Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Man Who Led A Group That Defrauded Americans Of $1.3 million Is Still At Large

Friday, July 14, 2017

Nigerian Man Who Led A Group That Defrauded Americans Of $1.3 million Is Still At Large

Security authorities in the United States of America (USA) have explained how a Nigerian man, Babajide Fadeyibi, led a group that defrauded unsuspecting Americans to the tune of $1.3 million.

According to reports of an investigation carried-out by the Federal Bureau of Investigation (FBI), Homeland Security Investigations, the U.S. Postal Inspection Service and the U.S. Secret Service; Fadebiyi recruited innocent Nigerians online.

Those he recruited were supposed to cash counterfeit US checks and money orders at their Nigeria banks.

They were called ‘mystery shoppers,’ although they did not really shop for anything but were deceived into believing what they were doing was legitimate.

The VIRGINIA PILOT reports that Fadebiyi would collect the personal information of people interested in the mystery-shopper jobs and then send them counterfeit cheques or money orders.

After cashing the fake cheques or money orders; the ‘mystery shoppers’ would wire some of the money back to him before the banks realized the truth.

Most of the counterfeit cheques and money orders were cloned in Nigeria, based on legitimate versions obtained in the United States.

Another Nigerian named Oyeyemi Arogundade was alleged to be behind the designs and the cloning of the counterfeit cheques.

Six other co-defendants including one Hafeez Odoffin who resides in Chicago and Zoelithia Williams of Tennessee in the USA have been convicted of crimes relating to the alleged $1.3 million fraud.

However, Babajide Fadeyibi, the alleged ringleader, and Oyeyemi Arogundade remain at large as both men have been identified as living in Nigeria.

From The Virginia pilot

5 comments:

1. I hope it's NOT that our rich bv (oga chronicles)?

1. Nope not me. I did tax and I've stopped it since. This is check fraud. I have never and will never touch it.

2. What Chronicles?