Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gov Fayose Explains Why He Did Not Attend President Buhari's Meeting With State Governors

Saturday, August 26, 2017

Gov Fayose Explains Why He Did Not Attend President Buhari's Meeting With State Governors

The Governor of Ekiti State, Ayodele Fayose, said that he could not abandon a planned event to attend an ‘impromptu’ meeting with President Muhammadu Buhari in Abuja.

The governor was apparently reacting to insinuations that he shunned Friday’s meeting between the president and some governors.

In a series of tweets, Mr. Fayose said he received the invitation to the meeting with the president, while preparation for his traditional installation as the Apesin of Ado Ekiti was in top gear adding that “he could not have abandoned his guests for an impromptu meeting with the president.”

“For those insinuating that I shunned the president’s meeting with governors, I didn’t. I had my installation as Apesin of Ado Ekiti slated for today.

“Guests were already in Ekiti since yesterday for the chieftaincy title installation before I received notice of the meeting with the President.

“There was no how I could have abandoned the people here in Ado Ekiti for the impromptu meeting with the President,’’ Mr. Fayose said in the tweets.

Apart from meeting with the state governors, Mr. Buhari also met with the leadership of the two major parties, APC and PDP, behind closed doors at the Banquet Hall of the Presidential Villa, Abuja.

The meeting was attended by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo, chairman of the APC, John Odigie-Oyegun, and the caretaker chairman of the PDP, Ahmed Makarfi.

from Nationalhelm

15 comments:

1. But the President is his boss and can summon him at short notice. He can only be excused if he is incapacitated or bereaved, in any case he will send his deputy to represent him. Is collecting chieftaincy tittle one of his duties as a Governor?

1. The president is not a boss to a state governor. He does not report to him. If he calls for a meeting and is not convenient he can choose not to attend and he cannot be sanctioned. President is a boss to his aides and vice.

2. Prayer lady eiyaaah for your level of ignorance. Kpele dear

3. Boss to which Governor? Please o, the Governor is not subject to their President o!

The President cannot sanction a Governor, he cannot be reprimanded by a President as in the eyes of our constitution they are partners in the federation.

Anonymous 11:44, please go back to secondary school to help your ignorance.

2. This man's own is getting too much. If they don't invite you, you'll complain, they invited you, another excuse. Na wa!

3. This man's own is getting too much. If they don't invite you, you'll complain, they invited you, another excuse. Na wa!

4. He can't leave his visitors because of unhealthy meeting.. Olybekee Amawbia ugbo ogiriga

5. Abeggi! His presence sef wouldn't have brought positive vibe to the meeting. His dislike for the man is over the moon

6. Well, though I am not a fan of his, his reason is quite genuine.
    Thank goodness that PMB is getting better by the day despite the hatred and evil insinuations.
    #NigeriaWillBeGreat