Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Bus Passengers And Drivers Abducted In River State..

Wednesday, August 30, 2017

Bus Passengers And Drivers Abducted In River State..

Suspected kidnappers have hijacked a commercial bus and abducted 11 passengers and its driver, in Rivers State.

The bandits struck, on Monday night, in Ndele-Elele axis of East-West road, in Emohua Local Government Area of the state.

Daily Sun
gathered that the victims boarded the bus at Rumuokoro, Obio/Akpor Local Government Area at about 7:00p.m in Port Harcourt and were travelling to Ndele, Elele and Ahoada, respectively.

Sources from Rumuokoro Motor Park in the State capital, said the incident occurred barely an hour later in the journey.

The sources further said that 18 passengers and the driver, bringing the number of the occupants of the bus to 19, were in the vehicle before the incident occurred around 8:00p.m.

Further reports revealed that some other in the bus passengers narrowly escaped the kidnap.

Mr. Bright Welekwe, one of the victims, who escaped from the kidnapper that night, gave details in a telephone conversation with journalists.

Welekwe narrated that 18 people entered the bus at Rumuokoro, noting that three of the passengers whose destination was Ndele, had just alighted before the incident.

He stated that the bus after about two minutes drive from a police check point on the road, was intercepted by an armed gang and all the remaining 17 persons in the vehicle were forced into the bush on gun point.

He disclosed that when the 17 victims were forced into the bush, after a long walk, he sneaked into the bush and found his way back to the road.

Welekwe added that, when he got to the road, where the bus was abandoned, he meet four of the passengers, who also escaped.

According to him, it was at that point, the policemen later came to rescue the five of them.

Welekwe said: “We were 19 that boarded a bus from Rumuokoro going to Ahoada. But, when we got to Ndele, three persons dropped. After they dropped, it did not take long, within the bush between Ndele and Elele Alimini, hoodlums ambushed us and tried to take us inside the bush. I escaped with four other passengers before police personnel arrived the scene.

“But, I am sure they did not recover the rest people that night. Even, with the help of soldiers, police officers carried five of us to a place where we saw another vehicle and joined to our destination”, he narrated.

The State Police Command has confirmed the incident and intensified efforts to rescue the victims and track down the hoodlums.

21 comments:

1. Around that same area a woman was shot by armed robbers in the early hours of yesterday. The whole nation is in turmoil.

1. When a sitting governor will open his mouth and carry machete to threaten people. Boasting of how bloody his state will be in 2019, what else will one expect. Rivers state is now a den of all manner of scavengers lead by the governor himself. I doubt if those passengers are still alive. People should beware of how they move in these dangerous times. How can you leave all the hours in the day to board a vehicle at 7pm. What if the car spoils on the road?

2. Haaa! What is happening? Someone cannot board commercial vehicle in peace again .. God help us

3. Hmmmm...Rivers State! no offense to Wike Supporters o! But when you've had hoodlums and semi-cultists as leaders, what would expect to happen?

4. Chei my darling rivers state.when did you become a lions den.God save them amen

5. Jesus Christ, Port-Harcourt is becoming more worse everyday.😩😩😩

6. Oh no. I hope they are all rescued in one piece. Thank God for those that escaped. May God protect the rest. Amen.

7. Wike should clap for himself. He has single handedly turned rivers state into the most dangerous state in nigeria

8. B4 nko? What do u expect frm an ez cultist state leadership... This is just d begginning..

9. Some one cannot travel in peace again.

10. But everybody knows that road is dangerous at night and early hours of the morning. in fact from 6:30pm- 7am anything can happen on that road. God please deliver those passengers.

11. Hian, not again, so much evils,may God guidiance and protection be with us all. Amen

12. And me when ever i am travelling on that road i like leaving warri late 9-10pm most times 11 i dae road. Will have to stop.

1. U go soon get wetin u dey find

2. U didn't read where i wrote i will have to stop abi eye heavy you for there,na u go help me get the tin u think say i dae find.

13. This is the kinds of news romancing rivers state now thanks to our leaders

14. River state at it again? People should stop late night movement

15. Barracudianusaurusunamon - that "u go soon get wetin you dey find" comment struck me with laughter really, LOL. but truly, you shouldn't be travelling by that time, please, be careful.

this nation is in turmoil really, hijacking, kidnapping, killing, the Boko haram and their sour issues, Naija delta terrorism, Biafra madness, only one country? LOL.

if there is indeed a God, he should help soon, with the way things are going, they might sell Nigeria to the highest EU bidder. ( :

cheers.

Q.E.D.

16. I know strange things are happening in the world but Rivers State is fast turning in sumtin else.The blood shed and evil in d land is getting too much.Lord please heal the land