Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Oba Of Benin Explains Why Elderly Man Was Chased From The Palace But Denies Ordering Disgraceful Eviction.

Friday, August 25, 2017

Oba Of Benin Explains Why Elderly Man Was Chased From The Palace But Denies Ordering Disgraceful Eviction.

The Oba of Benin, His Royal Majesty, Oba Ewuare II,has reacted to news reports concerning the embarrassing eviction of an alleged Benin chief from the Palace.

In a statement signed by his Chief Press Secretary, Desmond Agbama, the Oba dismissed the claim that the man was a Benin chief.

He also said that though the elderly man was found with “abominable objects,” he (Oba) never ordered him to be manhandled. “For the avoidance of doubt, the man in question is not a chief in Benin Kingdom as has been ascribed to him. 

“The man came to the palace in the company of those who had issues to resolve at the palace but he violated the norms of the Benin custom and tradition and was found carrying on his person abominable objects forbidden by Benin custom and tradition,” the statement read in part. “At no time did the Oba order the man to be manhandled.

“The persons who escorted the man out of the palace may have over-reacted themselves in their efforts to protect the tradition and culture of the Benin people and the sanctity of the palace. However, the Oba of Benin has ordered a full investigation into the incident,”‎ it added.

from heraldng

22 comments:

1. the land of culture

2. Na so....
    Damage control tinzπŸ™„

1. Nothing like damage control there...this is d absolute truth

2. Shut up your mouth before the ancestors strike you down wherever you may be.😠😠😠You people will come to the Internet to say shit about certain issues you ought not to even mention and when you start facing difficulties, you start suspecting your innocent parents, accusing them of troubling you spiritually when you re actually the cause of your predicament.

3. Man old enough to be ur father....nawa...benin ppl and culture even in dis century

1. When a man old enough to be your father start acting like a kid you treat him as one

2. Even if you are as old as Methusalah, when it comes to the Oba, you must accord him his respect.Please mind your mouth ok because we Binis re not the only people practising their culture in this century.

3. Century or not....the binis uphold tradition alot. ..

He being an elder in Benin kingdom should knw by now that it is an abominable act punishable by laws of the land to enter into the oba's palace with charms

No matter how strong u are, u must drop all ur person charms at d gate before entering into the palace let alone seeing the oba face to face....if I, a very young child before him know this, then he should knw better

4. This happened on Thursday 17th August, 2017 in my presence.
    Dr. Ogiugo was summoned to Obas's Palace over land issue because he constituted an impediment to the peaceful resolution of the matter by his Odionwere. He bluntly refused to kneel down before the Oba to say his own side of the issue at stake.
    Being a traditional setting, it was sensed that Ogiugo came fully armed and was immediately asked to remove his top (shirt). As he was removing his shirt, some charms (ekhuae and akpalode) fell from his pocket. That resulted in curses being placed on him and declaration as "oghion Oba".

1. Thanks for this explanation anon.....an "oghion oba"(oba's enemy) is "ogien evbo"(enemy of d land)

I don't see this man living long or prospering again tho. His family must do d needful too to avoid generational stories dt hurts

2. Can you just imagine! Oghion oba gele wano.

3. U are so right anon and to think he's the father inlaw to hon Mathew iduekewmen. Everything u said is the truth

5. This happened on Thursday 17th August, 2017 in my presence.
    Dr. Ogiugo was summoned to Obas's Palace over land issue because he constituted an impediment to the peaceful resolution of the matter by his Odionwere. He bluntly refused to kneel down before the Oba to say his own side of the issue at stake.
    Being a traditional setting, it was sensed that Ogiugo came fully armed and was immediately asked to remove his top (shirt). As he was removing his shirt, some charms (ekhuae and akpalode) fell from his pocket. That resulted in curses being placed on him and declaration as "oghion Oba".

1. am looking at u with side eyes. are u one of the men who rough handled him?

*hangs leg on the wall*

2. Thank you for explaining, na now I know understand the story

3. @Pastor's daughter, Didn't you read where he wrote that the man came to the palace with jazz? So what's wrong if he was manhandled, they didn't even beat him sef.πŸ˜…God save am say I nor dey there,na broom I for nack for he fetish head. they were only neutralising the effects of the jazz he brought to the palaceπŸ˜›πŸ˜›πŸ˜›

This anon writes like my uncle, anon re you Prince Ewe..πŸ˜…πŸ˜…πŸ˜…

6. Replies
    1. Yes dear, hail us bcx we knw how to uphold our tradition

7. Oba ghatorkpere, iseyyyyyy.

Emjay.