Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Police Obtained A 90 Day Warrant To Detain Kidnap Kingpin Evans

Saturday, July 01, 2017

Police Obtained A 90 Day Warrant To Detain Kidnap Kingpin Evans

Assistant Commissioner of Police (ACP), Abba Kyari, has said the police obtained the court’s backing to detain the kidnap kingpin, Chukwudumeme Onwuamadike popularly known as Evans, for 90 days.

He said the detention warrant was obtained on June 21, 2017, contrary to insinuations in some quarters that Evans was being illegally held by the police,

Kyari explained the detention is to allow for thorough investigation of the suspect.

According to dailypost - He told the media yesterday: “All those who want Evans released did not know that the police had obtained a 90-day warrant to detain him.

“We envisaged that they would do that, hence we beat them to it.”

Evans had challenged his continued detention in court, describing it as illegal.

He prayed the court to order his immediate release if they cannot arraign him in court immediately..

In a fundamental rights enforcement suit filed on his behalf by a Lagos lawyer, Olukoya Ogungbeje, the kidnapper also asked for N300million damages from the police.

He also prayed the court for an order directing the respondents to immediately charge him to court if there is any case against him in accordance with Sections 35{1}{c} {3} {4} {5} {a} {6} and 36 of the 1999 Constitution.

*Ok detain him and Investigate....well more like it

22 comments:

1. They should take him to court already

1. Good morning. Police more evidence to properly nail him don't forget outcome of the court hearing will be base on evidence before the court.

2. Police already obtained an injunction to detain him for 3 months so as to allow investigation into his "kidnapping network"

Evans wants d police to charge him to court ASAP so doesn't divulge too much before his arraignment.

His claims in court is frivolous. He won't have his way.

2. 😥😥😥😥😥😥😥😥😥😥😥😥😥😥😥

3. Their is no way Evans will go Scott free, Nigerians will not sit this one out.he must be adjudicated

4. 90 days for what Abeg this whole thing is becoming shady.if they had enough to arrest him and even get a 90 days arrest warrant shouldn't they have charged him to court? Hmm... ��

1. Please read the post again and read the crap you just wrote.. it's not a matter of rushing to just comment, but do it with the common sense that you were supposed to be born with

5. They hurriedly went to get the warrant after Evans sued them... This is to show that the Nigerian police are jokers and I also want to believe everything that has been making news is actually true contrary to the statement released by the NPF that they were false... They need to sit up and not release everything to the media...

6. I understand what the police is 'stalling' for. You know they'll have to file proof of evidence before trial will commence proper and they cannot do this without gathering enough evidence during investigation cos it seems they discover new facts each day. Hurriedly charging him to court could mean having a fatal case to prove.

7. I heard Kyari and his team looted all the goodies found in Evans house!...
    All the money both in naira and in hard currency found in his save was looted including shoes and cloths even his children's own!..
    They only showed us what they want us to see!...
    Shameless hungry police people!...
    Thieves parading themselves as police officers!...
    This is why I don't go to police to report any crime...
    I do things my own way!...
    Rubbish!...

1. Well, You can't be far from da truth cos police people are extremely money 'mongerous'.

2. Of course the Police would be shameless to you while "Evans" would be an upstanding role model of a big man being persecuted.

The hungry Police were even jealous of his successes and had to steal his shoes and money.

I'm sure you deal with issues yourself by contacting your friends like Evans or other drug peddling thugs to either Kidnap or manhandle people better than you.

3. You do things you way, by involving yourself to the likes of Evans and his group

8. God will punish and destroy anybody that wants Evans released. After all the evil he has done someone is supporting him hm anger of God will locate them.

9. #People spend too much time looking for more, instead of appreciating what they already have. You should have attitude for gratitude*

10. Nigeria Police dey fall hand. Can't they arraign him first and then increase his charges if need be.........mtchewww