Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: BudgIT Reports Reveals Four States That Can Pay Salaries Without Borrowing

Saturday, October 21, 2017

BudgIT Reports Reveals Four States That Can Pay Salaries Without Borrowing

Only four states in Nigeria can pay salaries without resorting to lending, a new report by BudgIT, a civil society organisation, has shown. The report, State of State 2017, was launched on Thursday and released to the public on Friday.

Important is states’ ability to meet their recurrent expenditure obligation with all revenue source — a test of prudent fiscal management. Kano, Katsina, Rivers and Lagos top that portion of the index.

In effect, only four states could meet their recurrent expenditure obligation without resorting to borrowing or tapping donor funds and other extra-budgetary revenue sources. The effect of huge debt supported by ISPOs is already eating deep into the account of Lagos, Cross River and Osun states. Osun’s net allocation is even in the negative terrain, which invariably puts more pressure on future revenue.

Also, the index looks at the ability of states to sustainably manage their debt profiles. The index tries to see the extent to which today’s revenue can service outstanding debts. Anambra and Yobe top the index. Osun trails the overall index. The state’s inability to meet its recurrent expenditure obligations, its heavy debt profile and inefficiency in the collection of internally generated revenue weighed seriously on the state.

Edited From The Cable

21 comments:

1. Willie Obiano has lavished all the money Peter Obi saved. Yet people who don't know what's going on are supporting him. You didn't give Obi 7billion, where is the 75billion he saved and handed over to you.

2. They are the top four most industrialised states in Nigeria i guess.

2. Okowa is a curse to Delta state.
    Kpomo mouth Governor with little or no sense at all. Foolish to the core.
    Finally sold Delta Line to God is Good company.... Who does that?
    Who sells the state owned transport company? At least if you must, Agofure is there nau.
    No more cheap and affordable fares for Deltans. Make we go dey cough out 5,500 from Agbor to Lagos.😭😭😭😭😭

1. You dey mind the man, upon say we vote am in oo na make him dey smile with that him dirty dog teeth... ordinary lagos to agbor 5500, person no go fit chop for road again

3. Obviously states in Nigeria live from hand to mouth but the annoying part is that most politicians in charge of states' affairs live lavishly; beyond their means.

4. People are really complaining of this Okowa
    I also heard that he sold Delta line to GIGM

5. @monkeyface no be small thing. I weep for my state. Never had good governor.

6. #You can't change a person who doesn't see an issue in their actions*

7. Lord please come and take the wheel in our country Nigeria.....

8. Aregbesola should cover his shameless face......see the way he money on that stupid opon Imo and stupid school restructuring. The stupid mofo just put Osun in debt. I pity workers in that state.....oshisco

1. That opon imo tablet was a total waste. He has finally succeeded in ruining the state.
      Delta is another error. My aunt in law was always complaining about uduaghan but now she has realised that that the former governor is a saint compared to the present.

9. Osun is not worthy of Statehood. Osun should be a LGA in Oyo.

10. Proudly Anambra...God abeg, na beg I dey beg...Make APC no near our Government House. We no want Okoroocha style of Statue while workers are being owed salaries. Make Obiano come back. Even if na Champagne he likes taking, make he continue so far he no dey owe.

11. Lolz... See my country people blasting their governors ooo... Choiiii

12. The political class in Nigeria are just destroying this country literally.
    Can't seem to understand why,they can't just go in there and do what they were voted in to do, instead of being fixated on stealing money!!!!!!!