Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Governor Ikpeazu Thanks God For Averting Bloodbath in Abia

Tuesday, September 19, 2017

Governor Ikpeazu Thanks God For Averting Bloodbath in Abia

Gov. Okezie Ikpeazu of Abia has expressed gratitude to God for averting bloodbath in the state, following the withdrawal of troops deployed to Abia for a one-month military exercise code-named “Operation Python Dance.” 

Ikpeazu made the remark on Sunday when he visited the secretariat of the Nigeria Union of Journalists (NUJ) Abia council to commiserate with journalists over last Tuesday’s invasion of the secretariat by soldiers.

The governor noted that the presence of the troops sparked tension across the state.

He said “we are grateful to God for intervening in stopping what could have been the greatest bloodbath known in the history of mankind.”

He also thanked President Muhammadu Buhari for reposing confidence in Southeast Governors’ Forum, “by giving us a second chance to talk to our people on the need for us to live as one united nation.”

He added that the Igbos remained the most widely travelled people in Nigeria, living and conducting
businesses in every nook and cranny of the country.

The governor put the estimated population of Igbos in the north at about 12 million, with Borno having the least population of about 50,000 Igbo households.

He said Abia needed peace for business to thrive, especially in Aba, the commercial nerve centre of the state. “I am very happy to say that normalcy has returned to the state,” he said, adding that Muslims worshipped in their Mosque on Friday in Aba.

He, therefore, urged residents of the state to go about their lawful businesses, assuring them that government would continue to provide adequate security for lives and property.

The governor described the invasion of the NUJ secretariat as unwarranted, saying that “journalists do not deserve such an attack.”

From heraldng

10 comments:

1. Hian! NUJ press Centre was invaded? Lemme look for the story. What a wawu

1. When are you going to ask God for forgiveness for withholding the salaries of your workers for nearly a year. Stella you can make your findings, most workers in abia have not been paid since last year November.

2. Lolx.

Them just shakara dem small..

😂😂😂😂😂😂

3. I am happy too,abia is know as an hustling not blood shedders
    May peace continue to be still in that land

4. I don't get it. There are confirmed reports that people lost their life's and this man is here saying he is thanking God for avoiding bloodshed. So bloodshed to u is not restricted to 3 or 4 but a hand full kwo. Ngwa bu, continue. God sees all.

1. You dey mind the traitor...

DontQuoteMe™

2. He is a thief that is owing his workers for nearly a year

5. Stupid Governor that has refused to pay the workers in Abia their salary for months now. Greedy man...God's wrath will befall u soon. Just u wait n see