Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Current Woeful State of Nigeria National Stadium, Surulele Lagos

Tuesday, September 26, 2017

Current Woeful State of Nigeria National Stadium, Surulele Lagos

You wont believe this!!!

National Stadium Of Prostitutes, Drug Peddlers, Beer And Pepper Soup Joints

Built in 1972, the National Stadium served as a training center for Nigerian athletes, established and aspiring, but has since become a haven for prostitutes and drug peddlers, apart from serving as a food and drink joint.

A year after it was built, the National Stadium became the center of attraction as the All Africa Games came underway. For 11 days, the stadium hosted world leaders and leading sports professionals. Nigeria went on to win 63 medals, including gold in football, which pitched the country second only next to Egypt.

With a capacity of 45,000 seats, the National Stadium, in some other clime, could have been a source of huge revenue for the federal government. 

From Playground To Urchin Hangout

The National Stadium has become a popular hangout for young boys, many of whom run errands for older men.

“If your child is not under the care of a good coach, he is not safe in the stadium because there are plenty of bad boys all over the place,” a boxing coach told our reporter. “Some of the ‘agbayas’ also send them to buy ‘Igbo’ [marijuana],” adding that his trainees do not run such errands.

Fun City

Although the National Stadium has long lost its shine as a sport center, it certainly does well as a social center, particularly at night. Perhaps the more flourishing businesses in the sport complex are those that offer food and drinks, with chilled beers and spicy ‘Nkwobi’ and pepper soup as main attractions. Beyond these are women who come to strut their stuff, hoping to strike a deal for the night.

Little to Cheer

Undoubtedly, the stadium is an embarrassment to many Nigerians today, but Amanda and her mother are happy for the opportunity to use the stadium even in its poor state. Six-year-old Amanda was one of the participants of the Olumide Ayodeji basketball camp.

More Talk, Less Action

Solomon Dalung, Minister for Youth and Sports, visited the stadium in March this year and acknowledged that it was in shambles.
“The national stadium, which was regarded as a monument of our national history, has become a national embarrassment. It is in a very sorry state, as the level of dilapidation can never be compared to our level of civilization,” Mr. Dalung said.

Prior to the minister’s visit, the Lagos State government indicated interest in acquiring the stadium, a move Mr. Dalung viewed positively.
“We can’t fold our arms and watch this monument continue to rot away. We intend to renovate the facility and bring it back to its prime position as sports city where other sports, apart from football, can also be developed. That is why I welcome the decision of the Lagos State government to step in to restore our national pride and bring it back to a state we all can be proud of.

But until then, urchins will continue to use the stadium to buy drugs while prostitutes flourish in the monument of shame.

Edited From Sahara Reporters

27 comments:

1. Our old stadium in Akure is even better than this...

1. So sad. The ministry of sports should take it up. Gov has to be hands on.

2. This was where Sam Okwaraji died during that famous match. Died playing for Naija and forgotten immediately.

3. And this is where we hosted our first and last joint co-host nations cup. Ghana Nigeria 2000 and we lost on penalties thanks to Kanu,Ikpeba and Ike.

2. The front of stadium is wearing a new shape but can't say same for the inside. Been long I stepped in.

1. That's their way na paint the outside while the inside is rotten🤷

3. Waoh,everything seems to be going bad in our country,the roads is nothing to write home about, almost every governmental offices is on strike,even NAFDAC,my file is supposed to have been moved if not for this strike action. God help me

4. Nyamah! U shld have written viewers discretion is advised....

5. Na Ojez me dey visit to chop ngwongwon and co. Visited there last year, make i plan again. Friday here i come.

Afterall it is my route. What a shame and no one wants to do something about it. Dalung shame oooo, do something about it

6. God of mercy! Dilapidated is an understatement in this case.*spits* I see the almighty one we have here going same way already.

7. We lack maintenance habit ABI na culture in Nigeria. Nothing is new, the good old ones are nothing to write home about. Our airport esp MMA self zero, we need Jesus, we need revolution, yet these politicians are just greedy, they travel abroad, but won't replicate that to their country,thunder strike them all with their families.

8. Kudos cakes 0818515125526 September 2017 at 11:25

We lack maintenance culture

9. Ahh. If I knew this would get here, I for don collect more pictures. This is even small. If you see their toilets eh , you will be shocked. No light and its like this pit-like toilet. If you ask for the light switch, they tell you to use your phone light. Sometimes I go there to jog from one gate to the other (gate to gate they call it). At least you get motivated cos the huge number of people working out is nice. See grasses growing everywhere, leaves from the trees littered everywhere and very untidy. Dustbins overflowing and wrecking havoc to your tummy when you jog past. Abi na that their ogbonge gyms with the obsolete equipment with rusted handles, bug infested looking foams visible from the torn leather handles. Meanwhile the management will collect 100.00 entrance fee to the stadium for cars. The number of cars there going in everyday eh. Then if you want to use the so-called gym to build muscles cos they dont even have any better facility for normal bodied people, you pay 200.00, for everyone going in there. They make so much money but the state of that stadium is an eyesore. Basketball pitches are dead things. Absolute no maintenance.

1. What a shame.

2. Hmm. You can do something. Take pictures of Everything when next you go there. Start a hash tag and spread the pictures on social media.
      You can send me an email and we can work together. I will create a content and we can form a movement for it till it gets to ears of who is supposed to do something. I am sure sports oriented people would love to get involved.
      It's so painful everything is in a mess in Nigeria. Not to talk that sports is a major human resources which can create revenue for a country.

If you don't mind, send me an email. On my ID

3. When next I go there will try and take pictures and send to you @Greatlady

10. Nigeria and maintenance are like two parallel line

11. @Yori Yori Princess I learnt they have moved out from that place..They have issued an order for them to evacuate..I suggest you go to railway compound as that is their new site..Why not try that new place..you are like me wey love groove pass

12. The problem with Nigeria's government is, they build public structures without any plans going forward for maintenance.
    Well...maybe they do, but those in charge of such offices set up for maintenance have diverted the funds for personal purposes.

If you erect a magnificent structure today and it is not being maintained constantly, it will lost its glory

13. Old school fish is the best. Anything for that fish mehn

14. thanks hot pink lip, did not know that. Will try the railway

15. Leave it for us like that we still enjoy joggging and doing our exercise. People wey no go na dem go first condemn