Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Information Minister Lai Mohammed Sheds More Light On Musical Video Ban Brouhaha

Tuesday, July 18, 2017

Information Minister Lai Mohammed Sheds More Light On Musical Video Ban Brouhaha

Minister of Information and Culture, Lia Mohammed, has shed more light on plans by the Federl government to stop entertainers and movie makers from shooting their jobs outside the shores of Nigeria.

Last Saturday, Lai Mohammed disclosed this plan when he spoke at the Copyright Society of Nigeria (COSON) House in Lagos.

In a recent chat with Premiumtimes, Lai Mohammed said the proposed ban would help tackle the exploitation of perceived loopholes in the Nigerian Broadcasting Code, NBC.

“The NBC code today as it stands has been exploited and not defined and that’s why movies being directed by Nigerians with Nigerian actors, actresses can be shot in South Africa and then brought back to be consumed in Nigeria.

All we are saying is that we are going to amend the code in a manner that it will not be possible for you to exploit any loophole there to go and shoot outside Nigeria film, music or programs that are meant to be consumed in Nigeria”.

Speaking further, he said “It is not directed at any particular incident, every country should respect the local industry of other countries.

For example, in Ghana they introduced a law today that demands visiting actors to pay a thousand dollars to the government coffers while visiting directors and producers pay 5,000 dollars.

We must create an enabling environment and also generate revenue from our creative industry.

The argument is simple, when you go to shoot a film offshore, you use the work force of that country to develop the capacity of that country and you improve the economy of that country and that is what we are trying to do here.”he said

34 comments:

1. Please don't say that, I think he is right this time. Let us reason along and stop patronising other countries.

2. Oh this old man is still talking nonsense!...
    Oga lie lie,shut up!!...
    Gosh,I hate this APC Vuharia rubbish government with a passion!...
    Oh God,in my next world,don't make me a Nigerian!...

1. E sir, my own question is "where baba zahra?"

3. I can never waste my time to read anything that comes from "LIE Mohamed "

When we even have the President in London for over 70 days... We have his presidential jet still stationed in UK and they are paying UK government heavy amount of money for that

When we have the Presidebt going abroad to seek for medicals

We had the president children who jusy graduated from universities abroad

And what Mofoo is telling musicians what to do with their own money?

SMH

@Anonymous Orubebe

4. This man is making a whole lot of sense, Nigerian youth are just a bunch of daft who can't see beyond their nose. It's a pity

1. My dear, extremely daft people! What a shame!

5. Wait! they are coming for your part two.

6. Tell your Vuharia to come home first and use one of our hospitals before you open that your pit mouth to talk rubbish

7. Story! That's the least of Nigeria's problem. There are more pressing problem,why not face that Lie mohammed.

8. He should SHUT UP!!!. So many things wrong with Nigeria aswear.
    The president of the supposed biggest African country has been in who knows where for over 60 days in a hospital. Bia Lai Mohammed it's like your mother did not teach you that charity begins from home. Remove the log of wood from ur eyes before cleaning the dust in someone else's own.

Nonsense and ingredients

9. As much as this is a nice idea, the approach was very rude and sudden. Have they been supporting the music industry before now? you just think you can jump in and demand they employ youths you haven't succeeded in employing or don't even care about employing.
    misplaced priorities, all your children school abroad, were born abroad, you all go abroad for health care when you experience something as little as an ant sting not even mosquito bite; why not start with creating an enabling environment and also generate revenue from these sectors (health, education, tourism etc) before facing the creative industry. yeye dey smell. 💩💩

1. The lord bless you

@Anonymous Orubebe

10. We are still saying the same thing. Politicians going abroad for medical treatment is the same as Nigerian artist shooting musical videos abroad. Both parties 'use the workforce of that country to develop the capacity of that country, thereby improving the economy of that country' The argument is simple.

11. A case of do as i say don't do as i do.

Are there no hospitals in Nigeria? What is Buhari doing at a hospital @United kingdom? Wasting tax payers money and (you guys voted for change jare)

I'm done.

1. if e no be Panadol...

who are you pls 😂😂

2. Exactly.
      Buhari should use our local hospital b4 FG think of banning entertainment production abroad. They are all in the category

12. ...and have steps been taken in this country to develop the "infrastructure and facilities" so the artists can utilize/improve the economy of THIS country?
    Pls Sir,there are pressing matters to attend to or are you looking for relevance?

13. Some names describes the bearer's life. No time to read for lies this morning.

14. And the doctors that are treating our president?
    Aren't they also improving the economy of GB?
    Hypocrites

15. Ogbeni tell your stupid government to provide electricity to the country.. Not just any power ooo, constant electricity...

And d solution will be 70% solved

16. Seriously Lai, you said that, why not start from your office first

17. Failure is an orphan while success is a beautiful bride. Where was the FGN when this multi billion naira was being created? Did they provide anything to encourage any iota of this industry.

This man represents everything that is wrong and frustrating about this country. So you Mr Lai Mohammed, didn't see NTA and the million and one eyesores under your control to improve?

Have some shame. Anyway we should not expect better from your sort!

18. This man will never stop to make my dog cry out loud.

The presidential aircraft is bin parked in another country n 4keuro or pounds I don't know is bin paid for d space per day

You are here saying trash..ur family dey abroad,some of dem no even fit identify satchet water cuz Na bottle water dem sabi from prenatal

Idiot leaders raining d whole country like a monkey

MC pinky

19. Abeg make we hear word, you are just clueless, what about the president that is abroad receiving treatment wheras we have good hospitals here in Nigeria. Education system nko, you all take your children abroad to study and you are here talking trash Make sure your house is in order before making rules and regulations you want people to adhere to.

20. iuleha virologist18 July 2017 at 15:04

Hmm..stella! I saw what you did there with his name lai is lia remaining r and he will be bearing liar.. you are funny.

21. All of us cursing me. I will soon arrest of you especially Queen and Boss. Am sending Police to your house. Just wait and see

22. But President could be lost in abroad without adding to their jobs creation right?