Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Senate Stands With Buhari,

Wednesday, August 09, 2017

Senate Stands With Buhari,

The Senate has cautioned the sponsors and participants in the protests by a coalition of civil society organizations, operating under the aegis of #OurMumuDonDo, and demanding for the resignation of President Muhammadu Buhari over his medical vacation in the United Kingdom to stop heating up the polity with their unreasonable demands.

In a statement signed by its spokesman, Dr. Aliyu Sabi Abdullahi, the Senate said the protesters were only creating unnecessary tension in the country and seeking to divert the attention of the Presidency from the economic and security issues which are being tackled with vigour.

The Senate noted that President Buhari had complied with the provisions of the nation’s grundnorm, the Constitution, which stipulated that he must handover to the Vice President and duly inform the two chambers of the legislature about his medical vacation.

“The President has broken no law and therefore we do not see any justification for this diversion and noise making. The sponsors are merely seeking cheap publicity at the expense of the peace of Nigeria. We, in the National Assembly, are satisfied that there is no vacuum. The Federal Government is working. Acting President Yemi Osinbajo is providing the required leadership. So, there is no reason for the protests.

“All Nigerians now should focus on praying for the safe return of the President. We in the Senate are happy about the report by the Governors and party leaders who recently visited President Buhari in London and we know he will soon return to continue to provide leadership to our people and the rest of Africa.

“We therefore call on the protesters to stop all these demonstrations and let their sense of patriotism overshadow the zeal for activism by joining other Nigerians to pray for the President, the acting President and Nigeria as a country at this critical period”, Abdullahi stated.

from sunnewsonline

16 comments:

1. Idiots.

Charly Boy and co, don't listen to them

They think we are stupid. Mount pressure on them till they do the right thing.

He should kuku resign and let osibanjo take over officially or whoever is in line to take over.

1. Charly boy and co shouldnt listen abi? Shea you will come down here to join dem in d protest that almost claimed lives yesterday? Okay!
      Na naija we dey, me cant go join 'protesters' whether in support of something or not sha.

2. Fools😠😠😠😠😠😠😠😠

3. Idiots.

Charly Boy and co, don't listen to them

They think we are stupid. Mount pressure on them till they do the right thing.

He should kuku resign and let osibanjo take over officially or whoever is in line to take over.

1. Who be the whoever na? He's the ONLY one in line?

Na after him others follow!

4. Why won't they stand by him, bunch of failures

5. Birds of a feather flock together. This is the case of Nigerian politicians.
    So PMB's leave does not have expiry date abi because he handed over to "coordinating president" osibajo. He can as well re-run from London sef. I just tata for the useless Constitution.

6. Before nko, who would they have stood with?

7. This comment has been removed by the author.

8. I like Nigerians a lot, I can kill anyone and walk away with murder even if I am not Viola Davies, in the mid to late 90s a certain Charlie Boy Oputa was one of those who led the million man match for General Sani Abacha to continue his reign in Nigeria I don't wanna say reign of tyranny even though I am tempted to. I remember watching it on NTA and Zaaki Azzay was one of the numerous individuals on that roaster.
    Anyways the same folks today are leading the match against Buhari not that it is wrong o, In fact it is within their rights as citizens to demand for their presidents resignation if they feel he is not doing what he was elected to do. I am not in anyway in support of what happmmmened yesterday while the same Charlie Boy was leading the protest.
    But I didn't see Nigerians protest or demand for Diezani's head even though it is on record she alone stole our 3 years budget. I didn't see these attention and relevance seeking Nigerians match for the unity of our great country, No! We like murderers, we like thieves and like Asa said, I hear my baby say I wan be president so I go thief money for my government... So I can be celebrated.. .. Regardless of how much anyone tries to convince me Mr Charles Oputa mA.K.A Charmlie boy A.K.A Area Fada does not have my respect even though my heart is filled with sympathy for what happened to him. But the memories of the late 90s will never depart from me. We lost Fela, we lost Abiola even though I do not know why we celebrate him. We lost kudirat and people got away with murder.

Kaycee Eguejiofor

9. How come y'all are surprised? They are united by a common cause. Don't ask me abeg!

*Ghanaman signing out*

10. I think Nigeria doesn't have a constitution.

chim-oma a.k.a. Miss Kapusu

11. The fear of bubu is the beginning of support for him

12. It is clear when it comes to matters of the inner caucus, their is unity up there for those at the peak of the pyramid... the youths keep blabbing and making the most noise on social media because they have been deceived that social media ousted the last administration so they think it's by tweeting and saying jargons online... one day, i hope and pray we all don't go the way of Venezuela and until we begin to think and act like Brazil when it comes to handling corruption cases from the top, i don't see how we gonna get to be the giant of Africa as we thought we are...

#JustPasserBy

13. This breaks my heart. Nigeria makes me feel sick all the time. Why are people so power drunk? Our politicians will face the wrath of God!