Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Impeachment Looms As Acting President Osinbajo Versus Senate Lock Horns

Wednesday, July 05, 2017

Impeachment Looms As Acting President Osinbajo Versus Senate Lock Horns

Brouhaha every where and now it has played to the acting president's doormat!

Strong indications emerged on Tuesday that the Acting President Yemi Osinbajo risks being impeached if the executive fails to carry out the decisions of the Senators as the Senate has asked him to as a matter of urgency withdraw his statement that the National Assembly lacks the powers to confirm nominations from the President.

The Senate has also vowed to suspend all issues relating to confirmation from the Executive until such matters of confirmation as contained in the constitution were strictly adhered to, just as it urged the Acting President to respect the constitution of the land.

The Senate has also asked Acting President Osinbajo to respect rejections of nominees by the Senate.

Resolutions of the Senate were sequel to a point of Order raised by Senator Ahmed Sani, APC, Zamfara West that a letter from Acting President Osinbajo on the appointment of Lanre Gbajabiamila as the Director General, National Lottery Commission.

Soon after Senate President Bukola Saraki read the letter from the Acting President, Senator Ahned Sani raised the point of Order which later generated hot debate from other Senators.

from Vanguard

*I am just wondering,Osinbajo is a SAN and must know the constitution very well right?did he speak well or he misfired ?

42 comments:

1. The Senate should be dissolved already. Decentralise the federal govt and concentrate more powers on the state govt. Let regions be formed. L
      I don't even undertsand what the Senate represent this days except to steal and find offences with everyone else. The head of the Senate, Saraki is the biggest thief in Nigeria. Our judiciary system is the most corrupt that I have seen.
      We finally have a man that's got something in his head and they want to frustrate him as usual. Bunch of cowards.

2. Stella, this is Naija and everything goes. Since they no see Buubu, they wan hijack power from Osibanjo and give to Saraki. Watch out and see what happens. Na make military no come take over as the country is in a state of confusion presently.
    A prayer for Nigeria in distress is still valid.

1. Why do they always appoint gbajamiamila in almost all tenure?

2. Cos hes close to tge powers that be.
      Femi is the leader of the house so he has influence

3. The greedy bastard called Saraki will have him and his ugly arse wife dragged naked through the streets. Dino will not be able to help him. If Saraki wants to be president he should wait his turn and run in 2019.

4. @Anon 13:45 ...Don't mind the thief called saraki. He will soon discover why the president holds the title of "Commander in chief" .....He is about to experience a palace coup. Let's wait and see which of those idiots called senators will wait on the sighting fully armed combat ready soldiers on the orders of the C in C. Then they will know that democracy won't save them.

3. hmmm....Senate too has a strong cabal. Yes Stella, he knows the law, but adhere to the instructions of his master that doesn't know law. Let's watch and see how it goes.

4. Impeachment when president is not capable? Does that mean another election will be conducted? If yes, we r ready

5. Na dem sabi. wetin concern me with APC people

6. Who's ruling the country sef?

7. ѕtєllz hє míѕfírєd ní...😆😆😆
    чσu nєєd tσ ѕít thrσugh cσurt prσcєєdíngѕ tσ líѕtєn tσ ѕσmє ѕєníσr cσunѕєlѕ'ѕuвmíѕѕíσnѕ....σ dí єgwu

8. Misfire Bawo??stella he is on point jor.

The Northeners want to put confusion in dis country,dey want military to take over and eventually hand power to another Northener.....Hmmm!
    I trust Osinbajo the tiger of Arewa People......God Keep Him Sha!

9. then wan take style impeach am so muslim man can be thr president...jokers...nigeria is behind osibanjo.....pawpaw senators...

10. Make dey no Sha impeach am abeg...

11. If they try Osibanjo, then they will understand the battle isn't just physical but spiritual. Greedy human beings.

1. Kwarans should call Bukola back, he is not their for the good of the people but unfortunately he will still spend our stolen to money to confused the gullible ones to stand by him.

12. Let them not touch Osibanjo except they will hand over to Dogara.

13. He is already showing he knows nothing about politics.
    This same Senate saved him when the cabal wanted to make him useless. Even the letter pmb signed didnt fully say he will be acting president, rather the senate gave him the power so he can sign budgets etc.
    Now he is saying that same senate doesnt have powers to confirm appointments.

In politics, it pays to have more friends than enemies. Osibanjo is trying to make more enemies than friends

1. But it's not their fathers house na, they can't be playing pin pun with it. God help us, let your will be done, if it's your will we all go our separate ways then let it be done peacefully

2. Tuscany u r an illiterate, irredeemable one. Read Nigerian constitution n come back n thank me

14. Jesus so this is true. They know that burahi is incapacitated and by law he is suppose to resign so that the vice president will ascend the throne but because they did not want the current vice president to become president ,they are fighting tooth and nail to see they return power to their brothers (Northerners) in fact Nigeria I give up on you. SHAME to these called Leaders.

15. The question now is, is buhari alive or dead?? Never knew a vice president can be impeached
    Someone that didn't contest. Wasn't he just a running mate.

16. To think Ahmed Sanni is an APC member....Apc no get sense walaii, there many fractions of APC so am not surprised. When pdp was in power do they act stupidly like this in the house?
    The issue is Osinbajo wants Gbajabiami confirmed but the house doesnt want to confirm any list again except Magu is being removed from being the EFCC chairman. So na do me o do you dem dey do.Very annoying old men.

17. They should just live the man alone if not the thunder way go fire them is preparing

18. Impeach an acting president? Is that even in the constitution? Please someone should explain.

19. The northerners don't want a repeat of what happened to Yaradua.They know what is on ground concerning the president and hence trying to act smart.
    This is the handwork of the so-called cabals,they want to use confusion and disunity.

20. All I know is that these northerners are power drunk they want it to stay till 2023. Saraki way no ever pure he is also power drunk.

21. Those useless clowns at the Senate are power drunk. Saraki is the mastermind. They dare not try to impeach Buhari but they are capitalizing on his sickness. Saraki wants to be president at all cost and that ambition can only be achieved through the back door but this time around he would fail. Nigeria has enough mess to deal with than this nonsense cat and mouse with magu. The Fulani herdsmen, kidnapping, bad roads, dead health sector etc. We should begin to pray death upon them. Enough already.

22. Saraki has dug his grave by showing his hand too early. An attempt to make him an acting president yesterday is a miscalculation that will bite him in near future. Well Senate has always been a den of robbers and thieves.

23. That's why I want biafra ooo, where these chalants that called themselves politicians\leaders will have no or less power to loot the country treasury

24. Hi Stella,

The Acting President never said they dont have the power to confirm. He's a SAN for crying out loud. The Acting President had last April in an interview said: “It is up to the Senate to make their judgment, and it is up to us to say what we want to do. If our candidate is rejected, we can re-present him. No law says we can’t re-present him. And again, there is the other argument, whether or not we need to present him for confirmation and that’s a compelling argument from Femi Falana,” thats after Papa Falz had said the Executive can present an already failed candidate to the Senate which is true.
    The Senate is after returning Power to the North cos it is clear Bubu will not return from London except in a Coffin. Yesterday Sen Eyinnaya Abarive raised a motiom to make Bukola Saraki the Acting presido because Osinbajo travelled to Ethiopia for AU meeting for 1day. Saraki himself quashed the motion by calling Abaribe & d Zamfara senator. That is tamtamount to a coup.
    The disrespectful treatmebt being given to Osinbajo by this Senate will lead to this country being ungovernable if they continue to contend power with him.

1. Thank you anonymous. ....well said

2. Annon God bless you for this in sight. Saraki will never become the president of this country IJN. We have sufferred too much to have another criminal on the nos one seat of power in Nigeria. I will rather have Osibajo as the president and another civil servant with credible character rule this country. This is the time for the youths of this nation to wake up. Saraki is nursing a failed ambition. Licking Tinubus ass to get favours. This is the time for all of us to rise up and fight for our rights. All this old peeps should go and nurse their grand children and stolen invested funds.

3. Anonymous 15:04 thank you. You understand it clearly

25. I'm afraid with the way this country is going.......hmmmm

26. WE NEED A JERRY RAWLINGS.

27. We need a complete constitutional overhaul. Our legislature is full of theives and bloodsucking wild beasts. Let us implement true federalism n decentralize the center. Let all states operate under their regions. If these senators continue this way, they will have not only Biafra to contend with but all southern Nigerian youths. We are tired of things the way they are. I am calling on Nigerian youths, be vigilant and ensure that this people do not stage a coup to return power to the north. Be vigilante and ensure we have our constitutional overhaul. Away with these legislooters already! We are tired!

28. National lottery needs gbajabiamila,they need a DG..enough of this politics,do we really want to get things done in this country?chai NLRC trending for the wrong reason.