Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: BIAFRA -Obasanjo Explains Why Nigerians Must Stop Nnamdi Kanu

Wednesday, July 05, 2017

BIAFRA -Obasanjo Explains Why Nigerians Must Stop Nnamdi Kanu

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo has said that Nigerians must do everything possible to stop the agitation for Biafra led by Nnamdi Kanu.

According to dailypost He stressed that failure to do so could lead to a repeat of the 1966 coup and the events that led to unprecedented bloodshed in the country.

He said this at the International Conference Centre, Abuja during the launch of the biography of late Brigadier Zakariya Maimalari on Tuesday.

According to Obasanjo, the top most lessons for Nigerians to learn from unfolding events in the country are that the nation has had enough of tragedies.

“What lesson can we learn? The lesson we can learn is that we have had enough tragedies in this country.

“So far, since 1999, it seems that we have got it right. Let us hope that we continue to get it right and learn that Nigeria has had enough of bloodshed, enough of sacrifices by those victims, that Nigeria deserves peace, unity and progress,” Obasanjo asserted.

The two-time Head of State also gave reasons for some of the decision taken by his government in his second coming as civilian president in 1999

He said he decided to retire Maimalari’s son who was the then Military Administrator of Jigawa State for certain reasons.

Obasanjo said: “I have no apology but I have explanation. It’s because it’s necessary to stop this sort of things that took the life of your father prematurely, that we had to take the decision that all those who have tasted power, that they should never have tasted, of political office that we should ease them out of the Army so that we can have an Army that is free from political aberration.”

45 comments:

1. Shut up there this old chimpanzee. Go and find your president and leave Nnamdi kanu alone. He is not your problem. Either is he the reason the country is not moving forward! Unamikot!!!

1. Kaleidoscope you have no right to insult an elderly person like that. Nigeria is a very complex country to rule and to the best of my understanding OBJ did well during his tenure. Nnamdi Kanu isn't doing the right thing at all,he is a confusionist. During the OBJ regime there was Odi massacre were soldiers were deployed to Odi if thiscever happened in the East we won't ear word. We can patiently wait for 2019 and vote this regime out instead of causing more confusing,the whole country is feeling the hardship not only one region.

2. You are a fool,stupid, I'm sure you were allowed to grow up all on your own. No proper home training, if not you won't hide behind your keyboard and call a man old enough to be your great grandfather names. I don't know why it is difficult for people to make their point without insults, mba! you have to show your lack of good parental upbringing. Foolish fool! And Stella, people like this are too many here, you need to address this.

3. Finally Obasanjo has spoken and spoken well. Kaleidoscope you are ill trained with no respect.
      Nnamdi will lead you all to blood shed and you will loose ... But guess what he will take the back route to the UK whilst all yours are gonnas. A word is enough for the wise.

4. You sound very pathetic@kaleidoscope, just pray that grow old because from all indication you won't since you are cursing out an elderly man out.
      A man that if he dies now, all the Heads Of Government will send their condolences. And guess what? He will be given a State Burial.
      Biko pray tell us kaleidoscope, who you be? How many people will remember you?
      See? You sound so dumb!

2. OBJ d wise farmer

1. There is nothing wise in what OBJ said. In as much as I don't condone what Nnamdi Kanu is doing, I cannot also condone threats of violence and bloodshed. OBJ is codedly warning Igbos (not just IPOB and Kanu) that if his (non violent) agitation for Biafra is not stopped, Igbos will be massacred in the South East. I'm appalled and surprised that, in these modern times, a so called elder statesman will make such a statement. I think it's disgraceful and shows you how backwards Nigerian leaders are in their reasoning. Nigerians may still have their political mentality stuck in the 1960s but the world has moved on. It's wishful thinking to believe that things will evolve EXACTLY as they did in 1966 if violence erupts. This violence that Nigerians have been threatening on Igbos for a long time now and on social media since 2000. This violence that some people in certain regions of Nigeria have been praying to happen so that they can have an excuse to slaughter those "ego bloated boastful ibos". So far they have been disappointed, and inspite of these Nnamdi Kanu rantings, they will still be disappointed. That Igbo massacre that you and your leaders are talking about will not happen. You can threaten all you like, but in the world we live in today, we will have to sit down and discuss how the "people of the Niger area" will move forward as a country or as a federation and repair the damaged done to us by several past short-sighted and closet bigot leaders like OBJ.

God bless the people of Niger Area

2. Seriously! Be sincere bro/sis @anon10:37 is this truly your understanding of what the old man said? Please dear, remove the hate,bitterness and tribalism in your heart,it stunts growth. Na so you for get f9 if to say na comprehension passage for exam.

3. @Anonymous 10:37: Your take on Obj is right on point and devoid of sentiments. Indeed, Obj is sending out a veiled and provocative threat out to the Igbos. Now, in this day and age, that's a no-no. According to the United Nations & African Union Charters of which Nigeria is a signatory, groups/peoples have a right to self determination as they see fit. Why shouldn't the Igbos of Nigeria have the same freedom? Na by force or what? Whatever happens, the country cannot go on forever on auto-pilot: RESTRUCTURE or let the Igbos and whatever other group/s wants to go in peace. Obj ought to be ashamed of himself for selling out Bakassi to Cameroon. Maybe, its a case of the chicken come home to roost for his atrocities against innocent peoples dispossessed of their ancestral homeland. QED@atm

4. Gbam anon 10:37

3. Nnamadi and Co hope u take this advice.

4. Nnamdi Kanu is not the problem of this country rather our so called leaders.Since independence what have they done to unite the country and move it forward? If Nigeria were to be what it was supposed to be nobody will be agitating for anything other than how to make it more progressive. You don't beat a child and stop the child not to cry

1. God bless you der for saying the truth, if our leaders did what they are supposed to do nobody will be talking about dividing the country but they choose to loot the country dry leaving the masses in abject poverty.
      Obj lack the moral justification to talk on this issue cos he is one of the major problem of this country

2. God bless you anon 08:33. Oga diri gi na mma.

5. I wounder what osibanjo and the court has not responded arrested him or do they have plans of committing genocide against the igbos?

1. Super model , Look how you are turning it around against osibajo.
      Is it osibajo causing problems now? Why not speak up against the war Kanu is so crazily spooning for. I just really really feel sorry for the igbos because if they don't stop this man there will be s terrible repeat of what happened and they will get absolutely no sympathy. For a seasoned ex military officer like obasanjo to speak up.... Hmmmmm

2. We Anambraians r strongly against that FOOL. No inferior blood of IMO or Abia can lead us . impossible, he shd carry on with his fellow FOOLs

3. We Anambraians r strongly against that FOOL. No inferior blood of IMO or Abia can lead us . impossible, he shd carry on with his fellow FOOLs

4. Anon 10:42 you do not fool anyone. You are not Igbo. You don't even have a clue about Igbo society. Who talks about superior or inferior blood Igbo land?

Ekaro o!

5. 11:53, you are wise. A lot of them making comment of confusion and pretend to be igbo when they are of the truth another tribe

6. He is right o.
    During the civil war over 3million igbos died. None was ojukwu's relatives. Kanu is a british citizen,his immediate family are abroad. If the fight starts he will take the next plane out and leave all of you hanging.
    Igbos please be wise do not allow anyone use your blood and that of your children to amass power.
    If you want to seceed from Nigeria then you all need to be united first, all of you, rich and poor and then your elite needs to stop all dealings with FG. Then you start lobbying international organisations and powerful countries.
    All these will pressure FG to allow you seceed and grant you your freedom. All these cannot be achieved in a day or even five years. These things take time

1. What fight are you talking about please?

2. 3m died not mostly in battle but starvation. Starvation because the military was bombing farmlands after blocking food from entering igbo land. They igbos didn't care when they blocked food supply, but going about to bomb lands was damn right wicked. You think same thing will happen now? Ojukwu wasn't prepared. Nnamdi is. I hope it doesn't get to war, because if it does, it wouldn't be like the last time. You can bet on that. Also give them a referendum. If that's what they want. Let them decide whether they want to stay or not. Referendum is not war. Ojukwu didn't ask for referendum. The igbos now are asking. Let people vote and majority will lead. If majority want to stay in Nigeria, then the biafra dream will be killed. If they don't want to stay, then they should leave e. It's not by force. Nigeria was not one until 1914 by Lord lugard.so it's something that can happen again. If they decide to go, let them go and suffer or enjoy whatever be the case, let it be on them..
      Enough is enough. All the whole trying to make them feel like they are not important is enough. All the wanting thank you because you are hosting them is a no. Hausa will come and say igbos are ungrateful and not thankful because they allowed them enter their lands and do business and you say it's one Nigeria?
      Yorubas will come and say leave our lands and jump into lagoon. Stop doing busines. Go back to your village. And wanting igbos to lie down and great them because they are in their supposedly land that is Nigeria and for all. So let them go. If they go there and kill their selves, it will be on them. If they prosper, it will be on them..

7. BIAFRA MUST COME TO BE BY YEAR 2130, NOT LATER.

1. Irikefe lol... No problem boo
      Please have you packed you Ghana must go ready

2. Can u pls send ur address I need ur family blood line for rituals. Ezi

8. You are right Obasanjo. My concern about this Agitation is then lives that will be lost.

Nigerians should learn from what happened in Ojukwu's time.

9. TWO DAYS AGO NNAMDI KANU VISITED PROF. NWABUEZE. HE WENT THERE WITH HIS WIFE BUT THE UNINFORMED WARMONGERS KEEP SAYING HIS FAMILY IS IN THE UK.
    OBASANJO AND THE NIGERIAN ELITE ARE THE WARMONGERS NOT NNAMDI KANU. THEY ARE THE ONLY ONES PEDDLING THE WAR RUMOURS AND SOME UNTHINKING NIGERIANS ARE AIDING THEM BY SPREADING THE RUMOURS.
    IPOB CALLS A REFERENDUM. WHICH PART OF REFERENDUM MEANS WAR? THEY CALL FOR BOYCOTT OF ELECTIONS. DOES THAT MEAN WAR? DOES IPON HAVE A MILITARY WING? HAS IT EVER BEEN REPORTED THAT IPOB MEMBERS KILLED ANYONE? BUT WE KNOW THAT NIGERIAN SOLDIERS HAVE KILLED LOTS OF THEM FOR NO REASON.
    BOKO HARAM DECLARED A CALIPHATE, TOOK TERRITORIES, GAVE CHRISTIANS ULTIMATUM TO LEAVE THE NORTH AND THEY HAVE BEEN IMPLEMENTING THEIR THREAT BY THEIR SENSELESS KILLINGS. BUT NIGERIAN LEADERS ARE NOT SAYING THEY WANT TO START A CIVIL WAR. THEY ONLY CALLED THEM TERRORISTS.
    NOW IPOB HAS EMPLOYED WHAT IS PROBABLY THE MOST CIVILIZED AGITATION AND SOME PEOPLE ARE TALKING ABOUT WAR. THE QUESTION IS: HOW EXACTLY WILL A WAR START(GOD FORBID)? IT IS DEFINITELY NOT GOING TO BE STARTED BY IPOB. ONLY THE NIGERIAN GOVERNMENT AND ELITE CAN START THE WAR. IPOB DOES NOT IN ANY WAY CALL FOR A WAR. REFERENDUM IS A RIGHT IN INTERNATIONAL LAW. MAY BE THAT'S WHY THE NIGERIAN ELITE ARE SCARED BECAUSE IPOB FIGHTS BACK ONLY INTELLECTUALLY WHILE THE BLOOD SUCKING GOVERNMENT EXPECTS THEM TO FIGHT BACK PHYSICALLY.
    IF YOU, AS A BLOG VISITOR, KEEP TALKING ABOUT WAR YOU ARE EITHER IGNORANT OR INTENTIONALLY STARTING A WAR. IF YOU IGBO AND YOU REALLY WANT NIGERIA TO BE ONE IT IS BETTER YOU VOTE IN LIKE MANNER IN A REFERENDUM TO PROVE THAT YOU LOVE NIGERIA. OBJ AND CO. DO NOT WANT NIGERIA TO BREAK UP NOT BECAUSE THEY LOVE THE COUNTRY BUT BUT BECAUSE THEY BENEFIT FROM THE ROTTEN SYSTEM. OBJ AND CO. MAKE UP THE GENERATION THAT PUT NIGERIA IN THE HOLE IT IS NOW. IF THEY DID THE RIGHT THING NOBODY WOULD BE SUPPORTING NNAMDI KANU TODAY.

1. You couldn't have put it any better.

God bless the people of Niger Area.

2. God bless you, May your days be long @non 10:56.

#Peaceful referendum is not war#.

3. Anon 10:56 gbam gbam gbam!

10. Obj is saying the fact, if you got to listen.,,,,do

11. All those that have died because of Boko Haram that nobody knows about who is speaking for them. Ndi oshi!!!!

12. Anon 12:39 Can anybody be more objective than what you have written? 10:37 & 10:56 👏👏👏👏 Who is afraid of a referendum? Why are they afraid though? I was totally against Nnamdi Kanu. I hated his brash manner of speech. I still can't say I am in support of Nnamdi Kanu but I want a referendum. This arrangement is not working at all. One Nigeria yet I walk on eggshells in parts of the country? Let's do this now and move on or it keeps surfacing in our future.

1. I also want a referendum. Is obj saying a call for a refer and um is a call for war? Please clarify Obj.

2. I also want a referendum. Is obj saying a call for a referendum is a call for war? Please clarify Obj.

13. Anambra people have been the thorn in flesh of the igbos: ojiri nwanneya rijioo ofo n'uzo; ohuru ego juu nwanneya;onye anya ukwu; ONYE ANYA OKUU; onye anya ufuu; ohuru ego gbuo nwanneya. SABOTEURS OF THE FIRST ORDER. ANAMBRA SABO SABO, ANAMBRA SABO SABOSABO SABO SABO SABO SABO -------------------- SABO SABO(IT'S A SONG DURING THE WAR).