Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Doctors Seek Law Regulating Skin Bleaching In Nigeria

Monday, July 03, 2017

Doctors Seek Law Regulating Skin Bleaching In Nigeria

Medical doctors under the aegis of the Nigerian Association of Dermatologists, say they have begun the process of meeting with some lawmakers at the National Assembly in order to formulate laws that will regulate the manufacture and use of bleaching cream.

The Chairman of the Abuja Dermatology Society, Dr. Mohammed Danmallam, who spoke on behalf of NAD, said this during a press conference held in commemoration of the World Skin Health Day in Abuja on Thursday.

Speaking on the theme, ‘Skin Conditions: Early Presentation Prevents Complications’, Danmallam said some countries had been able to ban hydroquinone, which is used in the production of bleaching cream.

He added that in the United States, the use of hydroquinone was heavily regulated but in Nigeria, bleaching agents were abused due to weak regulation of prescription medicine.

The chairman added, “Countries of the world have banned a lot of substances for example, hydroquinone which is the most abused chemical component used in bleaching the skin. It is banned in Europe.

“About two per cent of its use was the limit but now it has been banned completely. It is still allowed in the United States but only based on prescription. Unfortunately, we live in a country where everything is prescription-free.

“As dermatologists, there are conditions we treat. We treat blemishes but we know the dosage, the side effects and when to stop but in our environment, people go out of their way to use it in a manner that is not seen anywhere in the world.”

The chairman said there was no difference between skin toning and bleaching as they both made the skin susceptible to infection.

He explained that when people bleach, they kill off matured cells and leave baby cells at the top layer of the skin which are not strong enough to protect the body from infection especially skin cancer.

Danmallam added, “Imagine leaving your house in the hands of your five-year-old child. Of course, you know there will be chaos. So, this is particularly what happens and this corrosive agent changes the architecture of your skin completely. That is exactly what happens and that is where the problem starts and at some point, it becomes irreversible and the defense mechanism of the skin has becomes useless.”

He urged Nigerians to stop self-medication, adding that they should seek the help of a dermatologist whenever they*have problems.

The chairman said that lateness in reporting skin conditions could lead to irreparable damage.

from punch

*GBEGE!!!!!

45 comments:

1. Stop spoiling markets for Kudi and co them

1. Hmmmm....is it the same kudi in Ajao estate?

2. What I do with my body should not be any body's business.They should get busy jo

2. Ain't that the truth.

I don't know how people live with not loving themselves enough not to let chemicals near their skin. Una dey try, walahi.

3. Good, but bobrisky and Co. will cry ooo. I love my dark skin. I maintain it with coconut oil and olive oil, or I use Avon moisturizer. oh u need to see my skin, so proud of it.

1. Omo nobody cares, like I saw your comment on instablog naija too. Stop looking for validation from strangers, nobody gives a f**k about you. If you like use kuli kuli oil on your skin, it will still not help your extremely low self esteem.

2. I don't think you are proud of it. Because you have left the same comment in the other post. I'm sure you are one of those that come and say I'm black skin and need something to tone a little.

But really, from your comment, you aren't proud. Don't bother coming for me. I'm yellow and loving it. Oh and without the help of anything. Some of us were born this way 😄😄

3. Coconut oil is bae! I make mine myself and it makes my skin glow and my usual cream (Ellen beauty) can now last for a whole year cos i hardly use it. I am naturally light skinned but coconut oil is the best for me, very light and smells nice. I add a little shea butter to it.

4. Will u keep kwayet!!!

5. I read a lot of foreign blogs and news, and a typical response to this would have been, 'cool', lovely, how do you go about it, care to drop tips etc... But this is Naija, insult is like a second skin here

4. No be small gbege. This one cant fit work here o! Many babes will go on a serious protest. Kikikiki!

5. Issoria bvs please what is the best solution for sunburn.i useE45 cream and extract soap.

6. Let me remind this people why Nigerian women bleach more.
    1. When you go to these other countries and see that they don't have bleaching creams. It is because they have better weather/environment than us. They didn't just wake up and say 'no hydroquinone' they put measures down to ensure that you don't see the need. Before you come and read a speech out as if the bleaching is without reason, do a root cause analysis. Ask women why they bleach!! Our environment is very bad for the skin, just travel for one week and see. That's why when someone starts 'chopping' money in Nigeria you know. Cos once you don't belong to a certain social class, your skin can't be fine. Hot sun, dust, air pollution, Co2 emission, bad water, etc.

2. My cousin is a dermatologist. I know how much she charges. Infact, She has moved to England cos patronage was low. Do you blame her? In the U.K. There's NHS so everyone has access to see a good doctor for various conditions. Patients are happy, doctors are happy. The system is working. Nigeria, if you never chop belle full how you wan worry about dermatologist?? When we still battle with malaria.

If bleaching is becoming an issue they should give us long lasting solutions. Like asking Government to employ dermatologists so people can get the right information about good skincare practices without paying through their nose. At least let there be free consultation let them now worry about having money to get the prescribed products.

Abeg I don't support bleaching but Who wan worwor?

1. 👏👏👏, you have said it all Chikito. Women use such stuff most times because there are hardly any alternatives, and how many can afford a dermatologist? Lmao! As long as the problems remain the use of such substances will continue.

2. Exactly. Tackle the problem and why people do it before going on a banning spree. Your last lone though. Nobody wan worwor my sista 😂😂

3. U'v just stated my views.

7. Some people don't know how to use cream, they want one week action fast fast. Real toning takes months while bleaching is two weeks. Ladies beware

8. They should go sit down somewhere. They just want to monopolize the bleaching business. It's a lucrative biz from all angles and the are seeking to monopolize it. Even here in the states, you don't need Dr's anything buy bleaching cream. No I'm not a bleacher but leave people alone with their choices, mbok.

9. Hehe if you are a bleacher hear this 😁😁😁

10. No be small bad market for akerele and randle skin care people

11. Abeg bleachers continued like bobrisky

12. You people will not find how to provide better and affordable medical care Tp citizens,find Baddo boys and arrest them,resolve recession so that people can have food to eat and find employment,there's alot to keep the government busy,leave us bleachers alone biko,it's our choice,our skin,our lives,our money we use to buy the expensive whitening toners.somebody can not bleach in peace again,is it your bleaching!!!

13. So this is their problem?...
    Instead of doing something about the fake drugs circulating all over the country,putting lives in danger,they are here talking rubbish!...
    I'm not a fan of bleaching cream infact I hate it with a passion but what's their business with people bleaching their skin?...
    Mtcheeewwww...
    Rubbish!!...

14. Stella I hope Danmallam paid you for this advert you just did for him. Because his clinic in Abuja is very expensive, I remember when I took my daughter there cos she had rashes the bill was something else.

15. Stella I hope Danmallam paid you for this advert you just did for him. Because his clinic in Abuja is very expensive, I remember when I took my daughter there cos she had rashes the bill was something else.

16. I wonder how people using bleaching cream cope with the wahala. Na wa!

This reminds me of my roomie who ran into the hostel like someone was chasing her, I asked what the matter was and she said the hash sun (I schooled in the north) was making her skin burn like hot oil was poured on her, she was reacting to the cream she used. Hehehehe😀😀😀

1. 😂😂😂 you don't mean it!! I wonder how the cream was. Choi

17. They should also sit on NAFDAC and SON's behind to check the quality of products produced or imported here. I use cussons baby lotion and pears oil. The last ones I bought(I usually buy both at same time) lightened my skin and I didn't find it funny one bit. I'm using baby oil and lotion because I believe nothing damaging is put in there and see no reason why it should darken or lighten.

18. Who uses hydroquinone or mimi white aka mecury,when there's arbutin, There's mulberry,bearberry extracts, powerful n natural lighteners.

1. The problem as I see it, is from the manufacturers' end. On the box or container they would put Bearberry, arbutin etc, but a lot of them contain high and harmful amounts of steroids, mercury, hydroquinone etc, which are not listed. Hydroquinone use can be safe if regulated and used properly. So my advice is for NAFDAC and other agencies to better regulate the content of both locally made products and imported products (some see Nigeria as a dumping ground for substandard products).

19. So good. Inferiority complex is affecting some people

1. You have no idea. Some people actually need these products.

20. I'm dark and I love my skin like that,the only problem I have is dark eye circle...not dat I'm old o,most times I see my mates and people older than me looking younger.Pls house is there anything you know I can use to remove it?Tanx in anticipation

1. So you see, you too need to bleach, if only a little, hehehehehe...

21. Nigeria and misplaced priorities. Chanel your energy into the repair of the presidents ear and his health and all that's wrong with the economy.
    If we want to start ban, we would not finish with all the laws & bill that need to be passed.

22. Dear doctors, what are y'all doing about the fake drugs killing Nigerians? #misplacedpriority.

23. I still don't know why people bleach though...they give excuses of not been comfortable in their skin,peer pressure or cos your partner is complaining.
    No sane person will deny not knowing the damages or the after effect of such action.
    Anyways you get to dance to the tune alone when the time comes.