Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Senate President Bukola Saraki Press Statement On The CCT Decision

Wednesday, June 14, 2017

Senate President Bukola Saraki Press Statement On The CCT Decision

Today, June 14, 2017, the Code of Conduct Tribunal sitting in Abuja discharged and acquitted me on a case of false declaration of assets, which started in September 2015. 

You would recall that at the beginning of the trial, I maintained that I will clear my name. The conclusion of this trial has vindicated my position. With the outcome of this case, our faith is renewed in our courts and our hope is restored that the judiciary in our country could indeed provide sanctuary for all those who seek justice.

I thank the Almighty Allah, the ultimate Judge and the repository of all powers. He alone has brought about this victory. I am immensely grateful to all my colleagues in the National Assembly for their abiding support. All through my trial, they demonstrated their strong conviction about the choice we all decided to make two years ago. I thank members of my family for their unflinching support. I thank all friends and supporters back home in Kwara State and across the length and breadth of our country for their prayers and their sacrifices. My gratitude also goes to all members of my legal team for their tireless efforts to ensure the cause of justice is served.

After undergoing the crucible of a tortuous trial, my vindication today calls for celebration. It is my belief however that if there should be any celebration at all, it should be a celebration of the hopes that this judgment gives us as citizens that despite all the challenges that we face as a country, we are well on our way to building a country where the innocent needs not be afraid. I therefore urge all my supporters to refrain from any unbridled triumphalism. The challenges that our country faces today are enormous and do not allow for wanton celebration. Instead, we should all reflect on the significance of this moment and what it meant for our democracy.

On a personal note, I harbour no grudge against anyone, regardless of the role they might have played in the persecution that I had endured in the last two years. I believe that If my trial had in anyway given hope to the common man that no matter the forces arraigned against him, he can still get justice in our courts, then my tribulation had not been in vain.

Once again, I thank my colleagues in the 8th Senate for standing firm. Regardless of the distraction of my trial, we have achieved more as legislators than the previous Senates. Now that this distraction is over, we can even achieve so much more. We must now proceed from here with greater vigour to deliver on the expectations of Nigerians and show that this 8th Senate can indeed play a central role in improving the quality of lives of our people.

Lastly, I thank all the gentlemen of the press for your abiding interest in this case, which I believe had contributed in no small measure in ensuring that truth and reason ultimately prevailed.

Dr. Abubakar Bukola Saraki, CON
President of the Senate

17 comments:

1. Akuko!

Your comment will be visible after approval.

1. I go like date this guy... too hot. Too intelligent. Too tall.

3. Hmmm

@NIGERIA my country when anything and everything can happen once you have @Ghana must go to exchange hands 👐

4. God's judgment is final. His chastisement of the wicked will be very severe.

5. They should also allow Evans the kidnapper give a press statement. Yeye politicians. FRESH

6. Corruption = APC. If a Politician say a court is good or call it our court. Is that court still a court?
    Judiciary has been one of the biggest problem Nigeria has

7. Well, Everything that happens in Abuja these days are jokes

8. What does these old men take us for self? Going to court with one hundred and something lawyers and lying with reckless abandon.Only in Nigeria.

9. Until we start killing people like him and his fellow elites who are holding us to hostage,9ja will never move forward. We expect the judgement after money exchange hand. My anger is wasting tax payers money chasing criminals.

10. @ anon 00.57. PREACH. Thus guy is not worthy to be Senate President. He is a disgrace to that position and his actions during the whole process was a mockery of our judicial system

11. @ anon 00.57. PREACH. Thus guy is not worthy to be Senate President. He is a disgrace to that position and his actions during the whole process was a mockery of our judicial system

12. Good for him,na them hold Naija na!

13. Jimmy Disu has given up on corruption. Saraki congrats ooo at least you fought corruption to stand still.

Now corruption can go on and on

14. Bukola saraki Alfa don work for am finish! Alfa well done sir! Keep up ur alpha work u hear? One day u wld meet ur own end like Evans! After burying life cows for bukola! U really try! God De!