Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative....

Thursday, July 13, 2017

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative....

Hian!

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
GATEMAN BROUHAHA

Good day Stella, and fellow bvs,

Myself and my husband just moved to one of the north eastern states. He got a good paying job here so we had to move. Cost of living here is cheap and where we are, is very secured.

The wahala I have now is the gateman. We live in a compound of 4 flats. We occupy one. And two others are occupied as well. Only one flat is empty. The people that used to live in the compound were white expatriates that all relocated at once. And the entire house was vacant for 2years. For the two years the gateman still lived here without pay (don't know if the landlord was giving him money though).

The issue I have now is, he dosent stay at the gate. He is hardly around. He rarely washes the car or cleans the compound. The last time we asked him to clean the compound, it took him almost 2 weeks before he reluctantly did it half hazardly.

Since we came here, we have been nice to him. My husband gives him stuff, I give him food, when he is ill, I give him money for medications. This past month, my husband only paid him 60% of his salary because he didn't work well for us. Since then, he dosent even open the gate or wash the cars. Even the girl that he brought for me that assists me in the house. Because I bake and sell (the girl comes everyday except Sunday). Since then I haven't seen her for more than 1 week now. I don't know whether he was the one that asked her not to come again. And my husband said If she comes back, I shouldnt accept her.

We would have asked him to leave, but we are in a place where we know nobody and I am scared he shouldnt come and organise people to rob or kill us (you know how these people behave) Also, the other tenants are Moslems and one of them likes him while the other dosent pay him at all because according to him, he dosent have a car so the gateman dosent do any work for him.

Fellow bvs please advice on how we would tackle this matter in a diplomatic way. As it is now, hubby and I don't even need a gateman. We can manage. Do we just ignore him and keep doing our stuff ourselves or we should send him away. What of the other tenant? Pls advice. Thanks and God bless.

*Na wah this is a very dangerous dicey situation....Be careful.
Did you and your hubby employ him?if not,you cannot sack him.

Chronicles folder is empty....*shaking*..LOL

133 comments:

1. Did u employ him? U guys are flatmates jare.

Open your gate by yourself and let the car wash people do d washing.

Not enuf in it to seek advice.

2. Hilary Clinton13 July 2017 at 16:01

Poster, please be careful. Those people can be mean. Maybe you should just Ignore him. Let your husband wash his car himself, clean up your environment and open the gate for your husband when he returns. I'm not sure what to do as par paying him. Hmmm

3. Hadey.Thank you for saving me the energy to type.Poster just ignore him and do your things yourself or hire someone to help you sometimes.Na him go tire.

4. Poster listen and listen good..if you know what is good for you and your family you better leave that aboki man alone. An average core Northerner is a very lazy man ,take it from some that has being leaving in the north for more than a decade
      They hates work with passion but like receiving salaries at the end of the months. He's just exhisting their character. Biko ingnore him, bcos if you conspire with other tennat to send him away he will not harm them bcos they're Muslims like him too but he will deal with you and your maigida. And for that maid,abeeg,free her before they will use her to poison you. Northeast is a very delicate place to live, thread with caution.

5. While I get the reason for saying you should ignore him, if a man wants to harm you, he'd do it whether he lives in your house or not. My advice is to contact his employer, lay your complaint respectfully and set your expectations. Ensure you keep your end of the bargain and watch him, if he doesn't keep his end then tell his boss to sack him or find someone else. Truth be told, your lives are at risk if you have a nonchalant gateman. The day there is problem, who will you call to help? Life is too short abeg

6. Poster better listen to intelligencia princess, majority of the northerners are very lazy and can't do more than he is doing. If you people can comfortably pay him just do that, don't forget that if anything happens, you too can't find a comfortable job in your state.

7. Hmmmmm

Others have spoken well..

I would just add, talk to your church members, I'm sure they will be able to find you a girl that stays around you that can assist in your business. That maiguard has become Baba because he'd been living as landlord for years. Ignore him.
      Wash your car outside at car wash.
      Open your gate. Don't ask him to

If he sees you don't send him, he will adjust. Hope your ignore game is top notch.

8. Oh and let me add, stop with niceties. Giving him stuff and all.

Salary only..and as agreed and contributed by other tenants. Do go over and above.

Stay on your lane. Mind your business. Don't be friendly at the same time, don't do boss. Just be!

9. Poster, pls be careful, dont even sack him, you didnt employ him. All these northerns are very wicked oh, I am sure you dont understand hausa or their language, all he would do is speak hausa to people patronizing you sef, and others around, and they would shun you. 2k a month on car wash wont hurt, thats 5h a week. Sweep the compound or carry face. On a sunday, you and your husband can gist and wash the car yourselves, he washes you pour water. This would save your lives oh. Look at bike men in lagos, if one of them hits a car, they support him without reasoning or asking what he did. You can slash his salary to half.

10. This is really half hazard ( nor vex poster, I couldn't resist). Poster be very prayerful. All tenants should have a meeting to chart the way forward. I think you can get a better gateman. If the other tenants are adamant in keeping him, just try to make sure you secure your home and mind your business. God be with you.

11. Contact the landlord to change him now.

12. So well said.

1. If u don't have a gateman won't you open the gate yourself? U didn't employ him, so don't ask him to leave so he doesn't harm u guys, remember he is s northerner nd u live in the north, so be careful. Just ignore him nd don't utter a word nd do things yourself, no let the guy plan bad for ona oo, u have to be really careful.. remember not to tell him anything like he isn't doing anything. Just silently withdraw from him peacefully nd do your things yourself like the other tenant without a car. If ona no see person ona no go do something onaself?

3. Wow! Why not complain to the landlord first since he is the one that employed him and take it from there.

1. Exactly and if that one doesn't do anything pls face your front, it's not a do or die affair, open your gate, wash your car mind your business let me see who he will ask for money at the end of the month. Mind your business let his muslim brother be taking care of him after all the last person has told you he doesn't kuku have car so find your way

2. If you don't feel safe, it doesn't matter all this advice. Have a meeting with other tenants and gauge their take. If the issue persists, employ your own gateman to make u feel safe. Preferably someone from your part of the country.

4. Let d landlord talk to him or u guys set up a meeting.
    Or get someone new if he won't do his duties.
    Very risky situation o
    Not good to enter wahala with aboki as a stranger,make dem no use u do suya.

5. If the man's work is "to keep the gate" how is he the compound cleaner and car washer? Madam are you sure you are not manufacturing extra work for this sickly man? Must he wash your car? Must a girl come in to assist you? Why not manage your home and ignore what goes on outside?

1. God bless you. You spoke my mind(abi na wrote).

2. Toor shikena. She come dey talk rubbish. Na Una employ am ba? Za m mareki! Besides, why did you have to mention the other tenants? What's our business with the religion of one? Ba ankali, wallahi. Carry your yanga and get out. Come and try that shit in Lagos whether then no go gather hand flog you and your husband. Ewu!

3. No mind am. When does gateman turn to car washer? Did u employ him?

4. Nigerians and their stupid behaviour, like say na u employ am, he should wash ur car as the madam that u are, no let d guy wound ona oo. So U live to tell d story

5. I was going to ask too. Is gateman your a car wash man and cleaner? You employers are the cause of your problems at times. You employ nannies and turn them to househelp and expect them to do everything and beat them on top. You have gone to north with same mindset and caused trouble for yourself. Sleep with one eye open o if you wish to continue living in dt house and pray there is no unrest ever.

6. An average Nigerian that will turn a gate man to houseboy, errand boy, car washer and cleaner. What's his business with sweeping the compound and washing cars? Can you not pay someone every week to do that? The problem here is that your neighbours don't care so it seems like you and your husband are feeling the impact the most.

7. Y'all that want to crucify poster, I am aware that that is the agreement in some places.

6. Was he told at onset that his work include washing the cars, cleaning the environment couple with security guard? Well, I will advise you let him be, but be very careful o

1. Me too I taya o, they never told him his job requirement, so why would he clean get all those any work people to clean the compound once a week, his job is at the gate not doing extra work

7. This is security risk. Be very careful. His full salary should be paid pls. If you are not pleased with him, discuss your concerns with the Landlord. Don't forget you are in the north, and he's most likely a Northerner I'm sure.

Pls and pls be very watchful!

Good luck.

8. Madam read proverbs 31 and learn from the "virtuous woman" how to manage your home without incurring external aggressors.

9. He is your gate man not your nwa boy or car washer.

Treat him as a gateman and stop attaching emotions to his ducks brain will reformat when you take him solely as a gateman and not fend for his extra gate activities

10. Please be very careful as u already know how dangerous these people can be.
    Talk to the agent or landlord that owns or manage the house to know what can be done.
    I personally think you should let him open only the gate while u use a car wash to wash your cars. Get someone to clean the general areas of the compound on a weekly basis.

11. The safest thing to do is to keep dashing him his full salary till you find a new place to rent. Failure to do so, you're royally screwed. This is not the time to be diplomatic or something, just think about your safety first and leave that house as soon as you can afford a new place.
    I know what I'm saying o!

1. Poster best advice. Is he your driver ? Did you employ him ? Don't be a victim of foolishness. Please pay the man every month unfailingly 100% and start looking for a new house if you love your life and that of your household. I hope he is not from Niger republic.

12. 1. You're a tenant and you're doing what you do for him out of goodwill not obligation.
    2. You met him there and you don't have a contract whether verbal or written with him to guard your home or property.
    What you and your husband should do is to take this case to the landlord. His relationship with other tenants is none of your business. If your car needs to be washed, try the car wash men. My gateman here in Lagos doesn't wash my car and I pay him monthly. He opens the gate though and that is as far as our relationship goes. Don't get too family with these people.
    If you people need a gateman desperately, then schedule a meeting with the landlord with other tenants involved and find a resolve either to pay him as a salary earning gateman with his duties clearly stated or he leaves, so you people can get someone else to do the job in his place.
    I'm surprised he doesn't have an handiwork because most gateman either do something on the side like sell provisions or shoemaking as added Income.

13. I will just read comment on this

1. My dear just ignore d guy! Just pay him and completely ignore him!dats hw my securityman does to me too! In a compound of 6 flats,my gateman only washes our cars according to his moods! Sometimes he greets u,sometimes he doesn't! Wen I even send him on errands,he boldly tells me dat he can't go for d errands I send him!to open gate nko? He opens wen he likes!me I just open d gate on my own most times!me I no get time for d papa wahala! Last wk I told him to hlp me bring my Sway water big rubber fill up,he vehemently refused! I just kukuma carried my water upstairs myself! He was thinking I won't pay him wen d month ends!as soon as d month ended I paid him!he was shocked! He cld nt belive it!only for him to tell me last wk dat if ders anytin he has done to offend me,dat I shd pls forgive me!i guess his conscience was seriously pricking him! Anyway I don free am!na him sabi!so madam free d guy abeg!u guys shd just ignore him for ur peace of mind!

2. Sure dear, the one my dad security does is even worse. The reason we ain't batting an eye is because my dad stays alone and the area is like a ghost land

14. Poster, your husband should stop paying him and you guys should do things on your own. You can't sack him...

Hausa people dey mean. Okwa ndi obi akpo.

1. so you are a tribalist chike?u and chikito fit each other.

2. Poster the work of gateman is just to open gate, close it and sweep the compound..

3. He is called Gateman for a reason. To keep the Gate. How does that translate to sweeping the compound?

4. Chike you know there was no need to generalise like that. Una nor dey hear word.

15. You guys better start looking for a new place. North East loun loun.

16. Poster you and your hubby should just ignore the gate man, he is too small to drag shoulders with you and your hubby, since you both don't need a gate man is best you stop sending him and stop paying him. The girl he brought just free her also, I hope the girl did not see your weakness and your hubby's then run her mouth with the gate man that made him disrespect you both? For now let the girl go even if she comes back, take time to get someone better. Distance yourself from that gate man biko.

17. You people should look for another house and vacate...
    Do you know why the other occupants left the house?....
    Manage him until your rent expires and then flee!..

1. Queen ,Queen I dey hail ooo... May your tenure be long on SDK blog. You almost killed me with laughter with your advice for yesterday chronicle poster. Chai, NNE ibu akpa sense.

18. Poster listen to me?Nothing go happen if you sack the mallam!You guys major problem is the fear of the unknown.
    Sack the man if you are the persons that employed him then,but if you are not, mind your business. As for the girl don't allow her to work with you again.Go to your Church,get somebody that will work with you.

1. Sexy Spermy Daddy ndi hausa bu kwa ndi obi akpo... Chetakwa na nkwucha abughi ujor.

They can't sack him

19. I dnt even understand this set up

20. So gateman dey wash cars?

1. Where I live, Yes!!and he's also responsible for keeping the compound neat.

21. Madam Please you didnt employ him so cant sack him , I beg you in the name of God..Remember where you are, very volatile and sensitive place..Just do your thing and help him the little way you can as you always do..Also speak with the landlord of the place with the other tenants and tender your complaints concerning the gateman, with what the landlord says, whatever your actions or inactions are,please be very careful and apply wisdom.

22. Nothing will make me live in the north even if the job is paying me $100k monthly!..
    God forbid bad thing!...

1. Queen and Boss aka CHIEF
      Ndi be anyi siri na "ejighi anya oma Ana ugwu hausa"
      ebuharia Egwu, ebuharia onodu

2. Hahahahahaha Chike...
      Oburo maka Ugwu awusa biko....ndi oji obara mere tea...
      Ndi Igbu madu na ato ka sugar...
      Mba oh!...

3. Kwakwakwakwakwa@chike ,you're funny. Mana umuwa jiri anyaoma were LA obodo ude ugwu.. Ayin nine amambiri lagosi.

4. Lmhhhho! @Chike 😂😂😂😂😃👍

5. Kidnappers and cocaine dealers!

23. anonymoous ddonor13 July 2017 at 15:17

You need to meet with d othher tenant and nicely agree on a pay and job description for d gateman. You both will contribute d money monthly. If na only caretaker una want, fine, pay him for tthat. Afterwards, u and flat 2 should call him and discuss ur reachings from dd meeting with him. I'll advice u guys shouldd have it in ur mind that he is a caretaker(his presence just provides security) so u dont expect much.where I live, I pay d gateman xtra to wash my car nd clean d compound. As no be I'm job. Meanwhile, don't take d girl backkk. Get a girl from ur church. Make sure u visit her atleast once to know where sshe lives

24. Pls u guys should ignore him and try to mingle with people around u.

25. You and your husband should not act alone to dismiss a gate keeper that serves the whole compound. Call a meeting of neighbors and detail all your concerns and cogent reasons why you need another gate keeper. Pray they all agree then elect one of you, preferably the tenant in good terms with him to furnish him with the collective decision for him to quit. If you fail to reach an agreement, don't press it, just keep gently presenting the matter and prodding them. They will see with both of you someday. Above all, pray against attacks from wicked and unreasonable men.

Hawk-Eyed.

26. You have to discuss with the other tenants. My sister faced something like this. She lost 5 dogs which we suspect the guy always poisoned. At a point she damned the other tenants n sent the guy away... But that wasn't in the north....lol.

Pls thread carefully, speak with your landlord and the other tenants, express our fears and if possible let them summon the guy. Worst case scenario get a help from wherever you are from, and totally ignore the gateman, Dont pay his salary as well. All the best to you.

27. Poster I suggest u and your husband speak to the other 2 tenants about your concern of having a gate man who doesn't really do his job yet he comes in and out of your house as a SECURITY RISK for all of you.

You people should try and convince them to agree to sack him collectively while your search for a new gate man.

You can try your search from your place of worship, speak to your pastor am sure he can get someone for you or recommend church members who can get you someone loyal.

You need to be diplomatic about this
    Your safety and security is important.

1. Love. EATING. Pussy are you two?

There is another Love EATING Pussy without dot at the end of every word and it's blogger picture is displaying a lady eating another lady's pussy...
      My observation tho...

28. You have to be careful. If you met him there, biko leave am.if you didn't employ him you can't sack him. If you attend church there,try make friends and familiarize with the environment. You can ask for assistance from there. Also please be civil to the gateman,don't act like you are offended,those people could be dangerous.

29. Did I see "half hazardly" in this write up?

30. If this guy is muslim, I am very afraid cos they are mean people. Now their baba dey on top they feel they can do anything and go away with it. If you must not stay in the compound, the best thing is just to leave. It's better late than be the late. Be in an environment of christians. Don't undermine what a Muslim in the north can do

1. Haba. Use your sense now! How can you classify the whole of a people who practice a religion as mean? Is that what Jesus taught you? You who run your mouth without consideration of other people's feelings, you are the one who is mean!

2. The christians in this blog are not fit to be called such. What a shame. Stella pls post.

31. xend him aware??? oya na, xend am aware... bet befur den, yhu an yhua horseband shool buy yhuasefs bulet prove vez.. or devolop wings so enithyme una wan comot, una go jost fly... cus that guy yhu menshioned up dere, wheel shorely gate bark at yhu 2..... bessed on sey nobi una emploi am, bet una wan show gra gra na e meck una faya am.

Madam, meck una leaf am abeg... dey do una tin smol smol as una fit.... una fit find smoll paddi wer fit dey epp una out sha.

#be carefool!!!. Nortinas nobi pipu to uze play for dia land.

1. Send him away??? Oya na,send am away... but before den, you and your husband should buy yourself bullet proof vest.. or develop wings so anytime una wan comot, una go just fly... because that guy you mentioned up there, will surely get back at you two.... based on say no be una employ am, but una wan show gra gra na im make una fire am.

Madam, make una leave am abeg... dey do una thing small small as una fit... una fit find small paddy wey fit dey help una out sha

#be careful!!!. Northerners no be people to use play for their land.

2. 😁😁😁😁😁😁😁. I hope you were properly employed by villager to do this job.

32. Your husband should start washing his car by himself. And once u guys r indoor, lock your doors.

As for the compound, get cleaners to come once a week to clean it and u pay them.

Avoid problems

33. how come nobody is talking about what is really wrong in this post? he is a GATEMAN! How come it's his responsibility to clean your car and the compound? If you need someone to clean the compound, then u will have to employ a cleaner. If you need someone to clean your car either u employ a driver or u wash your car yourself. his job is to open and close the gate and watch over the compound. that's all. Nigerians can use people sha!

1. Seriously if possible they will use your destiny. Madam he's your gate man not house boy, You have no right to sack him if you were not the one that employed him in the first place.
      Speak to the your co-tenat about it then talk to your landlord whatever you guys decide to do
      Be very careful my sister o you in the north those people are very very deep.
      Most of them have cow brain

2. Seriously if possible they will use your destiny. Madam he's your gate man not house boy, You have no right to sack him if you were not the one that employed him in the first place.
      Speak to the your co-tenat about it then talk to your landlord whatever you guys decide to do
      Be very careful my sister o you in the north those people are very very deep.
      Most of them have cow brain

3. Some gatemen are employed for multi purposes sir. Dont start shouting on topics you know nothing about.

4. I am the poster. We never imposed washing car on him. When we came initially, he started washing it so we felt it was part of the job. As for d compound, we just asked him once to clean it. Its not an everyday thing. Going by the way we give him stuff, can't he help out? And he never ever stays at the gate. He leaves it open and leaves the house. We noticed like a week to month end, he will start washing car 3times a day and staying by the gate. No body is a fool. We don't have such money to throwaway. Now he washes the other guy's car and dosent wash ours. Well we have decided to do our stuff ourselves and act like he dosent exist

5. Thank you Anon 15:42. Madam what is with the entitlement attitude! He is a gateman - GATE MAN!anything apart from opening and closing the gate and providing security is out of his job description... So you must tip or add to his salary not withhold or pay 60%. And if that doesn't go well with you...after your rent is due...pack out. Stop this Oga madam attitude!

6. Poster you are very high on cheap drugs, I know this kind of people, imagine your thought because the nice guy helped u to wash your car you thought it was his job... Can u imagine this rubbish, just like I help me neighborhood to open the gate then she will think it's my job,smh. you are very wicked person you gave stuffs because u want him to be your slave and the wise guy is saying dawn your fucking stuff, I rather be hunger than being your slave. Madam you are looking for trouble, stay on your own and leave the poor guy alone. Stop treating your fellow human being like nothing. I will do same thing to you of I were the gate man..... F.. K you and your f..king paying job

7. You don't need to be rude in stating your opinion.

34. Please be very careful, that was how a gateman (aboki) that was rejected killed PHD holder in Bayelsa some years back. Infact, including her mother and even raped their corpses. Story long

1. Anon15:48 korom akuko maka otokoto hotel!!! What? Things are really happening.

2. Are u reading this poster?do not verbally approach the gateman

35. Pay the guy his full salary evenif he does nothing, while at that, start looking for another house.

36. Gatemen don't wash cars or sweep compounds. You're giving the guy jobs outside of his job discription,that's why he's giving you attitude,you get mind o.

1. No mind d mumu woman

2. Don't say what you don't know. Gatemen wash cars and clean the compound, most times, especially in compounds with flats. They know they stand to gain more from the tenants if they go over and above

3. You Anon are saying want you don't know. If the Gateman is doing all that, it is based on his discretion..because he wants to. Not because it is his job description (unless contracted otherwise from the onset). You contradicted yourself by saying gatemen stand to gain more from tenants if they go over and above.

37. Let me get this, you wrote in to seek advice on how to deal with your gateman? Madam are you really this jobless? Do you also need advice on whether to wipe your ass twice or thrice? Some of y'all posters need to grow the hell up and actually put your brains to work. SDK thank you for wasting 40 seconds of my life I'd never get back again, mstchewww

38. If you meet with the other tenants, this gateman will know it's your idea and it can backfire. It's not the gateman's job to wash cars however most gatemen do this without a flinch. You are in the north, be careful about their rage. Secondly, those people don't like feeling used without 'proper' compensation. Those expatriates that left are his yardstick for 'proper' and that shouldn't be your biz. So I will suggest you go to the landlord to reach an agreement that the gateman should no longer serve you *because you can't afford it for now* Give him a bright smile in the compound and mind your business going forward.
    Unless you would rather move out, then you need not go to the landlord.

MrsBee

39. Most he wash your car? Keep looking for problem where there is none. You have no problem with that mana and stop playing or give him anything. Let you or your husband was his car or go to car wash to wash his car and for the gate opening if you are always at home open gate for husband when he is around or open it by him self if he is around, for house help talk to your church member to assist you with someone that can work for you. Period.

40. What are you people saying?...
    Most of you here talking nonsense don't have a gateman in your houses...
    My gateman and other people's gatemen wash cars,on generators,go for errands and clean up the compound...
    You can't live in my house for free,eat my food,pay you 30k on top just to open and close gate...
    For what nah??...

1. So u mean the gate should wash the 3 tenants car, run errand for the three families etc stop exhibiting foolishness. Huh u didn't read the post, u just waited for people to comment then u will spew rubbish,

2. Abeg leave those people! Even when you send in a story without loopholes, they find something to say. Meanwhile their type are the ones that open bum bum for domestic staff to clean. I no blame them, i blame the poster for not figuring out a solution to a minor domestic issue. *hiss* Poster is even denying as if what she's saying is not common practice in Nigeria. Why would I employ someone to open gate for me ONLY? What will he do for the rest of the day? Sleep and eat my food and live rent free? If you live in your own compound sef it won't be dirty so he has nothing to sweep especially when it's paved with interlocking stones. So what else would he be doing in 24 hours? *major hiss*

3. Our own dey go buy foodstuff sef. It just depends on the salary and the way u relate to them.

4. Thank you Oh. People who have never lived in a house with gatemen be talking about issues they know nothing about. It is all implied as the gatemen all know it. Its part of the job

5. We had two gate men who double as security men. One for the day the other for night. They have a roster between themselves. We also had a gardener who comes daily to clean the compound and trim the hedges. And yes, we gave them food and stuff. So you see, it's different strokes for different folks. That your gatemen go the extra mile for you doesn't make it the norm. Except it's spelt it in the contract or at the beginning, they are not obliged to do those extras. What if you use security men from security companies as gatemen? They only guard the gate and the house, doesn't stop you from feeding them or giving them freebies. Life is a pot of beans, we should learn to treat people the way we would love to be treated in whatever situation we find ourselves.

41. Madam you guys didn't employ him. You met him there.
    He is called a gateman and not a car wash man or cleaner.
    You give him food and gave him money for his medication as you claimed,not out of goodwill but for him to be doing nwa boy work for you. You don't need to say it,I know that you and your husband give him your dirty and house chores job to do.
    Most people look down on this aboki or mallam as they call them,and see them as less of a human which you have already done in your mind. You are feeling slighted that because of the one or two occasion you gave him food,he doesn't answer to your every whim. He is simply tired madam. These people are very dedicated to their job and employer.
    They are humans and as such need rest sometimes. He might stroll out to buy something. It's impossible for him to be stationed at the gate 24hrs,so madam you can open the gate sometimes yourself.
    Are the other tenants complaining?
    If you want your car washed and compound swept...make private arrangement for that or call a meeting with the landlord and other tenants to know if it's stipulated in his job responsibilities.

1. Thank you Omasiri. Your comment sums it up. Would you like to be treated the way most people treat these people were the table reversed? They're human too you know.

42. Madam busy body why don't you just mind your home and forget about the gate man,is he your house boy that you want him to wash your car and sweep the compound?one thing I know about dis people is dat if u don't treat them well they give the same shit.so don't come here and act as if you are all nice.mind your home I still wonder why the girl helping you left what did you do to her?Am sure u almost finished her with work

43. This is exactly what we are facing in my compound just that ours is 6flats and we are in Abuja. babe ignore that guy and go about your normal work oh.

1. Co-tenants too can be frustrating! Some are so dirty that they make the cleaning job a huge task.

44. Hian, you people are afraid of mallam. You really must be peace makers. God bless you people.

Me I know myself, I for don pursue the idiot long ago and nothing go appen.

45. 1)Find out if he's been paid by the Landlord and his job description. If his JD doesn't include washing the car and cleaning the compound then increase his pay and explain his JD to him.

2) It's possible he's angry a tenant is not paying him and you expect him to clean the compound which is not fair.So you all should be in agreement as to his fees and JD..(The other tenant shouldn't becos he doesn't have a car and decide not to pay the guy .If not anything everyone will benefit from a clean surrounding and guarding the compound.

I used to think the work of a gate man is just to open gate till I visited my aunt in PH.The JD of the gate man includes:

-Opening of gate.
    -pumping water.
    -washing cars.
    -cleaning the compound
    -Turning on/off of generator. (In their compound everyone's genset is in a generator house ) so the gate man manages their gen.

His role was clearly stated to him.Dont fight your gate man oooo.Wisdom sure pass!

46. People saying that washing cars and sweeping the compound is beyond his job description should chill. Job description is usually agreed at the point of employment, so even though u call someone a 'gateman', he may have been told abinitio to do these things.
    Poster, I suggest you find out from the landlord what his job description really is, if only to man the gate, then stop sending him on errands. Also u may want to stop your niceties (giving him food, medicine and co) as ordinarily, these should have been motivation for him to do extra work for u people but he has made his stand clear, he doesn't want to do anything extra for you so don't do anything extra for him. Handle your extra tasks yourself.
    On another note, I must say that the tenants' relationship with the gateman is kinda funny, how come one of the tenants do not pay him? All tenants are supposed to pay the gate man whether they have a car or not, supposedly he provides security for all and prevents unwanted elements from coming into the compound. Oh well, what can I say? Just don't understand this ability to choose whether to pay or not, was this guy really employed by the landlord?

47. It's actually "haphazard" instead of half hazard
    We learn everyday

1. What school did you go that you didn't know that?

Smh

48. We r getin it wrong...

*he is a gate man..yes

*is he a car washer..no

*why pay 60% if his salary?

Madam,the best thing u can do is,speak to the Landlord and never try to instigate him to send him away cuz dis pple will Neva go against each other n if you try it,,then u are in for problem (Komi falafala)

Discuss with d Landlord n make him understand that u need d cooperation of the gateman then from that moment, u guyz should start looking for another apartment so u can move immediately ur payment is due.

I know dis pple,they don't forgive easily n they don't forget issues easily.be brave.

Remember,ur point, dia is a Muslim man who likes d gateman but doesn't pay him cuz he has no car,even if he has a car,it wl b washed free of charge..

They help one another n are not ready to compromise d love that exist between them

MC pinky

49. Washing the car isn't a job description for the gate man unless that was agreed upon. His duty is to guard the gate. Now the only problem I see, is him not being at the duty post. You can take it up with one of the tenants and ask them to talk to him stylishly without mentioning you.

50. Poster......you better tread carefully because you're in his domain. And moreover, you met him there. Report him to the landlord if you can but don't make any attempt at sacking him.
    You can continue to pay him what you can with the other tenant but don't show your annoyance before because all this hausa get angry easily and can attack once at the slightest chance.
    I still maintain that your hubby report him to your landlord and he should explain to him all the work he's suppose to be doing in the compound..........
    Please, don't allow a gateman issue turn you to a nag ohhhhhh. Enjoy your stay there and come back in one piece my dear

51. Nigerian people and boundaries issues be like 5 & 6

They don't know how not strech and push it far with relationships with others. How can your gateman be the agent for organizing maid service for u? At the same time wash ur vehicles etc? And yet u & ur husband don't pay him his due salary?

Please madam, respect boundaries & be careful how u treat others in a work environment. Also keep boundaries in every personal relationship to avoid abuse & exploitation which can turn into big disaster or even bring attacks on u.

52. Whatever the agreement between you all was as at the time u moved in, stick with it. What were the duties assigned to the gateman and what was the agreed salary. Do not go stirring up further animosity by trying to ease out ur gateman. The info will definitely get to him. As it is, u don't know what's going on in his mind. Just be looking out for a better place and keep praying for God's guidance and protection.

53. Gate men wash cars too! Tho not everyday mayb 2 or 3 times in a week. I also live in one of d north east states, poster which state u dey?

54. I dunno what y'all are saying...it is part of a gateman's duty to clean the premises, maintain flower beds within the compound and by the fence outside the compound, wash cars, open gate, put on/ off the generator, pump water whenever there is light and run little little errands like buy matches at the junction...all the gatemen I ve employed always do these things...they re like handyman...For God's sake I provide them a comfortable room with a nice kitchen, toilet and bathroom...room with nice curtains, a ceiling fan plus standing industrial fan, mattress with pillow, television, DVD player, stove, pots, plates and cutlery...I provide him with free water and pay his light bills...he only needs to come with his bag of clothes and shoes...and then pple expect that after being given so much, all he should do is open gate and then earn 20,000 every month??? SMH...how much do minders/caregivers in nursery schools earn? yet they pay transport and house rent and light bill and water bill etc from their salary...come off it, gatemen are privileged workers and to whom much is given, much is expected.

Madam Poster, the worst mistake You made was to employ a girl brought by ur gateman...pls don't repeat that mistake. Pple don't even allow their maids to interact wt gateman cos if they form an alliance, they can easily deal with u, from petty stuffs like moving ur foodstuffs from the house to gate house to giving out information abt when u have money etc. It is dangerous and a security risk to take a maid brought by a gateman...already u ve seen that he influences her to work for u when he is happy wt u and to abscond when he isn't happy...if they want to kill u, that is how she will open the back door for him to enter and dagger u down. it's a no-no pls.

That ur gateman is so full of himself and there must be more to his occupation than being a gateman after all he stayed for 2 yrs wtout active salary when he could have easily found somewhere else to be...so the earlier u stop regarding him as a gateman the better for u...don't even go discuss his termination with landlord cos landlord will tell him and he can plan you.

What u shd do is save money to move out to another house when ur rent expires and for the mean time, clean ur surroundings yourself and pretend he is not there...if he wakes up and decides to clean, fine! don't stop him either when he wants to do that...tell ur husband to pay his salary 100% whether u pple are satisfied with his performance or not. ( A man's wealth is the ransom for his life, na so Bible talk am).

Remember, u are still new in town and the heart of man is desperately wicked. Worse, when that man is an aboki...Peace!!!

1. I say leave all these people picking loopholes. My dad's gateman is now his driver, due to his over handiness. We have employed another one who is even more handy than that one was. They even pound yam. The only thing they don't do is wash clothes or clean inside the house or cook. I ask again: WHAT WOULD HE BE DOING IN 24 HOURS? JUST OPENING GATE AND CLOSING IT? Collecting 25-30k? Let him go and rent self contain in lekki and eat three square meals everyday by himself.... oshisco! Ifa hear say e no wash my car for morning or trim flowers or make units finish for my meter without him telling me. You will tell me if you came to lagos to come and get fat for nothing in my house. Na charity?
      Poster move out TO YOUR OWN COMPOUND. Me I find it difficult living with other people cos its just not what I'm used to plus co-tenants can be a headache esp when they at dirty. If at all, let them be neat or let there be a caretaker who steadily cleans. If you have a family start maintaining your privacy by staying in a gated house, no matter how small. Could be a bungalow sef...No be all these sharing of space and discomfort.

2. She DID NOT EMPLOY HIM!!!!
      HE WAS EMPLOYED BY THE COMPANY and if it is not part of his daily duties,why should he do it?
      He was not paid for 2 years! You think he will be happy?
      Madam poster, you know where you are living, you better borrow sense and readjust your thinking and mind your damn business!!!

55. Just do your things yourself,open your gate and clean the environment.
    My story on gateman issue is long, I would have shared it.
    Neighbors even collided with my gateman not to greet us when we arrived and even with my big bum (pregnancy) then, if he sees me with heavy loads he would just pass by or pretended not to see me.😂😂😂 but you know what?my husband dealt with him in a very calm way that he begged and became our good friend telling my husband what the other tenants have said about us. Those ones became his enemies and sent him away last last....the story is long jare

56. Report the case to your agent or landlord, those people are something else pls.

57. The work of a Gate Man is too open the gate and close it anytime someone is passing through, it does not include washing of cars or cleaning the compound . This your chronicle is very annoying. Take your car to the car-wash and get a cleaner to clean your compound.

I hate tenants who use the Gate Men for other domestic chores.

58. Chike weldone oo. Yorubas are betrayals while Hausas are animals. I guess only your tribesmen are saints. I noticed you have shifted your bigotry to the Hausas eversince a Yoruba bv gave you 50k. I am very sure you have never set your foot on any Northern state but you condemn them based on hearsay. Jisike ooo. I wonder of this Northerners y'all are condemning are thesame people i have been staying with for the past 3years.I have visited the Eastern states on severaly and the few people I interacted with are not half as nice as The Hausas i have come across. Does that give me the right to say Igbos are wicked? No. Because I have not met 0.0001% of Igbos so I cant draw conclusions. Y'all learn to be objective.
    That said, madam poster take things easy. See how quickly you pointed out that the other tenant the gateman is close is a muslim? simply shows you have concluded they might conspire to hurt you because you are not a muslim. That is not so. They tend to be close because an average muslim shows high regard for his fellow muslim wether he is an employee or not. One thing we christians lack. Washing of cars and cleaning of compound might not be among the job discriptions of the gateman. Most of you "big" men are arrogant when dealing with your subordinates and an average Hausa man will not take that lying low especially in his own place. Calmly relieve him of his duties since you can do the work yourslef or betterstill let your hubby resign from the job and relocate to your village where he wont have to be scared of "ndi obi akpo" coming to turn you to suya.

Y' all stop condemning the Hausas because of some bad eggs among them. And No, I am not Hausa neither am I a muslim

59. He is a gatemen. Not your cleaner. House boy, Errand boy. Or a car washer. You all are looking for who to enslave. Good thing he did not answer you. If you want someone to clean the compound, get a cleaner!

60. He is a gatemen. Not your cleaner. House boy, Errand boy. Or a car washer. You all are looking for who to enslave. Good thing he did not answer you. If you want someone to clean the compound, get a cleaner!

61. I really don't understand what all of you are saying.The job description for most gate men is washing of cars and keeping the compound neat. We had one exactly like what the poster described so full of himself and arrogant.He is from the Northern part of Nigeria although we are based in Ph. He was warned severally and eventually fired.We have a new one and he is very good and kind does his job very well so is up to up to continue with his rubbish services and he earns salary.