Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Prof. Ganiyu Urges FG To Ban The Importation Of Skin Bleaching Creams

Thursday, August 17, 2017

Prof. Ganiyu Urges FG To Ban The Importation Of Skin Bleaching Creams

An immunologist and Head, Department of Chemical Pathology, at the University College Hospital, (UCH), Prof. Ganiyu Arinola, Ibadan has called for a ban on the importation of bleaching creams.

Arinola, who made the call on Wednesday in an interview, in Ibadan, Oyo State, said the measure was necessary to safeguard the health of Nigerians.

The professor described bleaching as the lightening of the skin or the loss of pigment.

Accoding to him, bleaching creams weaken the immunity of the skin and to some extent, the body.

“Commonly used bleaching creams are: Movate, Skin-light, Make-Me Light and many more that have flooded the Nigerian market,” he said.

Arinola said skin bleaching is practiced by black people of all ages, and both sexes, with higher prevalence among the young and unmarried, for fame or cosmetic purposes.

He said that bleaching was also due to misconceptions about the presumed superiority and desirability of fair skin over the dark skin.

The Chemical Pathology professor said that the disadvantage of bleaching was that the creams cause disruption in the normal immunologic functions of the skin.

“We carried out different studies at different times in the laboratory, on dogs, cockroaches, mites and mouse.

“The studies all showed that skin lightening creams caused disruption in the normal protective functions of the human skin and certain blood parameters

“I therefore urge those involved in this harmful practice to desist from doing so,” he advised.

-Culled from NAN

37 comments:

1. Yea...bleaching the skin causes angina pectoris! That's heart attack when the absorbed cream enters into the blood stream through the skin.Bleachers club,black is beautiful and be proud of your skin colour.

1. You are talking of the the steroids and mercury filled cheap products. Natural lighten creams with mulberry, licorice and vitamin C don't cause heart attack.

2. Anonymous 10:05...how can you alter skin pigmentation with adverse effects?

2. Stella this picture is so horrible, lol. Seriously though, people really need to love themselves. This craze for whiteness is just sad because we're using our own hands to invite skin diseases et al

1. Omo, dat picture is scary.

I went to buy soap 2days ago in a big shop,the size of a small room filled with bleaching soaps, creams and body wash.. I took one and checked the back and saw made from recycled products..i lost interest in all of them.

3. Bleaching also cause cancer! Whether we like to accept it or not doesn't stop the truth.

They're better way to tone your skin naturally, not with those deadly chemicals.

The president (Toke Makinwa) of bleachers association of Nigeria should take note.

1. You are right! Small toning dosent harm.
      Lmaoooo @ your last paragraph! Leave our babygeh 4 life o.
      She should know better.

4. Bob Risky and Dencia are coming for you.

5. I have nothing against people who wants to bleach. ..I only have a problem with people who bleach their kids..I think it wickedNess. .My neighbour is bleaching her 4 year old..You should see the poor girls face...very sad

1. Your neighbour is suffering from inferiority complex and she also gat slave mentality!

In a country where there is social welfare/workers, that child can be taken from her easily.
      She's endangering the life of that innocent child.

I detest women who use bleaching cream on their kids. They are evil.

2. We live in the UK. ..don't know how the social workers would know..You should see that girls face...very very sad..I don't get how she doesn't see the harm on the poor girls face..

3. Don't blame your neighbour. Maybe her daughter came out dark from the womb and she has been forming fairness is in the family so she taking drastic steps to turn her child to snow white.

6. abi oo tell them, nothing will ever make me bleach my skin colour.Beside am chocolate in complexion so i dnt knw why i should nd i ve yet to see that reason!

7. How about the ones manufactured locally, what plans have been put in place to regulate the production.

8. If una like ban bleaching cream, ppl will still mix d mixable to get what they want.

Bleaching is a sin, Bleachers take note;!!!! We all can't be fair as my pretty sef; Ms SSS or white like bv M-amie

1. Lollll with that your face/body that you're always begging for help and advice?
      Lollll, was it not you asking for what to mix with soap yesterday?
      How to treat pimples?
      Last week you were battling first sized pimples. 2 weeks ago you said it was rashes. Body like a panda, skin like back of yam. *yimu

9. Prof should please make our 731 exams a walk over. Tired of failing abeg

10. Replies
    1. Dem over boko sef. Face hands, nyash and legs.

2. I agree with the ban. All bleaching creams from Ivory-Coast and Congo should be banned.

All steroid tube cream should made available through doctor's prescription only(that includes Funbact-a Skineal and the like) Nigerians don't take the pain to know the composition of what they put on their skin.

11. Bleaching is badoo stay off it

12. Yeah am really dark and even at this stage of my life i still feel if i stop being dark skinned, i will be ugly...plenty people have tried to convince to lighten small, my reply is always " i will disown myself before i finish the bleaching".

1. Plenty people tried to convince you to lighten small because you're so important abi? Keep on deceiving yourself

13. Hope they will also ban jik and hypo cos that pic there rep the use of hypo or jik

14. Even if you want bleach and look like a ghost, once the skin is not fresh,smooth and clean complexion, I'm not looking,nor admiring.
    What I look at it's how smooth, clean and fresh the skin looks not your complexion.
    Who dirty fair complexion or ihu fanta okpa cocoa help? I'm fair/light in complexion btw, but still admire some dark complexion people who know how to maintain their skin colour.

Bottom line, whether you're fair, light, dark,ebony or chokobrawn, don't allow your skin to look dirty.

chim-oma a.k.a. Miss Kapusu

15. Even if you want bleach and look like a ghost, once the skin is not fresh,smooth and clean complexion, I'm not looking,nor admiring.
    What I look at it's how smooth, clean and fresh the skin looks not your complexion,and that's my first attraction.
    Who dirty fair complexion or ihu fanta okpa cocoa help? I'm fair/light in complexion btw, but still admire some dark complexion people who know how to maintain their skin colour.

Bottom line, whether you're fair, light, dark,ebony or chokobrawn, don't allow your skin to look dirty.

chim-oma a.k.a. Miss Kapusu

16. oga if you want ban,we have local manufacturers and it is more effective.shift abeg i ban Ngbokwu #ban ko banner ni.mtchewww

17. This blog visitors I fear.when they talk about bleaching,everyone screams how bad and disgusting it is.how they love their dark skin..so which people r buying bleaching creams becos d sellers r making good profit..when it comes to sex,every girl on dis blog is a mermaid.when it comes to relationship,every girl here has a very rich boyfriend and millionaire toasters,but begs on posts.Am just saying,the fabu no Dey add up..

18. See this one..keep using it na..

19. Black Skin... White mask (Inferiority complex).