Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Federal Government To Introduce Bicycle As A Means of Transport In FCT

Tuesday, September 05, 2017

Federal Government To Introduce Bicycle As A Means of Transport In FCT

The National Council on Transportation (NCT) policy in a resolution yesterday in Sokoto state, recommended bicycle riding for solving the mystery of traffic jam in the country.

The Minister of Transportation, Rotimi Amaechi, disclosed this at the end of the 15th meeting of National Council on Transportation. We decided that we do it in Abuja because if you check, nearly all the roads in Abuja have lanes for bicycle.”

You may ask why bicycle but don’t forget that it is there in China, in UK, Spain and many other countries.

The benefit is that it is an investment first and secondly it will help in the exercise and thirdly it will reduce the number of passengers jostling for motor vehicles.

From Daily Times

*In these countries mentioned,there are special lanes for Bicycles and Motorists give the Cyclists priority .....I dont see that happening in Nigeria.

Please they should plan the roads well before trying to import ideas from Countries that sat down for long by the drawing board planning these things.

25 comments:

1. Stella don't mind this yeye politicians, their wayo don too much

1. Most of you don't read and comprehend before commenting. Have you been to Abuja before?

The roads in Abuja are not the same as the ones around the country, they are 10 times better! At least maybe not all of it but most it.

Abuja is a planned capital city just like Brasilia of Brazil with modern structures and facilities, the fastest growing city in Africa and one of the fastest in the world. Most of the roads in Abuja already have lanes for bicycles but they are not in use. With the high influx of people into Abuja it won't be a bad idea to have them introduce bicycles as means of transportation to ease traffic congestion around Abuja metropolis.

GOD BLESS NIGERIA.

2. Paragon,i don't agree with you on this,where in Abuja are the lanes located?check out bicycle lanes and pedestrian lanes in Paris and compare it to Abuja road

1. What the fuck is he saying, poor people that haven't finished eating will be exercising their little energy, there's no road for it, it's not fast enough. You mean ok wake up 5 in the morning from gwarimpa to ride all the way to garki and back while you use your big black jeeps... this is so funny I can't stop laughing. Do they just sleep, dream and come up with this rubbish

3. Its a good idea thou...
    If only their children all be the ones to ride the bicycle s

4. It's not a bad idea if you live close by to where you work. People living in areas like nyanya, gwagwalada, karu, kubwa and marararaba cannot be expected to cycle all the way to their offices in garki. Fed government should work on creating the karshi-apo bypass with the money they intend to waste on building cycling lanes.
    Does this government not have fresh ideas that makes sense? Former transport minister ojo maduweke started this initiative but it never worked because a sensible government knew it would not really work for the masses.

5. Nigerian motto: Backward ever.
    Allow fresh brains rule,no.
    Outdated ideas from old caked brains.

1. Haaahaaahaaahaaa!
      Blackberry,you is mouthed!

2. As in Ehe, nonsense ideas from dull brains that call themselves our leaders

6. Like seriously... joke of the century

7. I don't it is about having special lanes, my advice to the would be rides because I won't be riding a bike I rather trek so to my advice, ride in broad daylight. Most drivers are not well upstairs. Those coming back from the clubs etc. in my very before a young girl cleared two policemen on a bike.she was still very much tipsy.

8. Somebody wants to import Bicycles to chop his own national cake.

9. Politicians should start with the bicycle first.

10. I'm not being pessimistic but I know this policy is dead on arrival because of the dubious underlying intentions of our politicians afterall late Ojo Maduekwe proposed same idea under OBJ's administration but it didn't see the lighy of day.

1. He was the only one riding it, with his fleet of SUV towing behind!

My Nigeria sef!
      But I still believe ooo!
      #NigeriaWillBeGreat

11. The politicians need this kind of transportation to reduce their pot belly

1. Betta pikin, tankio. Instead of coming up with viable and futuristic ideas: mass transit (buses, subway, flying cars, drones, etc.) these polithieves are always coming up with ideas from the age of the dinosaurs. QED@atm