Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Paternity Leave In Nigeria

Friday, October 13, 2017

Paternity Leave In Nigeria

A Nigerian father took to his facebook advocating for paternity leave as he attended to his new born son.

According to him, he wife needed rest.....

Here a man can take Paternity leave of three years and still get paid at work....I think there is a law backing it....
All the times i had my babies,hubby took paternity leave of three weeks each whilst i rested...

Will paternity leave work in Nigeria?will the man agree to change diapers and cook and make the home tidy whilst his wife rests her tired body?

I dont think Paternity leave will work in Nigeria oh..
What do you think?

30 comments:

1. Paternity leave will not work in nigeria. Most men have Ego's that will not allow them to help outwith something as small as boiling water to bath the baby.

Pls Knowing Nigerian men well, some will take it and not stay at home to help their wives rather they will go recuperate for the 9months pregnancy with their side chicksπŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

LEPπŸ˜›

1. My fellow bvs please i'm sorry to digress, i need help biko. My bf's ex won't let him be, she was the one who brokeup with him that she want to get married to some other guy, the marriage didn't work out so now she's back begging him for a makeup. My bf told her he has moved on and no longer intrested in her. She's now a frustrated person and even tried to harrass me claiming i'm the reason my bf doesn't want her back. My bf has told her times without number that he doesnt want her, she wont let his phone rest but he has blocked her number, now she calls him with strange numbers, and comes to his house unannounced anytime she gets a hint that i'm around.

Please i need technical advice, how do i deal with this girl, how do i handle her?

I'm sorry i'll repeat this comment on other post please so i can get more responses.

Stella please post, could have sent it in as a chronicle but its urgent, this girl is getting out of hand.

2. Lagos state gives paternity leave of 2weeks. Correct me if i am wrong

3. Tell you boyfriend to give you a break until he has sorted himself with the girlfriend. Don't be afraid he will get back with her cos if he does then you have no business being there. It's better he tells her off completely and you are sure he's all yours or you let him keep playing with her in the pretense that she won't let him be. Has he taken her to the police station to report a case of harassment?

4. Babe, it is not your cross to bear.your boyfriend is the oner giving her the courage. We ladies know when a man really says its over no chance. So leave it to him to sort and take a beautiful fun break from the drama

1. How many paternity leave will they be entitled to in a year? In case the side chicks get pregnant also. Just saying.

3. If at all it is granted, the man won't make it count.

1. Guinness gives 7days paternity leave..... But my husband spends his leave days hanging out with his friends and drinking instead of helping out........ Let them go to work jor.... At least that way we know they doing something productive

4. This is lovely but I can't allow my husband to bath my new born like this biko!.. .
    Hian!...
    It's disgusting mehn...

5. Why should a man be given a paternity leave?...
    Any man that thinks this way is LAZY!!...
    What will you be doing at home with your wife that just put to bed?...
    Hian!...

1. Uhn... what are u on about. A man taking paternity leave does not mean he is lazy. I guess because u have help so u can talk. Some people do not have mothers or mother inlaw, or family that can help them especially outside the country. So a good husband is allowed to help his wife because it is not easy, especially with c section

6. Princess Scheherazade13 October 2017 at 12:42

I think Zain used to give paternity leave back then when they were still in Nigeria but it was 5 days.
    I'm not too sure on its details because I was single at the time and I no be man so I wasn't interested in it then.

Nigerian men though, they'd not still help out with the babies even if they give them. They'd rather spend that time sleeping, sharing their wife's pepper soup and watching soccer... claiming that they're afraid to carry the baby cos he's too small.

7. Paternity leave of 3years or 3 weeks? Stella please correct it.

Even if new dads are given paternity leave in Nigeria, they'd rather spend it at bar, with friends or sleeping than using it to help their wives. It will eventually lead to their wives taking care of 2 babies

1. My experience exactly... Hubby spends his 7days leaving hanging out in bars I swear of helping out

8. Some places they allowed just 1 week paternity leave. This i know

9. Paternity leave can work in Nigeria cause not all men are the same, some help thier wives a lot at home. Like my hubby it will work for him cause I know how much he helps me to do house work, including kitchen chorse he is really helpful, and I appreciate him so so much. But some pride will not allow them. While some thier wives for take it as an opportunity to disrespect thier husbands

10. I work in Trans-Amadi, Port Harcourt. We give 5 working days paternity leave.

11. Of course it will. My husband took paternity leave of 2weeks when my daughter was born and he called it paternity leave although he didn't change diapers or bathe the baby,but he will hold the baby when I had to nap or after feeding

12. Stella, did you mean three years, three weeks or three days?
    My office does permit paternity leave but only for five days.

13. Some of them will take the leave but won't stay at home with their wives. Either they roam around town or look for another temporary job to earn some extra money to augment what they already have as the economy get as e be.

14. I am confused by statement. There is already paternity leave in Nigeria ooo. Where I work it is 5 days within one month of the birth of the baby.

15. Where I work we have paternity leave for the guys. You have maternity leave for women who are pregnant, you have maternity leave even when you adopt a baby e.t.c

I don't know about Nigerian organization though but maybe they have.

16. It wont work in Nigeria oh, The man will take the leave and use it to do other waka

17. Paternity leave has been approved in Lagos State Civil Service since last year and it is in effect already.

18. Depends on how many wives the man has, lol.

19. Well the men gets paternity of one week in my firm. Even though it's short but it's better. Most of use it in doing the Christening arrangement and helping out in the little ways we can at home. So it's not strange

20. In my firm they do give the men paternity leave, although I don't really know if they help out with the babies or just to relax

21. My husband was given paternity leave for 5days each time I put to bed