Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Landlord Moves To Evict Lai Mohammed’s Ministry Over Alleged Failure To Pay Rent

Wednesday, October 04, 2017

Landlord Moves To Evict Lai Mohammed’s Ministry Over Alleged Failure To Pay Rent

The Federal Ministry of Information under the supervision of Alhaji Lai Mohammed has been given a one-week notice to vacate its Abia State Division office for its alleged failure to pay rent for two years.

The landlord of the property, through his lawyer, Adizua Okoroafor, served a quit notice on the ministry.

Punch newspaper reports that the quit notice was backed by an order of the Umuahia North Magistrates’ Court, which authorised the landlord or his assignee to approach the court to seek an order to eject the ministry.

An official of the ministry, who confirmed the receipt of the quit notice on the condition of anonymity, said the rent of the office complex had not been paid since the current Minister for Information and Culture, Lai Mohammed, took over the running of the ministry.

He said: “Since Alhaji Lai Mohammed was appointed as the Minister of Information and Culture, he has not taken the welfare of the Ministry of Information seriously. He is using the money of the Ministry of Information to run the Ministry of Culture, but Culture is under Information.

We have never seen such a situation where a minister will hide in the Ministry of Culture and abandon the Ministry of Information and that is why we are having this issue of non-payment of our rent. Our rent has not been paid for over two years and we are suffering it now.

We don’t even know what comes next. Our landlord has threatened to eject us any moment from now, and he started a court action against us.

Our staff members have been advised to take their personal belongings from the office because we may come to work one morning and find out that the office has been locked up.

10 comments:

1. Liar Mohammed come out and lie again.

2. YIMU!! Uncle Lai abeg pay ur Landlord

3. can you imagine? this should be unheard of......a whole ministry owing a common man. when they will be looking for money to embezzle how will they pay. this is evil, lai mohammed please do the needful

1. The Psycho Guy!!4 October 2017 at 13:56

Extremely evil. Who will God send to save this country from shame.

4. irresponsible minister of lying

5. Tourism has been driven out of their Marina building for months now, lai refuse to release money.

6. I know I'm coming to this convo late, but I need a lawyer to explain something here. The building is in Abuja but the magistrate is in Abia state. Are there no courts in Abuja or nearby states? Why can't they file in the states where these things are going down?