Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Natural Hair Series -.''My Hair Rocks Since I Began This Journey''

Monday, July 24, 2017

Natural Hair Series -.''My Hair Rocks Since I Began This Journey''

I started my natural hair journey on the 21st of October 2014. It wasn't a sunny day when I walked to the barbing salon amidst the stares to take it all off because I had a very strong conviction to start all over. 

Before my big chop, I had an average looking hair. The length was long but my edges were "mama iyabo-ish" mostly rat chop following a long period of braiding.

Now I'm not saying braiding your hair is wrong but take breaks in between braids for people who really prefer braiding or you can alternate with crochet, lots of crotchet styles that look like real braids if done properly. 

Note that the natural hair journey isn't for everyone and it is not as expensive as most of us assume. I rarely do most of these things online naturalistas promote but every time I let my hair out, I get asked if it's my real hair. The deal is to know your hair type and what works for your hair. Hair products works for some and not everyone, I know someone who bought an hair product following so many people's testimonies but after 7months of use the persons hair remained the same and she threw it out.
These are guaranteed tips for natural hair:

1. Water: get a spraying bottle and let it be your go to each time you need to wet your hair once it feels dry. Oil should be used sparsely and preferably use coconut oil,argan oil, Shea butter or other organic oils. Avoid hair creams with sulphur(sulphate) as one of its ingredients especially. Coconut oil is your best bet, I use it as my body cream and on my hair with no extras.

2. Deep condition: You can do a DIY (do it yourself) by mixing honey, mayonnaise, Shea butter, olive oil, raw eggs etc. to soften your hair if you have stubborn hair. Leave the mixture in dirty hair overnight and wash off in the morning. If it's urgent to have your hair washed then you can leave in mixture for 2hours or less. Use cool water to rinse off, cool water helps to lock in moisture else you may end up washing off all the rich products you used in conditioning. Use hair products like dark and Lovely, Cantu leave in conditioners, you need to keep hair moisturized to avoid breakage.

3. Protective styling: I have installed crotchet all year long. It's faster to install, long lasting and reusable. Invest in crotchets. It also helps your hair instead of tugging at it all the time to have them braided. Wigs too are a must have,you don't need to break the bank to own 1 or 2.

4. Stay away from heat:
Natural hair hates heat. When you wash your hair, dry it with a towel or air it till it dries instead of going under a dryer. You can stretch your hair once in a while to check length/growth, I haven't done this in 2 years though.

5. Avoid washing your hair all the time, if you can do twice a month it's okay. The reason your hair would need to be washed often is if you keep soaking it with oil. Many people are fond of this, you are damaging your hair and it will invite dandruffs. Use tea tree oil to treat dandruff. Dry scalp and dandruff are not the same. If your scalp is dry then apply water as earlier stated or coconut oil.

It is not entirely true that applying dye spoils hair whether retouched or natural, just avoid dying from the root and keep it moisturized. I love highlights and I retouch my highlights once a year, some people do it every 6 months and you can have it done yourself like I do mine. 

Section your hair and follow instructions on the pack of product.
These tips can also be used by people with retouched hair too, they are all natural anyway.

BY BV Doppelgaenger.

If you have a natural hair story and tips,please send it in and if you dont want your lovely face showing,i will plaster it,na your story we want cos some of us also have natural hair....

105 comments:

1. Ok

@Anonymous Orubebe

1. For the first time, a Nigerian girl has hair?
      I can see you had to run from weaves, receding lines has appeared. Kudos.

2. Doppel baby! 🎤Omoge you fine ooo, baby, ooo, omoge you fine ooo, baby ooo🎶🎶🎶🎼Ijo Shino 💃💃💃. Kelvin ooo nor come here ooo.

3. Doppelganger you're wrong about using a towel. Naturalists should use an old tee shirt instead. Thank me later
      You are fine.. Nice skin

4. Pls can someone recommend a saloon in Ajah for kids that specialises in natural hair. My daughter is 3 and as a full,thick and natural hair. Need to help her nurture it cause it's always a hazzle weaving it. I need her to make styles that can last a month .

5. About ado round about where you have the uba atm there is a natural hair saloon

6. Hi my fellow naturalista... We're good as Bae 😘. It's a good thing African ladies are beginning to embrace our true nature. You look real good I must say.
      P.S: DC is best done on already washed / shampooed hair. Protein DC or pre-poo is well recommended on a dirty hair. Kisses.

7. Also occasional trimming to reduce breakage and weak ends just like relaxed hair.

8. Madam she's not wrong please. I have a customized towel given to me by Cantu for my natural hair.

9. Yaaaay!!!we in it together.. Keeping natural hair ain't expensive at all, and your hair looks awesome.

2. I knew it had to be doppelganger well done and thanks for the tip.

1. Hey Swit, how was your weekend?

Was down with flu but I am good now. Hugs

2. Awwwww I hope you are better dear? Pele

3. Beautiful.

1. Hair wahala. My hair is 18inches long and thick. I don't practice any of these tips. Apart from my usual kit relaxer I don't apply anything else on my hair. And even though I braid my hair alot,my hairline is still as full as ever. Some stylists shy away from making my hair cause of how thick and long it is. People always ask if I'm mixed race cause of the length and texture of my hair. Oh well, I guess I'm just blessed in that area.😊

2. Same here anon. Braids does nothing to my hairline

4. So this is Doppelganger? 😂 😂 😂. Wow

1. And I thought that was @TY bello

Like I have seen the pics before

May be look alike of it

@Double be slaying

@Anonymous Orubebe

2. Doppelgaenger, You really are an angel for sending in this piece. Started my natural hair journey a year ago. It was after I had my daughter that I lost all the shine and fullness of my hair. I love to read tips on how to rejuvenate my hair and bring it back to its lost glory. Hair is indeed the beauty of a woman cos bad hair made my self esteem waver. My question is on the DIY Deep conditioning section of your post. After applying the mixtures mentioned above overnight on my dirty hair, do I still need to wash my hair with shampoo in the morning or would it lose all the effects of the conditioning if I do? Thanks****hugs****

5. Promising star24 July 2017 at 12:10

I didn't bother to read o but please is that picture up there bv doppelganger? If so, babe you're pretty!

1. I think I hav seen that pics on line before

Have seen it on the net

.beautiful somebody

@Anonymous Orubebe

2. Anonymous Orubebe she resembles Oreka Godis, maybe na d face dey confuse you.

Txs for tips Doppelganger, you're a customer service call agent. Enjoy your office

6. I use an old cotton T shirt to dry my natural hair after washing. Towels snag the hair which leads to breakage and Frizz. I love stylers especially aunt jackie's curl lala and lotta body styling range. I do my protein treatment once a month, CoWash (conditioner wash) twice a month, depending on how much styling products I use. My go-to deep conditioners are the Sunny isle intensive masque and aunt jackie's fix my hair, good products. Deep condition with an electric steam cap So you get all the goodness and benefits of the deep conditioner. So far my natural hair journey has been fulfilling and I'm loving my hair every step of the way. Endeavour to use a sulphate free shampoo. Patience is the key. Your hair won't grow over night and don't feel disappointed when your type 4c hair doesn't curl up like that of those YouTube naturalistas. Embrace and love your 4c hair and draw up a care routine that works for you.

1. Yes your right, the main ingredient is patience. Am also on my natural hair, and can relate.

2. Jeez, my type 4c hair is out of this world. It is growing but you find out it can never be like those 4b ones you see on youtube. I just highlighted mine two weeks ago and loving it. Water indeed is the therapy and oil for me jare. I wet the hair kinda every morning before I go to work cos by the time you move around and lie on the bed, it is already dry and wanting more.

3. Yes Shyla. I move around with a mixture of water, aloe vera gel,leave in conditioner and a little mix of oils(coconut, jojoba, olive and Argan oils) in a small spray bottle. That's my DIY moisturizer. Whenever my hair feels dry, i spritz for moisture.

7. I am so happy for this thanks doppel....my hair is very stubborn but I think with this tips, I'll have a healthy soft hair.💋

8. BV Doppelganger, nice to put a face to a name. Very pretty lady, love your smile x

9. Everyone with their own version jare. All hair is different. My own hair can't air dry biko. I twist or braid it all back when damp or it will harden. Hair mayonnaise works for me. I think it has sulphates. The products without sulphates does not moisturize my hair at all. Do what works for your hair... there is no one method.

10. Radiohead Steelheart24 July 2017 at 12:22

Hey sweetest doppelganger is this you. You are so beautiful and mature. Full of wisdom. Thanks for the tips

11. Nice hair you've got Doppel.

I can't tow this line though cos my hair is just too stubborn and it hurts my scalp when combing. I'm glad Mega growth relaxer is now working for me after sampling others.

1. See @cynthia u better run away from DAT relaxer ooh except u want ur hair to be stunted,I used it for 2 years,I had to give myself brain and ran away,even 3 of my colleagues dumped it fast..DAT relaxer is damp hot!!!

12. Radiohead Steelheart24 July 2017 at 12:28

Hey sweetest doppelganger is this you. You are so beautiful and mature. Full of wisdom. Thanks for the tips

13. Kk have learnt one or two, thanks dear.

14. OMG!Doppelganger,you is very beautiful! Lovely tips there but I can't go natural cos my hair is extremely stubborn.Am i the only one who thinks natural hair makes people look younger than their age?

15. Thanks for the info beautiful Doppelganger.

#TeamNaturalHair

16. Your smile is beautiful Doppel.
    Who has a regime for relaxed hair? My hair is long but it's shedding.

1. Start using a sulfate free shampoo, trim ur edges a little and apply relaxer once in 3-4 months at least and keep hair away from heat. I've got relaxed hair which was shedding seriously until I started doing this. My hair is still very much relaxed but its 18inches long. Give it a try.

17. How do some naturalistas get those lovely curls?what product do they use to achieve those super duper curls?now my body is doing me jigijigi to go natural but my hair ehn,enemy of progress.

1. I use twist and lock gel. But if you dont have that, you twist your hair when its wet and leave it overnight. Untwist the next day and voila! Different types of natural hair have their different curly looks. 4b hair curls are usually lovely cos they come out long and curly (Wish i had this type though). 4c hair type comes out curly, shrunken and fine all the same.

2. With the help of some stylers, you can get curls. But having natural curls depends on your genes and the type of hair you have. Hair type 3a-3c and 4a-4b curl easily but 4c, which most Africans have hardly curls. If you have small oyibo blood you can have a curly hair 😉

18. I DON'T use towel to dry my hair. It's a no no for natural hair. I use a T shirt(cotton).

I have very good hair. I really don't do much and my hair is long and healthy.

I use Auntie jackie products and cantu co wash and deep treatment masque. I use black soap as shampoo.

I do my DC once a month.

I don't have a single wig. I style my natural hair myself most times or I rock didi.

In sept my natural hair will be 3years.

Doppel, if that is you up there, I love your hair and you're beautiful 😘😘

1. @swaggie which one is DC and hair type 3a-3c or 4c?..d terms are strange pls explain sis cos I'm planning to go natural by month ending..

2. DC is deep conditioning.

I can only use picture to tell hair type. Go online to check your hair type.

19. I have been considering to go natural but my hair is too coarse and strong. When it is due for retouching after two months I can hardly put a comb through it, that is why I am always on add ons, weaves or braids, and once I loose any I wash there and then and fix again. I really want to cut it low and tint it with a honey brown.

1. Naturals don't comb their hair when it's dry,it would hurt and cause breakage. You should use water and oil,besides you need to let air into your hair. Making it immediately is usually not good

2. I admire the naturals, but me, I'm a relaxed babe. Tried remaining natural after a big chop, it just wasn't for me, so I happily reverted and I am fine with my relaxed hair.

20. Abeg which call centre you de?
    I wan come take you out for lunch😍

21. So this is Doppelganger? You look stunning!!

22. Thanks doppelganger, but please I need to understand better,when you say mayonnaise, is it the 'hair mayonnaise' or 'mayonnaise for bread'.

I started my natural hair journey this year although I didn't cut from the root(not everyone has that mind). The hair has been shedding seriously since then though.

1. Yes.Hair mayonnaise for hair.you can get in stores.just tell them you need hair mayonnaise or walk into any saloon close to you and enquire.

2. You can also use the edible mayo

3. I transitioned too,but I used a lot of homemade stuffs for my hair like egg,honey,olive oil,aloe vera,pear and onion. My hair is two years and doing great. Try deep conditioning your hair. It would help stop breakage and make your hair strong and beautiful.

4. Thanks everyone, I really appreciate

23. Wow doppelganger is that you? Chai babe you're beautiful mennnn your skin looks so healthy, see fine chocolate. ...

24. My hair is iyamileko. Let me try this.

1. 😀😀😀😂😂😂😂😂😂
      Una wehdone o! Can never go natural biko cos I dont think I will have patience for its wahala.

25. Must I do the big chop/ cut my hair? I have stopped relaxing for over 3 yrs now and my hair Don change to natural hair, cos in the salon a lot of pple are alwys talking and admiring my hair and how natural it is, so I am asking must I cut the hair abi I should just leave it like that since my hair has turn to natural hair fully, it is no more coloured again, it is now dark and curly.

1. No you must not do the big chop. You opted for the transitioning method which entails doing away with relaxers and texturizers. All you need to do is trim off the remaining relaxed hair which at the tip and you're good to go.

2. Chopping all off won't be necessary. Since you said they now look natural,leave it like that or you trim the tips.

26. It boils down to what regimen works for each person, I've been natural since 2014, but finally got it right this year, it's all about personal research and also trying not to be a product junkie is the key, what works for A will definitely not work for B, it takes a lot of patience especially when you have a difficult hair type like mine, I gave up a lot of times cut it twice again after my big chop.
    The only style that doesn't damage my already fragile hair is two strand twist with no attachment, weaves are a no no, crochet mbabu, with my twist all I do is wear a wig.

1. Funny enough I have been natural all my life lol,I've never used relaxer/texturizer etc.
      At the moment my hair is 18 inches (in it's natural state due to shrinkage ) 28 inches when blow dried or straightened.i don't follow all this regimen I just do regular things.
      Growing longer hair has everything to do with Genetics

27. I do all these but mt hair is relaxed and healthy, I think.
    I relax every 7-8 months though.

28. Okay. Thanks for the tip.
    Is that Bv doppelganger??

@just Bella.

29. Thanks,just started this journey some months ago. Great info 👍

30. I have been on natural for 5 years now

i wash my hair once a three times a month with shampoo and conditioner ,i use just shea butter ,and i play with colours a lot ,yet i have healthy hair
    .I love my natural hair .

31. I will never take Stella's word serious anymore. She calls anybody a chick. You go dey imagine Caroline Danjuma lookalike or Yvonne Jegede beauty. Stell sef

1. Meaning? So u see brown sweet chocolate like this and u still comparing her with madam plastic Caro? Doppelganger you're beautiful 😍 very very beautiful 😙

2. Jealousy jeloma.I bet if anyone one in your family looks as beautiful as she looks.you can't give what you don't have.

32. Replies
    1. Kai ma team natural ne? I dey hail o!

2. Hahahahaha gimbiyana,wane yabane naturalists? Inasochi amo gaskia yezu bansanmu liver fah.

33. Dopple be looking yummy......
    I love natural hair on people, my hair is rubber like and hurts me when not relaxed, how would I cope with the pain if I go natural?....
    *Faithful bv*

1. These were my thoughts as well initially but trust me it's so easy to manage especially with ori. November will make it my 3rd year and I love the outcome. I also have a stubborn hair, and I have got two textures.

2. Invest in leave-in conditioner and your combing trauma is gone. I almosy regretted transitioning till I asked someone and here I am. I have like 3 bottles of leave-in. One is always in the car. Two at home. Lol

34. I do nothing special to my virgin hair and it is growing really fast. I wear weaves, kinki braids and wigs. I wash with a Nigerian made shampoo and conditioner - i can not remember the name, but, sounds like Venon; not sure anymore, and dry with a towel. My hair is just 1 year old and it is growing really good. I wash and condition with the above once in a month. I use shea butter and Nigerian made hair cream. My hair is very stubborn and annoying; but, I am happier with it than with my previous permed hair. Doppel, you are a pretty lady. Black and naturally pretty. I see the cute nose on ur face. However, Doppel, your hair looks like you have applied some texturizers or mild relaxer. It does not look 100% virgin hair to me. Nice look girl, however.

1. She might have a type 4b hair. That's why it looks stretched a bit. Not like she textured, I believe. 4c is difficult to get like this unless you stretch out a bit and allow air to blow it which will readily shrink back to its original state with vengeance.

35. You are pretty..
    Thanks for sharing..

36. Thank for the Tip...BTW, you are beautiful

37. Thanks for this teaching

38. Nice hair. Keep it up
    I'd tell blog visitors my regime that works for me. I've been natural since 2013, and now I'm approaching waist length.
    Trust me I don't use any drug store products. ( only in 2013 when I started) now I am wiser.
    Embrace natural things eg ginger and rice water.
    Also I sleep with silk pillows.
    Also if you can get a Chad friend. They have the hair secret.
    Trust me I'm 100% Nigerian Igbo girl and I have a waist length hair.

1. My friend uses rice water. She said it's good. How do you use ginger?

Satin pillow case or satin hair bonet is very good.

2. It's genetics sweetue it's has nothing to do with regimen.
      I don't do all this ish but my hair is longer than tail born.
      I'm as black as Wesley snipes

39. Beautiful hair.
    I've been natural for 3yrs and 4months.
    The compliments I get when I let my hair out are amazing.

40. Wow see motivation, mine is just a year ad three months old and doing fine.I use Shea butter and one hair like that it smells awful but the result is great
    After washing, i wrap it with an old t-shirt

41. This is the almighty doppelganger? Wow!her comments doesn't relate to her pretty and innocent face at all.She talks like an older person who has experienced a lot in life and can be very mean and rude a times.Seeing this pretty and young face got me shocked.

42. God bless all you naturalistas and all we relaxed hair owners. I do not see me practicing different regimens on hair, no patience biko.

43. Dipped you is fine! I use just hair mayonnaise for my DC without all those things you mentioned except you are using edible mayonnaise because hair mayonnaise already contains the other things there.
    Cantu products are a bit pricy but very nice

44. Woooow dp girl thanks a lot,dis writeup is for me,I plan on going natural by end of dis month cos I HV to take my time to explain to my hubby and get his permission cos he loves my my lengthy hair alot.I HV a deep conviction to do it BT I'm not going for d big chop off ooh BT transition,I prefer DAT.hmmm BT I'm abit scared sha cos my hair is stubborn.I pray I get it right.

1. Sounds like your hair is ok, why bother? Na una sabi.

45. Doppel's sooo purrrty! Abeg who has the secret to full edges oh! Nobody should say castor oil, that ish don't work

46. The lady that asked me for my rice water and ginger recipe.
    Rice water:-
    Boil your rice, then take the water. I use this water for a week to spray my hair daily. It works well for the ski as well.
    The ginger:-
    Blend ginger, get the juice out from the chaff, then in a dry pot add coconut oil and the ginger oil. I use this as a hot out treatment once a week.
    As for shampoo, I do shampoo wash once a month. (Giovanni shampoo and conditioner)
    Deep conditioning treatment with Giovanni conditioner or coconut milk is twice a week( with the chad mixed spice my patient gave me)

Hair moisturizer is (DIY combination of Shea,cocoa,coconut oil,castor oil, and olive oil blend.
    Everyone's hair can grow, I was once called rat chopped hair, now I'm at waist length.
    It ain't about genetics trust me. It took a lot of research to get this. Now all the females in my house and my friends have long hair.
    If you exercise patience your hair will grow.
    Chao

47. Abeg na the skin I dey admire.... Please I have a not too dry skin, any advise?

48. Barracudianusaurusunamon - Well, well, er ..., all I see are "Boobies", LOL.

Q.E.D.