Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Time For August Meeting

Thursday, August 03, 2017

Time For August Meeting

The month of August every year witnesses a massive homecoming from different towns and cities across the world of “Igbo women” groups to their matrimonial rural hometowns, where they unite with their rural-based colleagues for what is now popularly known as the “August Meeting.”  

Who is preparing for August meeting this year?

Can you give us a little insight and gist into yours and what actually happens during the meeting?

33 comments:

1. What is it about?I know nothing about August meeting,those who know should come enlighten me biko.

1. It's mostly about contributing financially to the growth of the church.

The meeting lasts for 3 days. 2 days for members, a day for executive members.

During the meeting, women come with various items they donate in form of offertory and those same items are sold off too just like they do in bazaar.

The realized cash Is put into treasury bag.

Most times, the church map out a particular and mount of money they want the women to donate. The money is then divided equally among d members (there's usually an attendance book for all the members both home and abroad).

This amount is not always much. I think the highest amount I've donated in 1 sitting is 2k or so. Can't remember.

This amount of money can be paid then or later. All they know is d money must be collected before you enter 6feets. Which is why a clearance form has to be obtained from them before any member can be buried.

If u r married and not a member till u die, they will only give d family a clearance form after they pay some money. Don't really know d amount. I heard it's BTW 50-100k.

Some also donate cash voluntarily. ( this is d part some women try to over do and oppress themselves)

The church has a uniform for d meetings. So no wrapper and blouse oppression whatever.

For Catholics, it's d usual cwo wrapper and the China white blouse ( the blouse is the same design for everyone). The blouse has to cover your cleavage very well leaving little room for any neck piece u want to show off sef.

You don't dare wear something else, u'll be fined heavily and embarrassed If u do.

Even Governor wives who I have seen in some attendance wear the same uniform.

2. This August Meeting video that came out 7 years ago, you all cant believe it that i have not watched it. Una sure say i dey this country?

August meeting is all about who wears better blouse, gorge, head tie, get plenty monies, who are on same level with you, who to rub shoulders with. The ones wey no fit buy clothes up to N30,000 get seat for back. They always give them small seat wey carpenter carves.

Abeg jare, let me go and see if i can eat morning food.

Someone is making me annoyed this morning and it is just affecting my communication with people, seems am just getting harsh instead of listening to what they are complaining of. May God help me Amen

1. Who is making my yori yori princess angry?
      A cup of hot tea fall on him or her😁

You too try and listen to their complaint and may God grant you patience to hear them out. Amen

2. From my calculation the movie is like 15 years ago.

Lol@ your 2nd paragraph... I just pictured all the female BVs coming together for the August meeting, Lol... Maka Chi wahala ga adi makwa πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚
      Yori Yori Nwa

3. I've heard this before that it's for show off.

My sister's MIL wanted her to go with her for it but God answered her prayer. She no kuku get strength for that kind thing.

3. Omeleme, Omeleme, Life!
    Ngwanu o, come and gist us o ndi nne ma ma.

Heard Her Excellency Mrs AishaBuhari will be in Owerri to open the meeting. True or False?

1. Lol
      False
      Medusa espeakilekwene ozo maka confuse ga adi makwa.. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

2. Yesss pipi,I remember omeleme omeleme.Thank God i am not in ala owerri. can imagine the traffic there right now.

3. Nwanna international!
      The banners are all over owerri na.

Chicky...I swear, starting this weekend, traffic will be tight.

4. Can single women attend?
    Cos I have one heavy wrapper I inherited from my maternal granny,an iyom society woman, oche Eze!! I greet you.

1. πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ
      I think it's only for married women just like Christian mothers and CWO women in (catholic) churches.
      I maybe wrong though.

2. No Bloggie. You are not wrong. It's only for married women

3. But, visitors are also welcome to watch them display their different talents.

5. I used to be a fan of "August meeting" even though i'm not actually Igbo per say!

I love it, I used to go to the East with my ex boyfriend and sometimes with my man Igbo girlfriends (most of my friends were/are Igbo). I just flow better with Igbo people.

I enjoyed myself those days. I miss the East.

6. Nne kedu ije group of sdk blog as some of us have been tagged,
    Let us prepare our 'abada' and white blouse.

August meeting is last Saturday of this month.

Time is 12noon
    Venue is sdkvillagesquare

Be punctual as late comers will be fined 50k and an old layer 'okuku'(chicken)

New members are welcome
    πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

1. 1. Is there a fee for new members?
      2. Is it gorge or hollandaise?
      3. Which lace are we using for thr white top?
      4. What do we bring so we can sit at the front?
      5. Can I tie that type of head gear that can make those at the back not see what's happening on the front??

2. BLOGLORD the real MVBM I clear road for you πŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™Œ
      Ude gi na ede na mba n'ile. Oke nwanyi, Nwa ka Nwa.

Biko who are the nne kedu ije group? I always read that but I don't know who they are..

3. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚fab mama, yes, new members are to pay 100k
      10 cartons of star Radler
      10 cartons of malt
      1 bag of rice and
      1 goat

Question 2,3 And 4 answers will be supplied by our Chairlady. The most gracious Chief LE herselfπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚ But in her absence, the secretary Pipilistic will do a fantastic job in providing answers.

@ question 5. That headgear is called 'canopy.' That is the very 'ichofor' to tie. So yes, pls do.
      πŸ˜‚πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ

Nwanna international,
      Nwoke bu Nwanna.
      Odogwu!
      Nna, nde ewo.
      As it is now, nne kedu ije group is for everybody and nobodyπŸ˜‚πŸ˜ƒπŸ˜ƒ
      Ensure you register Chiki to join in.

You are most welcome amiable Mrs R.
      RSVP.😍

4. Abeg, I got maried last night
      My attendance isn't negotiable. Will be there live!
      Lemme go and bring out the wrappers I inherited from my grandmother.

5. Bloggie abeg who do I pay to? I can't wait πŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒπŸ’ƒ.

Let's do white Swiss lace with enuf openings 😜 and hollandias.

7. Kai I remember this film years ago, very nice movie,ndi nne mama, isokwa! the movie sweet die.

8. I guess August meeting is different from new yam festival?

9. Lol@yori yori.how u go watch am na when u are always busy with telemundo.Kai yori yori ur English wa die o.how u dey communicate with peeps for dat ur office sef.

10. August meeting where Igbo women go to show off latest George and hollandaise wrappers.the ones that their hubby ain't rich go do runs and all sorts to meet up.

11. Primarily, it is a time for social, moral and spiritual retreat for women.