Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Workers quit Kano Internal Revenue Services’ job over N35, 000 salary

Wednesday, June 21, 2017

Workers quit Kano Internal Revenue Services’ job over N35, 000 salary

Barely three months after their employment, not less than 300 of the 765 graduates engaged as revenue collectors, with the Kano Internal Revenue Services were believed to have dumped their job, due mainly to a paltry salary of N35 per month, which they described as not only poor but contrary to what was earlier promised.

According to one of the newly engaged graduates, who dumped the employment, who declined to identify himself, confided in the newsmen that the Service failed to fulfil some of the promises, made to them.

Referring to the service salary scale, he disclosed that majority of them were influenced to abandon their earlier engagement and embrace the tax generation job but only to be remunerated, with N35, 000 monthly.

Also, a source revealed that following the autonomy attained by the KIRS, the Service offered them a better salary package than what they were earning in their former firms of engagement but sadly ended up being paid N35,000 as graduates.

Contacted for reaction to the development, the KIRS Public Relations Officer, explained that the Service Executive Chairman, Sani Abubakar Dambo is out of the state for Lesser Hajj, pointing out that no one can make comments on his behalf.

Meanwhile, another source at the KIRS, also confirmed that a substantial number of those recently engaged have dumped the job, without notification.

from punch

10 comments:

1. The job is stressful, tax collection.

1. Yes, the job is stressful... But half bread is better than none

@NYSC pays Corpers #19,800 per month.. So, what are they talking about?

I know it's painful being a graduate after all the stress in school and yet, no job.. ..but This is a government trying it's best for it's citizens, why can't they jump on this lovely opportunity and jusy chill and still take the job and keep working till they get a better job

It is better to receive alert of #35k per month at month end, than not to receive any alert at all... That alone, can be frustrating.

God give us wisdom

2. Very painful. Na wa oooo how do people survive even with N100,000 as monthly pay?

3. Let's see how much Ambode wll offer lagos state govt with this is Cleaner Lagos Initiative.

4. Though its painful that they are earning such meager salary but its better than staying at home doing nothing. Our prayer is for God to elevate us. He said in his word that he would bless the work of our hands(Deu 28:12) his word didn't say he would bless us sitting idle.

5. May God show us mercy. Earning 20k as a lecturer in a tertiary institution in naija.

6. How much do you think local government level 8 graduate staff earn? Less than that. They could have managed.

7. That pay is peanuts. It's almost $150 in my currency, I make more in the entire day than these ppl make in the whole month, and I can work from home in my pajamas if I want. That money couldn't even pay my food bill for myself for the month much less transportation, and other related cost. Folks saying they should be happy and make do, how? Why can't the govt pay a livable wage so ppl can live in dignity? Most of that money is just for transportation if you don't live close enough to walk. Why go if all the money will be paid out to others and you don't see a loaf of bread each weak out of it? What's the point of having a job if it is not improving your life situation, the whole point of work is to learn and grow, including financially. Better these grads go plant vegetables and fruits to sell at the market, they would make more money and at eat well too.

8. But this is the same amount Anambra state pays level 8 workers(graduates)