Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: UK Seeks Clarification About Its Citizen Kanu’s Status And Whereabouts From FG

Saturday, September 30, 2017

UK Seeks Clarification About Its Citizen Kanu’s Status And Whereabouts From FG

The United Kingdom has asked the Federal Government to clarify the status and whereabouts of the leader of the Indigenous People of Biafra, Nnamdi Kanu.

The British government said it had asked the government if the British national was alive or dead. However, it could not be immediately ascertained if the Federal Government had responded to the inquiries or not.

The Press Officer, UK high commission in Nigeria, Joe Abuku, stated that the inquiry followed reports that Kanu had been missing since September 14, 2017 when armed soldiers stormed his residence in Abia State.
Abuku said this in response to questions asked, seeking to know UK’s concern on the missing IPOB leader.

“We are seeking urgent clarification from the Nigerian authorities about the status and whereabouts of Mr. Kanu, a British-Nigerian man, who has been reported missing since September 14,” Abuku stated in an email on Thursday.

Asked if the UK would strip Kanu of citizenship on account of the declaration by Nigeria that he was leading a terrorist organisation, the mission said it does not comment on individual cases.

“One of the conditions that can make the United Kingdom strip its citizen of nationality is if the person engages in a terrorist activity at home or abroad. And Kanu has dual citizenship and therefore a citizen of Nigeria and the UK,” the mission stated.

When asked if the UK supported the Nigerian government’s proscription of the IPOB, Abuku stated that the group was not a proscribed organisation under the British law.

“The Indigenous People of Biafra is not a proscribed organisation in the UK,” the mission spokesperson stressed.

However, when asked if the group was free to raise funds or hold rallies in Britain, Abuku said he would need to get an official response on that, but subsequently declined to respond to the question.

edited from Punch

#hidingthings .....oh wow 

30 comments:

1. What questions are they asking?can Nnamdi Kanu do this in the U.k and get away with it? He caused trouble in Nigeria and went into hiding,If they care do much about him they should give him a region in the UK to get his Biafra. Hiss!

1. Don't mind those oyibo people, that's how they cause sonfusion in countries.

2. United kingdom and her misplaced priority. I still think this is just mere fabrication though. Kanu wants to feel important. How many British citizens travelled to their countries and never came back alive?
      Kanu come out and go to court. Nigerians are no fools.

3. So he is even yet to denounce his citizenship? Okokobioko! Okay now na siddon look we dey!

4. Kanu is in Senegal. Fact!

5. I tel pple dat IPOb is bigger than Kanu dey kip arguing. I laugh in swahili. O

2. He can't hide for too long,everything will come to light

3. Let me tell u something the govt is hiding. Nnamdi was killed and his body set on fire to hide evidence,his two brothers were also killed. He's not missing,he's dead. I wonder what Igbos will do when this gets out. #classifiedInfo .

1. What!!!!! 😳😳😳😳
      Are you very sure?

2. I don't believe you

3. Classified info my foot! Abeg enter bush with this your lie. That's how idiots like you spread false stories to create panic in people. Anu mpama!

4. Princess Scheherazade1 October 2017 at 08:52

This comment is just to incite people into violence. Very soon you'll see everybody forwarding it to family and friends on whatsapp with an addendum to fight for our lives and generations unborn or something equally annoying.

That's how the drink and bath with salt water matter during the Ebola wahala started.
      Last last, people died and one silly child came out to confess that she fabricated the story.

Stella abeg be mindful of what you put up here, especially by anon commenters.

4. Kanu tell your people if you are dead or alive ,this hide wnd seek is to childish abeg .

5. I laugh! This is to show how uninformed and uneducated our government is...they dont realize the implications of their actions. Three greatest things that has happened to this country: 1. Nigerian-Biafran war, 2. June 12 cancellation, 3. Nnamdi Kanu. Very soon the realization will dawn on this country. I'm watching!!

DontQuoteMe™

1. Shut up, how many people with dual citizenship does the UK go about looking for?

2. Loud it , don't mind the illlterate graduates ranting cos of a man who is agitating becos of our bad governance ,if our leaders did the right thing by fixing this country in a shape, there won't be Any need for agitation from anybody

3. Speak it out my sister.
      They should wait for what is comimg.
      #Igboamaka

4. Nothing is coming ojere
      All this one na fabu

5. Nobody would have known or cared about Kanu if the Nigerian Government didn't give him prominence. Buhari went against courts orders of bail by detaining him for long, thereby drawing attention to him and turning to Nelson Mandela in some people's eyes

6. They should ask his supporters

7. At least someone is looking for him. As for those mumu followers with only Nigerian citizenship, let's see who will look for you when the chips are down. Selfish guy misleading the ignorant.

1. Hahahahaha... Hi five jare!

2. Princess Scheherazade1 October 2017 at 08:55

That was exactly what came to my mind.
      At the end of the day, the guy will quietly go and sit down in UK with his family while people who don't know better kill themselves over nothing.
      SMH for Nigerian Youth.
      All hot body and no common sense!

8. Hungry Don, keep killing your self over biafra...

1. Allow don to speak is mind na democracy we dey
      Stick to your own opinion

9. British govt look for you.... e easy? Question for those calling Kanu a 'riff raff'. At least Buhari with his military daftness has made Kanu 'exege'.

10. British govt look for you.... e easy? Question for those calling Kanu a 'riff raff'. At least Buhari with his military daftness has made Kanu 'exege'.