Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerians Allegedly Spend $5 Billion On Generators Annually

Wednesday, July 19, 2017

Nigerians Allegedly Spend $5 Billion On Generators Annually

The Speaker of the House of Representatives, Yakubu Dogara, said it was unacceptable that Nigerians spent $5 billion on generators annually.

He said the house would support the Executive to find a permanent solution to the power problem in the country.

Mr. Dogara stated this on Tuesday in Abuja at the public hearing organised by the House of Representatives Committee on Power on three Bills pending before the lower chamber.

He explained that the lawmakers were reviewing some of Nigeria’s energy laws to provide appropriate legal framework that would facilitate the exploitation of renewable energy to the benefit of the economy.

According to him, power is arguably the single most important driver of the national economy.

Earlier, Chairman of the House Committee on Power, Daniel Effiong, welcomed stakeholders and advised them to make inputs to enable the house to come out with enduring laws to grow the industry.

The House had at the inception of the 8th Assembly, committed itself to a Legislative Agenda (2015 – 2019) to devise “Legislative Initiative on Power”.

This was with a resolve that it “shall take legislative action to tackle Nigeria’s energy crisis that has led to a general collapse of industries and businesses and inflicted hardship on citizens.

“Legislative measures to support improved generation and distribution of electricity to homes and businesses will be encouraged.”

NAN

10 comments:

1. When we haven't had light for 5days and counting in life Camp, Abuja. Why won't Nigeria spend 5billion Dollars annually or more sef. Mtchewww

2. This people better not try me this morning ooo... After I don vex go buy generator? Please I love the lack of electricity like that abeg

3. Of course we boast of one of the worst electricity generation and distribution framework the world over.

4. Nonsense and ingredients...

Why won't he spend money on generators, when you people refuse to give us mare electricity oo.. .just imagine

When some of you are the sole distributors of Generators

Unam ikots

@Anonymous Orubebe

5. This is true,law makers should work on bringing light to curb this not banning music videos abroad,chasing shadows

6. Only 5b?
    Are they sure?
    Lemme gist you.
    Some hoodlums jumped into my compound in April and stole my generator. My big sweet generator.
    I had used it the night before till 12am only to wake up to see an empty space where it used to be.
    I was sooooo shocked.
    And then angry. I went to police station and made a report.

So last week, I got a new one. Bigger one with tires and key and everything. Then my colleagues fabricated a cage for me.
    If you see this cage 😂😂😂😂😂😂😂.
    Armour of God.
    Cage of Gibraltar.

😂😂😂😂😂😂😂
    Then I chained the generator to the cage inside and still locked it from outside.

My neighbours ehen 😂😂😂😂😂. They were hailing the cage.
    I was giving them side eyes. Any of them must have been the thief.

So this morning, one of my neighbors came to tell me that his own was nearly carried last night. The thief switched it off,unplugged the plug even and then he woke up and rushed outside. The guy don vamoose. I laugh am ehen.

This my neighborhood is very quiet so the recent rise in crime is just troubling.

Thankfully, I would be moving to a new place before the month ends. Bigger and better.

Won't He do it??? 😂😂😂😂

Na the mention of generator ignite this gist oooo. No vex.

7. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.