Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Expert Warns That Cooking ‘Moin-moin’ In Nylons Is Dangerous

Thursday, September 14, 2017

Expert Warns That Cooking ‘Moin-moin’ In Nylons Is Dangerous

A dietician, Mr John Tehinse, has warned people against cooking moi-moi and other foods in nylons or cellophane bags as it produced dioxins, a toxic substance that causes cancer.

Tehinse gave the warning on Tuesday in Ilorin at an awareness campaign on food safety organised by the Food Safety Awareness Campaign Initiatives, funded by the European Union.

Moin-moin is a Nigerian steamed bean pudding made from a mixture of washed and peeled black-eyed peas, onions and fresh ground peppers.

It is a protein-rich, staple food in Nigeria and has its origin in West Africa.

In his lecture entitled: “Food Safety Control System in Nigeria”, he explained that cooking Moin-moin, a local delicacy of bean pudding, in nylon had become widespread while people were unaware of the dangers.

The food safety expert said nylons or cellophane bags produced dioxins when heated, adding “they are a group of chemically-related compounds that are persistent environmental pollutants (POPs)’’.

Tehinse further warned that dioxins were highly toxic and could cause reproductive and developmental problems, damage the immune system, interfere with hormones and also cause cancer.

He advised people to use the traditional leaves to cook the food.

The dietician also called for good food practices in Nigeria and urged restaurant owners to look at the business as public service.

“Food business is not only to make money but a calling to protect public health and ensure what they offer to consumers is safe,” he said.

from nan.ng

*That means using plastic container is also dangerous....na wah....
That leave is not everyone that can wrap it oh.
I need to stop buying moinmoin 

58 comments:

1. Left for me I don't find it hygienic using the nylon or plastic container, i'd prefer my leaf pattern any time any day and the taste???
      Hmmm
      Yummy!!

There is this thing about the leave that makes the moi moi very tasty, it gives it a special and unique taste...

I'm salivating mbok
      Its being a awhile I made moi moi
      Saturday should just do and come mbok.

2. Yes, hv actually known this since.

Stella u buy moimoi in nylon over there?

3. Lol Stella @i need to stop buying moin-moon...is only God that will save us from the things we consume daily

4. Abeg small disease no dey kill african man..e don tey wey we dey chop moimoi for white nylon and nothing happened😂😂🤣😂🤣it is God that is protecting my naija pipu

5. When I told Eni Stores that they needed to wrap their hot bread in paper and not put in nylon straight, they looked at me as if I was speaking gibberishl

6. I know this before. You can also use aluminium foil paper for your moi moi. I actually prefer that

7. What about aluminum foil? Is that safe?

8. Really?

Thanks for this information!

9. At times it is okpa i normally buy in nylon.

So buying rice and stew too in nylon should stop abi na.

1. I cook Okpa in nylon ohoooo!!...
      Choi!!...
      My princess,how do you buy and eat rice and stew in nylon?...
      Won't it spoil?...
      I know only jollof rice in nylon cos my mom used to get jjollof rice with nylon when ever she goes for a meeting way back when we were growing up!...
      Then,I look forward for those party jollof rice in nylon!!...

2. Truly showing your illiterate self this Linda Eze girl

10. It mustn't be leave, you can buy the metal plate. It is safer and last longer.

1. Where can I find the metal plate in this Lagos?...
      Who knows??...

2. Queen and tge boss, if u live in Lekki u can get the metal plate in Ebeano supermarket or ask when next u are in the market. Got mine from Ebeano supermarket tho

3. Lekki ke for Linda Eze? Lol. Lives in Akute or some interior place.

4. Lol anon,why you do the queen like that now😂😂😂 Akute how?

11. Everything we consume is toxic one way or another, even Water...it just depends on the Lethal Dose.

The day I suffered from Excess water(Oedema), I didn't even walk or stand up for one week straight..I had to be injected to dehydrate... Not only that, My body was on fire,pains all over...Chaaii na that day I acknowledge the privilege of having two legs..

Na only God dey save us because everyday we use our teeth to dig our graves..

1. Hianest @ ya 2nd paragragh. Never heard of such b4 ooo.🤔

2. My dear You need to see my face when the doctor said it was excess water that caused my leg to swell up....
      Like WTF excess water again? ???🙄🙄
      Lol
      But I believed it small sha because before that incident, I drink water daily pass frog but now I have learnt to curtail it...cos I hate injections like kilode maka ozomena 😁

12. Stella it's true, not everybody that knows how to wrap the leave 😮

13. Princess Scheherazade14 September 2017 at 17:35

This one is a no brainer now.
    Cooking or microwaving food in any polythene or plastic/ rubber packing isn't good.
    Even drinking water from a plastic bottle that's been in the sun for a while(like in a parked car) is problematic. I guess that's why some particular ailments involving organ failure are on the rise.
    God save us all.

1. There are some plastics that are certified safe for microwave use.

14. Get a ceramic or oven safe glass container.that is what i use. Safest, money and environmentally friendly

15. I stopped using foils too cos I heard one thing,one thing. I should think those moin-moin plates are ok to too.

I love moin-moin eaten with creamy oats😍

1. Uye G ibiakwa! ..
      Foils ke?
      Oriegwu oh!...
      One thing most kill a man sha...
      Lemme go and look for Kom Kom liquid peak milk...

2. 😂lmao @kom kom. buy metal plates biko, they even come with covers. They sell them even in supermarkets these days.

16. I also heard that drinking hot tea from a plastic cup is also detrimental to health..

Tell that to my aunt,you'll give her a mug,she'll ask for a plastic cup..

17. I use aluminium foil and I think it's the best

1. Me too..,
      But I use nylon most times...
      I think I will go back in using our way back Kom Kom peak liquid milk and all those local aluminium plates...
      I don't know if I can still see it in the market...
      Those days ehhee,they were so hard to wash especially in dry season...
      Memories*

2. Peak milk kom kom would do...you can wash it using a small foam but watch out for those sharp edges please.

18. Congrat to me...my first time of commenting. I love chikito and queen and boss of dis blog

19. known about this...wrapping with leaves is easier and fun...

20. Leave ti takeover

21. I have know this for some time now. But to avoid is kind of difficult. Especially that plastic own.

I can wrap moin-moin with the leaf. Stella, do they sell moin-moin in nylon over there?

22. Thats what I even ate this evening at d close of work with small jellof. Will be hard to stop abeg. Its well!!!

23. Now I feel like eating moi moi

24. True talk, but is not everybody that knows how to wrap that leaf, even though it makes more sense when eating from the leaf

25. I use aluminium bowl,and it still comes out so delicious.
    Don't know how to use the leaf.

26. IF IT IS TRUE..My dear na God save person..This is even Old News sef...If u listen too much about this health talks, you will practically believe that you are not a human being anymore..Just know everything should be done in moderation..

27. @Beloved Thank you very much...if you listen too much to all these health talk, you will practically believe you are not suppose to eat..We take one step to our grave everyday..

28. I pass...not a fan of moin moin

29. I like what you guys tend to be up too. This type of clever work and exposure!
    Keep up the very good works uys I've aeded you guys to my
    personal blogroll.