Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Callywood Studios Boss Egor Efiok Talks About The 2 Films Set To Premiere In Calabar, Hollywood And Las Vegas

Saturday, September 16, 2017

Callywood Studios Boss Egor Efiok Talks About The 2 Films Set To Premiere In Calabar, Hollywood And Las Vegas

Callywood Studios Boss Egor Efiok in this very short interview talks about the  premiere of "The Father", a feature length film and "I Am Bassey", a short film  set to premiere in Calabar this Sunday 17th September, Los Angeles on 23rd September and Las Vegas on 24th September, respectively. 

This would be the first time, that ‎a Nigerian film will be premiered in Las Vegas and the prestigious Jewish community in Vegas would be there to witness and support this iconic event. 

SDK blog exclusively reported in September 2016 when Egor Efiok, signed a contract with Hollywood Weekly Magazine Film Festi‎val (HWMFF) to screen all Callywood films on their platform. Governor Ayade was also given an Image Award and gift for his incorporation of Callywood. Additionally, he covered Hollywood Weekly Magazine.
We also published the event from the press conference.

Egor Efiok reveals to SDK that this will be a yearly event and that the theme is "Callywood Goes To Hollywood And Vegas". 

She says: "The reason we have taken this long to release these films is because myself and Charlz Archibong are perfectionists. Callywood Studios have actually shot 4 films, "Murder On The Monorail" (a short horror film), "Kibeban" (a short Bette film), "I Am Bassey" (a short Efik film) and "The Father" (a Bette film); but although all 4 films would be available for viewing, we are only premiering our last 2 films, "I Am Bassey" and "The Father" worldwide, as they are our best. We are very fussy about things like sound, therefore we do ADR for all our films.

When I took up this job, I promised myself to shoot Callywood films Hollywood style and use our films to sell tourism, so that even if we shoot in villages, the picture quality, sound and cinematography would always stand out and wow our audience. I am confident enough now to enter both films into awards and film festivals like: Berlin Film Festival, Cannes, Toronto, BFI, AMMA, AFRIFF, Abuja, Venice, NAFCA, AMVCA etc. I will put them in as many film festivals as possible and hopefully, they'd win awards.

SDK also noticed that Governor Ayade's name is on the poster of "The Father" as both the Executive Producer and storyteller. Storyteller? Did he really provide the story?‎ 

Egor: Oh yes, indeed! He gave us the main story, we only spiked it up a bit. Governor Ayade is a man of many talents, people who do not know him would be amazed at how vast his intelligence is. What happened was that after I wrote "Kibeban", he watched it and liked the idea and actor, Khing Bassey (Tinsel) who played the Reverend Father, but felt that the story had too many plots. 

He commented that Khing Bassey looked like Ramsey Noah. He then gave me this new story and asked me to fly Khing Bassey back to Calabar to play the Reverend Father again. Unfortunately, Khing Bassey was unavailable, as he was on set in Lagos, but I found the perfect replacement in Michael Okon (Delilah).

In fact, this role was made for Mike. He owned it and carried the film so well, his acting held everyone spellbound on set. I would love to cast himself and Khing Bassey as brothers in another film. Both guys are top dudes.

Nollywood veterans  expected to attend the Calabar premiere this Saturday include amongst others. Norbert and Gloria Young, Patrick Doyle, Keppy Ekpenyong, Charles Novia, Sam Dede, Shan George, Monalisa Chinda-Coker, Ireti Osayemi-Bakare, Ime Bishop Umoh and Best Of Nollywood (BON) Awards CEO, Seun Oloketuyi,Michael Okon and Dezign (musician) ar
e confirmed guests. 

Thin Tall Tony of the BBNaija fame is the red carpet host.

This is a great Initiative by Callywood Studios as a lot of Cross River State Youth are already benefiting from it.

Egor Efiok (Director General, Callywood) will represent Governor Ayade and collect his second Hollywood Award on his behalf.

Produced by Egor Efiok, Directed by Charlz Archibong, Story by His Excellency Senator Professor Ben Ayade and Egor Efiok. 

Below are posters, teasers and trailers of "I Am Bassey", "The Father" and "Kibeban" below.

more videos  can be seen on Egor's Instagram page: @egorefiokladyboss‎

https://youtu.be/vA5OQNWF8dk (I Am Bassey: Teaser)‎

https://youtu.be/JTKvBMaqGZQ (The Father: Final Trailer)

https://youtu.be/xv-8ot2zPeY (The Father: 1st Teaser)

https://youtu.be/vQP7f3pVpH4 (The Father: 2nd Teaser)‎

https://youtu.be/2-akfuXHn-0 (Kibeban: Teaser)‎

12 comments:

1. I have a very strong urge to start a YouTube channel just eating like the lady who has a channel just eating pickles loudly into the microphone.
    Hope say una go subscribe LOL.

2. Nice one from her. God bless her hustle

3. Hello! Am new here. ������

4. Stella,I hope she paid for this advert..
    No friends in business oh!..

1. LMAO 😁 @ no friends in business
      Egor Agu Nwanyi!

5. Why she no go pay?she is up to it

6. Why is it only here I read aabout this callywood boss?

7. #Never let the things you want make you forget the things you have*

8. Where's the premier holding exactly? Bassey(BBN), who is an actor, should have been more involved than TTT, who's a dancer. Oh well, na dem sabi

9. Very, very nice. Keep up the great work Ms. Egor of Callywood.