep only to come back for the next installment? I'm shocked at your response. If we don't follow the law or allow the law to take its course, we'll have total anarchy. Yes, he's dead wrong. Yes, he's committed atrocities. Charge him with what you have. You can always bring additional charges. Let me see if I can list out a few charges sef(I'm not a lawyer so pardon me for just listing).
    1. Kidnap 2. Money laundering 3. Identity theft or something 4. Robbery 5. Obstruction. You can add yours but the 1st two already give him years in prison if convicted and you can argue against granting him bail as he's a flight risk abi how do they say it. With just his confession and a witness(one of his victims), you can start your case. Why delay? I'm surprised the police is willing to let anything come between them and making sure this man rots in jail