Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Pay Rise Not Possible In Ebonyi As Workers Are Told To Forget 13th Month Salar

Saturday, July 15, 2017

Pay Rise Not Possible In Ebonyi As Workers Are Told To Forget 13th Month Salar

Ebonyi State governor, David Umahi on Friday stated that he has no powers to increase salaries of local government workers.

Threatening to sack any civil servant that indulges in politics ahead of the 2019 elections, he also said 13th-month salary will no longer be paid.

Umahi spoke at a meeting with members of the Nigeria Labour Congress, NLC, Ebonyi state chapter and other affiliated unions at the Government House.

His words: “We are doing everything to protect the local government but unfortunately the present chairmen said they cannot afford to pay the 5 percent salary increase and I don’t have the powers to actually increase LG workers salaries.

“If the situation improves, I will increase the salary again. Workers should be happy that we are paying salaries on 15th of every month and it is never done anywhere in the country.

“No one else would do that for you. We can give bonus to everybody but since the workers are not appreciative of this fact, it seems we will stop the payment of the 13th month.

“Tell workers that what I promise to pay is promotion allowance and not leave allowance. No body discussed leave allowance with workers”.

from dailypost.

8 comments:

1. They can afford to pay the 5% increase, but They'll never pay it and wouldn't admit That there's money to pay.
    Government in Nigeria is wicked.

Your comment will be visible after approval.

2. Na WA. ..this man always talking like a dictator... Kilode... .any news from his state is always like his putting then in "Prison "

Former Govenor @Mathins Elechi OCHUDO did the same thing

Well, just be careful before @APC or @APGA take your government come 2019.....

@Ucha my man, I I am sure him seriously eyeing the seat already sef

@Anonymous Orubebe

3. Wicked government! They can always stash money away, spend on chicks, leave the good life that is not funded by their income but loots yet just small bucks that the masses who put them in that office need, they'll be saying jack. Una cup go soon full!

4. Is only in Nigeria that people you appoint to position of power to look after the affair of the people turn the same people that vote them into power to rags and talk dowm on them

5. You pay your workers on 15th of every month, while all eboyians know that for more than a year now, you actually pay 50% of their salary. Here you are making Noise.