Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Facebook, Google, Others Confirm Nigeria’s Requests for User Information

Sunday, October 01, 2017

Facebook, Google, Others Confirm Nigeria’s Requests for User Information

A new report has confirmed what many Nigerians have long suspected to be true: that the federal government is spying on its citizens through the social media and email accounts.

The report titled, “The Growing Trend of African Government’s Requests for User Information and Content Removal from Internet and Telecoms Companies,” was released last month by the Collaboration on International ICT Policy in East and Southern Africa (CIPESA) established under the Catalysing Access to Information and Communications Technologies in Africa (CATIA) initiatives funded by the United Kingdom’s Department for International Development (DFID).

The organisation analysed transparency reports released by telecommunications and social media companies.

The reports by these companies including Facebook, Google, Yahoo, Twitter and others showed that there has been a surge in African governments’ requests for user information.

According to the report, African governments’ requests are for subscribers’ data, content preservation, and content removal.
Facebook listed Nigeria, South Africa, Egypt and Sudan as the African countries that made the highest requests.
The social media giant said that the government of Nigeria had specified the highest number of user information on its user information requests with 113 accounts.

South Africa made 32 requests for user accounts, Egypt (31) and Sudan (24).
Facebook said that Nigeria also made requests for content in six user accounts to be preserved.
It said that Nigeria made requests for 96 users’ information during the second half of 2015, meaning that the requests were made after President Muhammadu Buhari assumed office on May 29, 2015.

The report stated: “It is worth noting that the number of requests to Facebook by African governments is small when compared to the United States of America which made nearly 50,000 user information requests relating to over 80,000 user accounts and 69,437 preservation requests in 2016.

“Facebook’s compliance rate with the U.S.’ requests last year was over 80 per cent.”
Tech giant, Google, also declared that Nigeria in 2015 made requests to it.

Google launched the first transparency report in 2009, followed by Twitter in 2012, and Facebook and Yahoo in 2013.
The report stated: “Since 2013, Google has received user information requests from 10 African countries – Algeria, Ivory Coast, Egypt, Ghana, Kenya, Namibia, Nigeria, Senegal, The Seychelles and South Africa.

“Over three years, Kenya made the highest number of user information requests to Google – 21 relating to 32 user accounts – followed by South Africa and Nigeria.

“Aside from eight requests made by the Kenya government during the second half of 2013 relating to 11 user accounts, of which Google complied with 63 per cent, all the other requests were rejected.

“Nigeria is the only government in Africa to have made a user information request to Google and it was fully complied with. The emergency disclosure request was made by the Nigerian authorities in the second half of 2016 and it related to five user accounts.

“Google had rejected all of Nigeria’s seven previous requests,” it explained.
Twitter, in its transparency declaration, stated that Nigeria made three emergency requests, of which two were complied with.

It stated that the first request was made in the second half of 2015 while the second was made in the second half of 2016.
Yahoo, however, did not list any request made to it by any African countries.

The report described MTN as not being transparent because it refused to provide details of requests made to it by governments of the 19 countries where it operates in Africa.

The report added: “In its 2016 Annual Sustainability Report, MTN reaffirmed its support for human rights including access to information, freedom of expression, privacy and security of its users’ communications and information.
“However, the telecommunications company, one of the largest service providers in Africa with a presence in 19 countries, provides no information about how it handles requests from governments and private parties for user information or surveillance support.

“Similarly, MTN provides little information about its processes for handling such requests.

“The South Africa based company also does not disclose any data about the number of requests it receives or complies with, which places it a rank lower than the likes of Millicom, Vodafone and Orange when it comes to transparency about its policies relating to users’ freedom of expression and privacy.”

Recently, the Nigerian Army had said it was monitoring social media site as part of its surveillance programme. However, following a backlash, it recanted.

from thisdaylive

25 comments:

1. They should stop trying to invade peoples privacy

2. Bye bye freedom of speech and information. Hello tyranny. One can be picked up from home for posting certain things online

1. This isn't democracy. Unless democracy has a nigerian meaning!

3. Ode Government!! Yes i said it. No need to look for me just click on my ID and send a mail. Mscheeew

4. It is apparent the present government is completely against anything that allows citizens the space to freely express themselves. Bear in mind that such information being demanded would possibly include sensitive info critical to the survival of companies such as media houses.

5. That is the foolish independence we are celebrating.. dead country

6. Almost all the countris in this world ate guilty of this, even the mighty usa is guilty. All of you doing pronography on your phone let me give una side eye😞😞😞

1. Leave am. We go still do.

2. Lol porn is an everyday thing, sex tapes would be more like it, that one they can use to blackmail.

7. That's d only thing buhari n his cohorts knows, no food and now we cant talk

8. Unless it is in the interest of the country to investigate and track down criminals, shady business individuals/groups and corrupt politicians then i think it is ok. How else do the citizens expect the government to do their jobs in uncovering the offenders of the state? They need access to certain informations even if it means invading your privacy.. Most developed Nations do far worse. I mean, the Nig government doesnt invade everybody's privaacy naw. Only those who ve something to be afraid of have a problem with this.

9. So we don't have freedom of speech again? Why a country be monitoring the sm acct of its citizens? This country is just f**k up.

10. Silly and unthinking comments all around. How do you expect government(s) to protect you from criminals and such?
    Someone hacked my Facebook account and was using it to solicit for money from my friends. Eventually I got the person's phone number only for Mtn to tell me the number was not registered!

11. Kwontinu Naija, develop Mba, leave citizens in peace...ironi, clamp their mouth.. Gaskiya

12. Except for security reasons, or threat to life and properties, pls Nigeria (government), allow us our freedom of speech.

13. Even if Nigeria govt does not monitor, the world is monitoring. From the day social media became popular we already sold our privacy. I would have been surprised if Nigeria does not make any attempt at monitoring.

14. Some people are illiterates.u guys up there don't think it's a step I d right direction??? Really???

15. Y'all voted for APC, deal with it.