Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EvansGATE-l Lawyer Explains Why He Decided To Defend Him....

Sunday, July 02, 2017

EvansGATE-l Lawyer Explains Why He Decided To Defend Him....

Lagos-based lawyer, Olukoya Ogungbeje, who has been hired by billionaire kidnapper Chukwudubem Onwuamadike, a.k.a Evans has justified his decision to defend suspected billionaire criminal in court.

The lawyer has come under public bashing for deciding to stand for Evans.

But, speaking with Sun, Ogungbeje, accused a section of the media, as well as many Nigerians of being ignorant of the law.

He noted that it was settled in law that “no matter the bases of the complaints of the cause of your crime, no matter how unpopular is the cause of your crime, no matter how bad is the cause of your crime, the legal practitioner has a duty to take up the cause, if he’s properly briefed and provided that person represents his client within the bounds of law.

“That is my answer to your question. So, no matter the public opinion, I have the responsibility to take up the matter. We were properly briefed. So, our action is based on law.

“And we want to represent our client within the bounds of law, within the confines of law.

“So, if you for instance, you’re a journalist, if you brief me you don’t want me to take up your cause, because people are saying negative things about you, or because people have condemned you and found you guilty before the media, that I should not take up your case?

“Look, let me tell you right away. We were briefed two weeks ago. And I told them to give me two weeks to think, whether I would take up the brief or not. I did my consultations.

“We consulted even journalists, you can go and make enquiries. I consulted my people. I consulted senior lawyers. So, have I done what is wrong by taking the cause of my clients? Forget what people say in the court of public of opinion.”

from dailypost

14 comments:

1. CrazyHornyWife2 July 2017 at 07:36

No matter ones crime,you are entitled to a lawyer!!! Shikena

2. "I told them to give me 2 weeks"
    Who are the them?
    Hmmmm

3. "I told them to give me 2 weeks"
    Who are the them?
    Hmmmm

4. Yinmu,after all you'll be heavily paid.oga,it is for the money and not the story you wrote up there .

1. No he took it because Evans na him mama brother wey him papa senior! Did he go to law school to be jobless and hungry? In as much as everyone deserves legal representation, pecuniary gains are part of why everyone does any job

2. This man is a criminal too. The reason he was contacted.

5. I'd not blame him for taking the case, if he hadn't taken it, another lawyer would, there will always be a lawyer to defend somebody, anybody no matter what the person does, if there's no lawyer to defend the person, the government would provide one. That's the law.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

6. He's done nothing wrong actually.

7. This lawyer is on a hot seat. Kikiki! Wareva!

8. Clap for yourself Mr lawyer, thanks to this beast we now know who you are.

9. He has to take it,money is involved here.And Evans is entitled after all.

10. Good job by the lawyer. I think, there is no class or bindings on their profession. In every situation, they should prove them. In this way, this lawyer take the challenge and prove himself very smartly. contract lawyer