Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Policemen Shoot FRSC Officers For Stopping Abia Speaker’s Wife’s Car

Sunday, July 16, 2017

Policemen Shoot FRSC Officers For Stopping Abia Speaker’s Wife’s Car

The Abia State House of Assembly Speaker,  Chikwendu Kalu, on Saturday, allegedly ordered some policemen in the state to shoot officers of the Federal Road Safety Corps on patrol.

Eyewitnesses told SUNDAY PUNCH that the speaker gave the order when the FRSC officers stopped the Sport Utility Vehicle his wife was travelling in along the Umuikaa/Aba-Port Harcourt Expressway.

“When the vehicle was stopped (by the FRSC officials), the driver refused to stop, only for him to stop at a distance.

“The driver reversed the vehicle and it was discovered that a woman in the passenger seat in front, is an officer of the Department of State Services attached to the governor’s wife.

“The DSS officer ran towards the officer who stopped the vehicle, held him by uniform and dragged him to the ground, accusing him of hitting their vehicle,” a reliable source told SUNDAY PUNCH.

The source added that the speaker’s wife allegedly joined the policemen to beat the official.

“One of them called the speaker whose village is nearby. He then came with some policemen. He ordered them to shoot the armless officers who were sitting inside the patrol vehicle and mercilessly beat up the team leader.

“The policemen also forcefully opened the patrol vehicle and went away with the battery. They left the team leader and the other officials that were shot on the road. Other road users helped them to the hospital,” said the source.

The FRSC Corps Public Education Officer, Bisi Kazeem, confirmed the incident. He said the case had been “reported to the commissioner of police in the state for further investigations and that it won’t deter the FRSC from saving lives on the highways.”

When contacted, the Chief Press Secretary to the speaker Mr. Okey Chikwendu promised to confirm the incident and get back to our correspondent. He had yet to do so as of the time of filing this report.

Efforts to get the state Police Public Relations Officer, Mr. Geofrey Ogbonna, were unsuccessful as he neither picked calls made to his mobile nor responded to the text message sent.

19 comments:

1. Impunity at the highest other!May God save us in this great nation.

2. This is what happened during one of Pius Anyim's road trips several years ago.
    The Policemen that shot on that day are still languishing in Prison while the man who they were escorting is still alive and still playing on the political scene.

3. I wonder ooooo..imagine agbara aye used on dem....

Louts parading themselves as Speakers wife

Mc pinky

4. ...and you all want state policing abi. una never see anything

5. Lawless country useless uniform men

6. Welcome to the Animal Kingdom...
    Where the fittest survive...
    The Country has turned a Jungle...
    Right before our eyes...
    Brace up yourselves...
    For we shall conquer...

1. You just summarized this accurately. This is the banana Republic they desperately want. A lawless state where chaos is the order of the day. Bunch of obnoxious idiots!

7. This should not be swept under the carpet,this should be taken up by higher authorities or it will become a normal thing.
    But then the leaders should know that revolution becomes inevitable when things like this continue.

8. Like seriously?, why are we reading this and not the punishment melted out to those miscreants including the speaker and his wife?. Irresponsible leaders in this country

9. Nothing surprises me anymore in this country....

10. FRSC men are equally useless and annoying so I have no pity for them

1. You know that.
      They can be very annoying. I'm very sure they hit the car.

2. You wrote my mind, they deserve all that & more very useless pple

11. If this story is true and these power drink scoundrels are allowed to get away with this, then Nigeria is truly finished.

12. The Mad house called a country. What baffles me is the misplaced sense of importance that an average Nigerian ascribes to the smallest position. So your car is hit, and the next thing to do is to shoot a man. Even animals in the jungle don't do shit for doing sake.