Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Love-struck Akwa Ibom Women Warned To Stop Killing Tortoise To Prepare Their Love Portions

Tuesday, October 10, 2017

Love-struck Akwa Ibom Women Warned To Stop Killing Tortoise To Prepare Their Love Portions

Huh! ?

Director of Biodiversity Preservation Center, BPC, in Akwa Ibom State, Dr. Edem Eniang, has expressed concern over the widespread hunt for tortoises in Akwa Ibom State by women for the preparation of love potions, popularly known as Kop nno mi for their lovers and other charms.

Dr. Eniang, a University of Uyo, UNIUYO, lecturer, who spoke at a campaign, “Conserve Nigerian Endangered Tortoises, Don’t Hunt Them, Don’t Use Them For Love Potions,” in Mbiakong community, Uruan local government area, said that the survival of the animal is greatly endangered in the state, as it was daily hunted for meals and preparation of love concoctions, popularly known in the area as Kop nno mi and charms for fortune seekers.

The BPC director stated that “the rate at which the animal is hunted for fetish reasons is worrisome and may likely force the animal to go into extinction,” calling on the people, especially hunters, to stop hunting the creature.

Between tortoises and tradition: Eniang recalled that the Oba of Benin, His Royal Mayesty, Omo N’Oba N’Edo, Uku Akpolokpolo, Oba Ewuare II, recently received a 145-year- old tortoise as a gift from his friend, the Emir of Borgu.

He said, The Queen of England also used a live tortoise to inaugurate the University of Ibadan in the late 1940s and the tortoise was a graduate of the University of London at the age of 50 and has remained alive till date.

The Village Head of Mbiakong Chief Hyacenth Nyong Okon, said: “I am not a woman, it is the women, who like to use it to force their husbands to love them, my own is to kill and eat. We do not use tortoise for rituals, we only use the hard shell to play the Nabo traditional dance.

From Vanguardngr

*Please the Akwa Ibom people on this blog should enlighten us more on this......

51 comments:

1. Na wa ooo... Just like kayamata, love portion here and there... Team real love πŸ™ŒπŸ™ŒπŸ™Œ

1. Never heard of it but these desperado girls and the so called prophets (of doom), I don't doubt it. Let me call my cousin, she sabi

2. Just negodu...
    Killing innocent tortoise when our own Queen and Boss aka CHIEF has millions of pigeons to help them chain their men.

1. Okwa si they should change to pigeon. Hahahahaha

3. Use to hear about this kop no mi in Onitsha. If Calabar or Akwaibom chick cook for you with that, if you're married, you will send your wife packing. If you're single, you will marry her against all odds.

1. I have heard about it too but I thought it was a myth.

2. You're just a joker, you only heard not like you experienced it sef but here you are...
      My dear, we can cook well that is why...there is nothing like kop no mi.

3. Nigerians sha want to believe anything but the truth.

4. Tortoise a guaduate of university of London faint...

5. Hehehehee, Kop nor mi things, all this women no go rest with all this love portion jazz Na wao

6. As far as I am concern diabolism always have expiring day

7. ATM does it too

8. it aint new. heard it when i traveled and went on a mini vacation from hell sometimes last year.

9. Na wa tortoise again. What a pity.

Calabar people una weldone. We never finish with una witches and wizards everywhere, it is now using tortoise to cook with afang

1. Not so smart princess, the story has no inference to Calabar people nor witches and wizards. Princess of stupidity!

2. Dummy princesses, how wound you sir behind your cheaply or whorely acquired keypads and infer that Calabar people and akwa ibom people are the same. Secondly who has said anything about witches? Your little castle must be hot, hence daft comment.

3. Madam monica, pls what's the difference between calabar and akwa ibom people? Why do akwa ibom people always like to deny calabar people

4. Akwaibom is Ibibio,Crossriver is Efik.
      When we speak our language,they don't understand... likewise them.
      This is the first I'm hearing about this tortoise story.
      Akwaibom people are not witches.
      Akwaibom people are not all great in bed,I know because I'm a log of wood in bed(rolls eyes).
      Not all Akwaibomites have ding dong

5. Calabar is different from Akwa Ibom stop the mix up.

6. Tide, Cross River isn't Efik, Cross River contains the Ugeps, Ogojas, Iyala etc ....Calabar is the state capital of cross river but we don't understand ourselves in terms of language.

7. Lol. Please I have one question?
      Are Warri people the same as Benin people? Your answer will answer this akwa ibom

8. Thank you o @Monica, @Tide and @Chikito. People just like to be ignorant especially here in the West. It irks me every time I hear "you're the same jor" as if that excuses their ignorance and/or stupidity.

10. I need the recipe abeg
    Help a sister

11. Leave my Akwa-Ibom babes alone. We no dey carry last na the stubborn and stingy men wey tortoises sweet to do love portio. Am happily engage to a Yoruba guy and no love portion was used in hooking him.

12. Choi! So this was what was prepared for amale corp member when we were serving @ AKS that even made him run mad. If it's not Ekaette, there is nothing anyone says that he will listen to. He ended up not passing out with us as his people were called to come and take him home.

13. Akwa Ibom and Calabar are the same people. That is what you people are known for. Chop tortoise. shame on una. Pity stupid men that have been eating tortoise meat. Na wa again ooo.

Can anything good come out?

1. Illiterate alert!!!! Same way Edo and Delta are the same abi

2. Abi o yori yori. They are the same! They can deny it all they want

3. Just look at you yori yori...are you well at all?

4. Nope. We have numerous tribes between cross river and akwa ibom.

But, our women have naturally 'bomb 'pussy though. That's why the men don't leave 😁😁

5. Hahahhahaha..Akwa ibom man broke ur heart hun?

14. Nothing one won't read about some Nigerians, lol!

Like they actually tortured tortoise all for their selfish interests.
    Who even eat tortoise?

15. I have given you guys 30 seconds of recognition. I think i don try for una

1. You have time wey you dey reply them sef. The way they always deny each other is so annoying

16. People eat tortoise??? Na wa ooo

17. Tortoise-pox loading in Akwa Ibom...

18. Tide it's no lie, the guy ran mad, his people had to take him back to benue.

19. Tortoise pox loading from Akwaibom.
    Na wah ooo

20. So this is the love portion Ekaite used for brother Timothy that he send out his wife and child 😳😲 Abassi ubon