Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nivea Accused Of Racism Over Skin Lightening Ads

Monday, October 23, 2017

Nivea Accused Of Racism Over Skin Lightening Ads

Have you seen this?
This was published on Metro newspaper in the UK on Thursday last week.

This is an ad From Nivea circulated around west Africa. 

They came under backlash after saying a black woman using the cream which bleaches now looks younger. The woman also says in the ad I just want to get my natural fair colour back.

As in what???? So all black people are abnormal and need the cream to bring out their natural colour??
This was after five did their own some few weeks back and They have put Nigeria as the top African country using bleaching cream.

Blog visitor says ''Coming from Nigeria I have actually been stopped at Heathrow airport and asked if I have any bleaching products in my bag smh.
Who is managing all these add campaigns? They obviously feel they are superior to the black race!
Please kindly post and let’s see the opinion of the house''.

37 comments:

1. Are you kidding me! Just imagine.

2. Black beauty all the way for me!

3. Those guys are just out to make their money, I don't think there's any racism involved, they're just feeding on the insecurities of people, almost everybody wants to look younger and are constantly looking for ways to do that, and the rate of blacks bleaching their skin is on the high. So they're just feeding on that insecurities.
    As for me, I'm indifferent about the ad

1. Another Naija fool who cannot use his head but locked in colonial slavery of the mind.

4. Marketing strategy cos that nivea will sell, hahahahaa.
    Funny thing is, if u buy it , you won't even be two shades lighter, you will even go shades dark unless they have hidden ingredients cos if it's just what is listed, forget it, Kole werk.

1. Exactly!! That cream ain't gonna do shit. They just marketed and entered hot soup.

2. It's not racism. Sadly the bleaching cream market is a multi billion dollar one. They are just trying to cash in

3. Ignorance is a disease. Watch the full advert, there is nothing racist about it.

5. Except we want to deceive ourselves, the whites are superior to the black race, argue with your ancestors

1. Did someone really type the above and BlackBerry agreed, please no one race is superior to another

6. Nigerian bleachers association no dey use all these foreign creams again!...
    They now do their own cream concoction in the comfort of their homes!...
    They put what I don't know inside ncha nkota making them to look bleached out!...

The bleaching sef no dey fine!...
    Burnt knuckles,knees,face ewwwwww

7. Black people and the word racism. You have to throw it in all the damn time. How is this ad's different from many more Paris lightening and whitening products and also Thailand and Philippines products..

NATURAL fair color meaning she could have been born fair and the sun darkened hair. And she wants a cream that would bring back the complexion back. It doesn't mean black people are abnormal. You people just see fault in every damn thing. And use the racism word even when not necessary..

You were stopped and asked if you had any bleaching products in your bag?? HANTY?? πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

1. You make sense, white people have aisles of products dedicated to sun tanning products

8. Nivea dose not bleach shit
    Nigerians like bleaching cream a lot

9. abeg black is beautiful.

10. When do we realise that a fair person can be of black race?
    A dark-skinned person can also be of black race.
    Black born.
    Black race.
    When did we start mixing up Dark skinned and Light skinned with Black and Yellow?
    Can't this woman of black race say: I got my natural light skin back?
    Or are light skinned people no longer BLACK?
    I Should make sense to people that understand the different races in the world😁
    I just wanted to shed light on the mix up.. I'm not in the mood to discuss racism this afternoon😩😩😩

11. I am naturally light but decided to use cream to tone up more. Sometimes I get it right and whoever sees me falls in love with my complextion and sometimes so wrong that I start hiding my face from pepeople because of the burns. One faithful day I said to my self... Girl" you are beautiful, you don't have you be a shade or 2lighter to be beautiful. I have reverted to black soap(local) and ori(shea butter) and now my skin glows without blemish and my pocket is not drained from buying tonning creams.

Moral of my write up..
    whatever shade of natural colour you have.......you are Beautiful.

1. Whatever shade of natural colour you are.. ....you are beautiful

12. So they stop me at the airport for carrying clear Essence...

13. I use nivea. It only works if you're a naturally fair person that got darkened due to sun exposure. People ask me the cream i use but don't believe when I tell them it's Nivea Fair.

14. But this cream doesn't lighten, it darkens you to charcoal black instead. I know cos I used it. The result was terrrriiiiibbbbllleeee!
    Just drink loads of water, eat fruits rich in vitamin C and your skin will be thanking you.

15. Nivea doesn't bleach, it gives your nature color and little bit brighten up

16. Blacks like claiming racism over every single thing! If you don't bleach then such adds ain't for you! There are black/indian/latino/Asian women who are forever looking for concoctions to make their Skin lighter. It is their choice. What about those who bleach their teeth? Will that also be racist? Abi na because 'white' people dey do am too?

17. I think it's a choice thing. It's like coming after anti aging creams saying they re trying to say old people s skin is inferior to younger. After all people tan too. Whatever their choice maybe I feel anyone should be able to make their choice and have d product available to them as long as they re not harming any other person and deal with the consequences thereafter.

18. Nivea doesnt bleach oo. Infact it makes you darker. If u wanna maintain your color,especially dark people, pls use 'nivea fair' buh if u wanna go from dark to charcoal pls use other shades of nivea and thank me later.

1. That's because the ordinary one is for white people who don't want to look white/ peach

2. People like Donald Trump

19. Haters should not spoil market for Nivea, they are trying to market their product... Someone cannot market in peace again

20. I have nothing again treating individual specific target areas to get a uniformed complexion, like between the thighs, elbows, knees, neck, butt cheeks etc. however, there is just something weird about someone who desires to change their entire skin shade to something else. I just cannot trust people who bleach, I honestly feel like anyone who is willing to change to a completely different looking person cannot be trusted at all.

21. Nivea doesn't bleach. It is just like Jergens and Olay creams. By the way, no be our girls de rush for bleaching creams?