Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Anambra Former Gov. Peter Obi Reacts To Obiano’s N7.5bn Claim Of "Godfatherism Fee"

Monday, October 23, 2017

Anambra Former Gov. Peter Obi Reacts To Obiano’s N7.5bn Claim Of "Godfatherism Fee"

The former Governor of Anambra state, Peter Obi has reacted to reports emanating from the camp of his successor Willie Obiano that the former demanded a ‘Godfatherism fee’ of N7.5bn from the latter.

Speaking in an interview with the Vanguard, the erstwhile governor stated that this is a rather unfortunate lie and that he wants Obiano out of the seat of power because of his deceit.

When asked about the ‘Godfatherism fee’ he said; “This is another regrettable lie. On 23rd December 2016, he came to my house for the first time after he became governor. He came with an ordained bishop, to plead for reconciliation and to ask for my support for his re-election bid. There, I asked him about the N7.5 billion (story of me asking him for N7.5 billion), and he said it did not come from him, that he only heard it from people.

“Now he is the one saying it. I’m sure the bishop will be listening to us. And other people who have been in the same meeting with him and I where I have reiterated that I do not want any kobo from him will know that I have never, on my own honour, asked Obiano to pay me money. I have not even been paid my severance allowance since I left office, which I am entitled to. I just told you what I left in office. Nobody has ever left one dollar.

“If I were desperate, I could have comfortably taken just $30 million, and it will remain $126million. Nobody on earth will leave money and go and beg the person he left the money for to give him some.

“Because I made it clear to him that I would support my party and perhaps being told that my support was critical, he now resorted to blackmail. He is doing violence to himself because Nigerians will be reading in between the lines and will know who to trust and who to deal with in the future. It is unfortunate.” He said.

He was then asked if he had any problems with the current governor to which he said he doesn’t.

“I don’t have any issue with Mr. Obiano. I have issues with Governor Obiano. Whatever issue we have, I have forgiven him. But for Governor Obiano, he has turned governance into what it should not be. You’ve been reading wonderful things in the newspaper, but let Governor Obiano invite you to Anambra. When I was going for second tenure, I invited journalists three months to election and we toured all the projects we were doing and the investments we had attracted. Governor Obiano has attracted $7.8 billion worth of foreign investment, can you people come and inspect those yam fields where we are going to get 10 million yams, or the Ugu field, or the rice field, or where those investments are.” he said.

14 comments:

1. Peter Obi go and sit down. After all your claims of being righteous, you were photographed sharing money in the market. What now makes you different from the other politicians? Abeg comot for road

2. Lies is the oxygen of all politicians. They can't survive without it.

3. Same old problems with our leaders, always ruling from the pages of news papers and our journalist telling stories they're paid to tell or write without investigation, only when it comes to celebrity gossip and people's life issues you'll see our journalists investigative skills to the fullest. SMH.

Amongst these two men only God knows who's telling the truth. The former governor seems honest and my heart feels he's story is correct.

4. Blood suckers, animals in suit

5. I don't like politicians at all but Peter Obi was one who did a lot of work when he was governor of Anambra state. And unlike a lot of governors one didn't see signboards everywhere proclaiming his works, in that regard he was a poor politician according to normal naija way. I can attest to his good works as I'm from Anambra and visit home a lot as lived next door in Enugu State.
    Governor Obiano has disappointed really, he has so many signboards proclaiming what he has done or is doing yet we don't see that on ground. He reminds me of the immediate past governor of Abia State that was a master of signboards proclaiming his works yet did nothing.
    Only reason I will say Obiano should be reelected is because PDP is a party we are tired of, and APC has disappointed in both the national and state level (except Lagos).

1. Let's vote Obiano out, we Ndi Anambra can't continue like this for another four years

2. Who do we vote for then? I like Obaze but I dislike his party. I don't see what Chidoka can offer to be honest, his reign at FRSC wasn't anything to write home about. Nwoye I don't trust at all especially looking at people he's allied with, can't have someone who's strongly suspected of being Eze n'ukpo's person in the government house. Plus the only APC governor in the south east is a disgrace.

6. Obiano MUST go! Willie has never worked. Only noise making

1. Willie is a master of noise making, achievements only on billboards.

7. Ngige became an evil man to the uba's because he refused to share Anambra State's money. Obi you ruled without any interference from anyone and the evil jinx of Godfatherism has been broken in Anambra State. Willie may not be the best but i know he's far better than any of those criminals. My father gets his salary as at when due. Willie Obiano we know 🙌🙌

8. On Willie Obiano why stand! Apga is the only true Igbo party, and we must not let it die.